We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory for a brief overnight stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
Ranked #76 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 October 2009

When arriving at the hotel there is plenty of parking and the location in very convenient, just by the M6.

The service was satisfactory; staff were polite and generally friendly although I was offered a restaurant reservation when I checked in only to find later on that the restaurant was closed for the day.

The bar food was fine but the drinks were a bit overpriced (cheapest £7 glass of wine). The lowlight of the experience was when a manager began varnishing the skirting board next to me when I was eating; needless to say it was rather offputting.

The room was fine once I got there (brisk 5 minute walk from reception); clean and with amenities although could have been better lit. I had only one sachet of regular coffee provided so had to ask for more.

The conference facilities were quite spacious and there seemed to be a good number of meeting rooms available.

Overall the hotel is fine for a quick overnight stay but is probably more suited to business travellers than for leisure guests.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (824)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 788 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2009

An overnight stop en-route to a business meeting, chose this as I often use this hotel chain..because it is normally a safe bet.

However, this particular hotel is dreadful. Large in size, it looks like a typical 1970's motel but larger. the whole place looks run down and ready to be flattened. The room was a standard double, there were signs of damp on the ceiling and walls, the room ws musty, cramped and dark. The shower was in the bath, all looking very old and worn. The hot water did eventually arrive...just.

There is no wifi. The rooms are equipped with an ancient-looking device + very short patch lead to enable broadband at a staggering £15/day...in an era where even Mcdonalds offer free wi-fi...

There is a basic fitness centre with small pool in an annex. The staff there were unhelpful, uninterested and I felt glad to leave.

All in all, I wouldn't stay there again even if I was paid hundreds to do so. Hideous.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theforceisstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

As a business hotel, I guess this place is OK. But there was certainly nothing to really recommend it.

The bedrooms were OK - nothing special, but nothing really wrong either. And the staff were mostly friendly and willing to help. But the major problem was just that everything that happened was sloppy and highlighted just how badly run the place is - nothing turned up for when it was ordered, bedrooms were mixed up, air conditioning which was broken was never looked at despite repeated requests, room access cards were not set properly, breakfast items were missing, lunch was served without plates and too few glasses, etc, etc.

I'd also strongly advise not eating in the restaurant - the food was awful (and very expensive) and the service was terrible. Honestly, do yourself a favour and go anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Room was ok & clean but rest of hotel needed decorating & modernising. Pool was cold & looked dirty, breakfast was luke warm & no marmalade or jam only honey for the toast.
Definatly won't go back

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beth027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

This is a good hotel filled with modern rooms and very friendly staff. I stayed here for four days per week for two years and was treated like one of the family. The staff have been there for a long time working together and this probably helps. The rooms were good. The only criticism would be that the bathrooms are like all Holiday Inn bathrooms, tiny, apart from this I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George-BF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

We stayed at this hotel, which is just a few minutes from our usual hotel of Holiday Inn Express Walsall because they were doing a bed and breakfast deal for only £5 more than Walsall. One further advantage was it had Lesiure Facilities. This hotel is generally £30 to £40 more a night than Walsall.
After checkin we went to our room around the rabbit warren of darkened corridors and carpet that, in several places, was held down with gaffer tape. The room contained a king sized bed, TV, work area, tea and coffee facilites, settee and en suite bathroom. Our first problem was the lights. There are lots of unmarked lightswitches and figuring them out was like doing a Rubics Cube! But I cracked it in the end. The room was of average size but the decoration made it seem dark and the walls were severly marked with hand prints and scuff marks.
The Lesiure Facilites were made good use of but the pool wasn't the warmest that we had experienced.
Breakfast was Buffet Style. Plenty of choice and we filled ourselves up for the day, not eating till later that evening.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

stayed for a week in this hotel n the stay was good ..the hotel has nice open green surroundings.the health club is good n trainers r very cooperative.food choice n quality could hav been better .the room size is good n rooms are well furnished...n overall stay is above average

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sweetguyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7

Address: Chapel Lane | Great Barr, Birmingham B43 7BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Birmingham M6 Jct 7 is situated 7 miles north of Birmingham City Centre set in 7 acres of Landscaped grounds on the edge of green belt with ample free parking and easy access to the motorway network, M6 Jct 7, M5 Jct 1, M42, M54 and the M6 Toll Motorway.The National Exhibition Centre (NEC), Birmingham International Airport (BHX) ) are 25 minutes drive away. New Street Station, International Convention Centre (ICC), National Indoor Arena (NIA) and Symphony Hall are a 15 minute drive away The hotel offers High Speed Internet access, Kids Stay Free, Eat Free, Traders Restaurant, Hub Bar and modern Lounge to enhance the food and beverage experience at the Holiday Inn M6 J7. Relax in the Spirit Health and Fitness Club, exercise classes, indoor pool, spa, gym, sauna and steam room. More guests choose Holiday Inn because we offer a Great nights sleep, a Great value breakfast and a rewarding loyalty scheme, Priority Club. Together with our Can-Do friendly service and a global reassurance of quality and standards you can feel at home no matter where in the world you stay. Unique to the hotel, we have our very own Helicopter Landing pad. Please contact the hotel direct if you wish to use this service. Pets are allowed at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham M6, Jct. 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Birmingham m6, Jct. 7 Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing