We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westley Hotel Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Westley Hotel
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have sayed here for business and pleasure. Not a luxury category hotel but is moe than fine for a stay in Birmingham (seems to be the only BW in Brum). Slightly out of town, but parking not a problem. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms/Food etc do what you expect - no problems.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Couldnt fault the food or the cleanliness of the room.

Pity the reception staff werent a little more understanding and also be warned that on arrival you have to provide a debit or credit card for pre-authorisation of £50 just in case you charge anything to your room! Had a bit of too & fro with the staff over this but eventually they accepted that we were not going to have any cards pre-authorised or charge anything to the room. Interesting that this isnt mentioned on the website. Always get a reservation number too, the staff never gave any of our party one, and this caused issues on arrival.

Rooms were extremely hot, in fact quite uncomfortable, and still pretty sure we didnt get the level of room we booked. We enquired on the rates a while before arriving and I am certain the rate charged was not that quoted and that it was a standard room and not an executive room as booked.

Finally, a hotel that is also a venue for celebrations should at least provide a room or somewhere where guests arriving prior to the stringent check in time can get changed for the event they are attending!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stixeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

I am sorry to read of your dissatisfaction during your stay

It is common practice to request a pre authorisation on a credit card during your stay
please be assured that we would not make any charges This is only done as a security to allow you the facility to charge to your room

We do hope you choose to stay with us again should you be returning to the area

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one week during October of 2013. The hotel was all I have now came to expect of the Best Western chain with good quality rooms and usually a good restaurant. In this hotel you also had the choice to have a bar meal if you wanted an even more relaxed atmosphere. All of the staff were incredibly helpful and made what was a very busy week a lot better than it may of been. Top marks to Andy in the bar and Laura in reception who could not of done any more to help. Very well recommended

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel
It is great to read that you ha such an enjoyable stay
Your kind remarks have been forwarded to Andy and Laura. They are very much appreciated
We all look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

nice room, helpful staff and especially very very good food in the resturant. here on business, i was being quite functional about my nights stay but genuinely relaxed and had everything i needed. slept well, room not too hot (which is good) and despite being above the main street i wasn't woken by traffic noise or dawnlight - good curtains and windows! i could overlook the slightly wobbly chair at desk and reception that isn't the first thing you come to (if coming off main street i.e. by taxi) rather than from car park. did i already say the food was excellent? it really was, one of the nicest meals i have had out in ages, superbly cooked, tasty and interesting (blue cheese souffle followed by teriyaki pan fried salmon, noodles and oriental vegetables) at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your review

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the food was to your liking

We look forward to welcoming you back

Regards

Phil Rea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Good friendly hotel, can be a bit noisy if there is a wedding or party so would ask for a room that is not above the function room. Good car parking and handy for shops in Acocks Green, and Acocks Green railway station if you want to go into Birmingham centre and don't want to drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your review

Your comments are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here overnight prior to flying out to Spain. Having booked a Double Room, Dinner & Breakfast package we were very pleasantly surprised to be give a suite. The accommodation was very good, the Saturday Evening Carvery Menu was superb and the Sunday morning breakfast comprehensive and contained cooked to order items. Service overall was excellent and we will definitely stay her again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel

It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you had a good time in Spain also
Hope to see you again soon

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Booked a buffet here for after funeral at Robin Hood crem due to location and advice from friends.
I have to say the whole event from start to finish was very good.
The funeral arranged by Thomas Bragg & sons was excellent – would strongly recommend as everything discussed was carried out to the letter compassionately & professionally – everything we wanted in a very sad time.
The Westley was a 10 minute drive from the crem with plenty of free parking – the receptionist was fully briefed on directing us to the right room which was absolutely perfect for a small group of mourners.
We congregated in a cosy bar room where drinks were ordered from the bar while the buffet was preparing to open. There was plenty of seating available allowing groups of different sizes to be seated together.
The food was provided in a really nice conservatory area offering additional seating where initially teas & coffees were available to our party.
We had booked a top ‘per person’ package and the food didn't disappoint.
Great range of sarnies, salad, chips, wedges, fish sticks, samosas, etc.
The whole of our event was looked after by a very helpful girl (Gemma?) who served the drinks, served the food & cleared up with exactly the right balance of friendliness and respect for the guests.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 0ff_Line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, General Manager at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your visit

We are please to read that your event went well and look forward to welcoming you back in in happier circumstances

Regards

Phil Rea
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Westley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Westley Hotel

Address: Westley Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 7UJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £61 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Westley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the leading independently-owned hotels in the Birmingham area, ideally appointed just 15-20 minutes from central Birmingham, the ICC, NEC and Birmingham Airport. The Best Western Westley Hotel is just a 15-minute drive from all major motorway, rail and air links. The accommodation is well-furnished, spacious and all en suite, to make your stay as comfortable as possible and includes free Internet access in all bedrooms and Free Wifi in Public areas. Our Grill Restaurant which offers the finest food sourced through local produce where possible to uphold our corporate social responsibility. The Grill Restaurant is open Monday - Saturday 6.00pm - 9.30pm. At the weekends traditional carvery dining is available Saturday evening and Sunday 12-4pm from as little as £8.95 main course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Westley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing