We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff great but hotel needs a refurb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Westley Hotel
Ranked #73 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
southport
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Staff great but hotel needs a refurb”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Got an excellent deal with Great little Breaks which included a visit to Cadbury World. The food was very good and the staff were great. The bedroom was quite shabby and the beds really uncomfortable. A refurb would see this hotel achieving a better rating.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysway51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Alwaysaway,

Thank you for praising the quality of our staff and food.

We are working through a refurbishment programme on some of our bedrooms and we will complete this as quickly as possible.

Kind regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    138
    54
    22
    16
See reviews for
63
82
14
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

After a family celebration needed a hotel for a night. Having previously stayed at a Travelodge in the area wanted something more suitable. So glad we found this hotel it is great. Good car park, staff are amazing so helpful and polite. Lovely room spacious big bathroom quite and clean. The bed was king size and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style and the dinning room well decorated, and tables not too close to one another. Fresh coffee brought to the table and a reasonable choice of hot and cold food available. This is where we will be staying now when we visit this area. Prices no more than the Travelodge and far better quality.

Room Tip: front is on a road so maybe asking for a quite room or room at back may help if you need a quite tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Sasmun,

Many thanks for your feedback and for praising the staff, your bedroom and the quality of our food.The team really appreciate it.

I am delighted that you will now be a regular guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

kind regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently on a lovely Sunday evening (10/08/14) and were disappointed with the experience we received.

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening and whilst waiting at reception we observed a drunken teenaged girl being propped up by another guest shouting in a drunken manor at the receptionist that the DJ wanted her to get her t**ts out. (not a great 1st impression) Whilst in reception we could hear loud music coming from another area of the hotel which we found strange as this was a Sunday night. When we enquired with the receptionist if their was a function on she informed us that it was Karaoke so we decided to take our things to our room and enjoy a drink in the bar which sounded lively and welcoming.

We then went up to our room which was clean, comfortable, well kept and freshly refurbished with a lovely bathroom. We left our case and went down to the bar.

We then walked into what can only be described as a locals pub. We were met by large, incredibly drunk morons in the bar shouting, swearing at the top of their voices, falling drunkenly into us at the bar and onto tables. We felt so alienated and uncomfortable and intimidated, like we had stepped into a bar that I would expect to be outside a football stadium. The DJ was a joke as the music was too loud, outdated and was singing over quieter music in a stupid manor. We felt it safer at this point to take our drinks up to our room, waited until the loud music was over at 12 am then went to sleep. We are still shocked and family members and friends find it hard to believe how a Best Western hotel would open its doors to this type of clientele on a Sunday, fuel them with copious amounts of alcohol when they shouldn't have been drinking anymore making guests paying to stay there feel like they can't drink in the hotel.


I would like to mention however the waitress at breakfast like so many others have mentioned was outstanding. Attentive, friendly, met all of our needs and really made us feel welcome.

Upon checking out of the hotel the receptionist tried to charge us for breakfast again after not communicating properly with the night staff which we had paid when checking in.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Emily,

Pleased that you found the bedroom to be excellent and customer service good.

We do have a DJ/Karaoke on some Sunday nights but we will revisit this in the light of your comments.

Kind regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

All in all a lovely stay at the Westley. Our room was really nice and we had a good night sleep. All the staff we met seemed really happy and helpful. The breakfast was good too. My children could not get up for the buffet breakfast (lazy things, anyone would have thought they had driven up from Salisbury) so I asked the waitress if I could take a yogurt up for them. She was having none of it, yogurt she asked? Take some toast and jam, let me prepare a tray for you... Really lovely and unexpected service that set this hotel apart from others. Did not get her name but she was probably in her 60s and real credit to the Westley. It is this memory that I will take away and treasure most from our trip to Birmingham.

Only one small negative was breakfast finished at 9 am. It would be better for it go onto 10 am.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Jim,

Thanks for a fantastic review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Westley.

Cathy is a real star and is loved by all.

Hope you can visit again soon.

Kind regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

lovely hotel, we stayed in the annex bit, room 80, room had the wow factor as soon as you opened the door, nice furniture, lovely decorated, toiletries. tv worked, with all channels, food was lovely, evening meal and breakfast, staff very helpful and friendly, even though there was a wedding and an 80th going on, staff had time for you, definitely would stay again. we came with national holidays, weekend break at alton towers and to see Ant & Dec, usually on occasions like this, hotels are sometimes very basic, and in the middle of nowhere, this one definitely wasn't

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie22tv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Lynnie,

Many thanks for your fantastic review, much appreciated by the team.

We do try very hard to deliver excellent customer service and it is great when our efforts are recognised.

We hope you can visit again soon.

Kind regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went here with kgb deals with a trip included to cadburys world, unfortunately on arrival at the hotel they had no record of our booking from kgb. Thankfully the lady on reception was very helpful sorting us a family room and then next morning getting us our tour at cadburys despite them being fully booked, full marks for customer service to the hotel.

The room was nice and spacious even with two extra single beds for the kids, decorated very modern and clean. The only down side was the fact we was straight over the pub and on the main road, the noise was bad and we had to close all the windows making it very hot, a fan was provided though.

Had a drink in the hotel bar later on but we was the only ones in so no atmosphere and the pub attached to the hotel wasn't suitable with the kids but looked ok if no kids.

Breakfast next morning was full English buffet style and all nicely cooked and hot, with again good service from the lady dealing with coffee and such like.

Would visit again but request a quiet room, think we was just unlucky due to the kgb mix up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscottjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear The Bookers,

Many thanks for a complimentary review and for praising our customer service. The staff really appreciate it.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you can visit again soon.

Kind regards, David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Again, the chain hotels are keeping standards above independent B&Bs. Modern room, modern shower/bathroom, restaurant that caters for all tastes.
And it was combined with a deal for Cadbury World tickets, so it worked out even better value.
On the downside, we booked a family for 2 adults and a small child, but all they did was put in a squeaky, creaky camp bed. Plus, there was only tea/coffee for 2 people, and biscuits only for one!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moland1799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david g, Owner at Best Western Westley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
Dear Moland,

Thank you for your compliments on the quality of our bedrooms and restaurant.

We will take on board your feedback on tea and biscuits.

We hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Birmingham South/NEC
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Yardley Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Sheldon
2.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
Ibis Birmingham Bordesley
#69 of 117 in Birmingham
444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Westley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Westley Hotel

Property: Best Western Westley Hotel
Address: Westley Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 7UJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Westley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Westley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one of the leading independently-owned hotels in the Birmingham area, ideally appointed just 15-20 minutes from central Birmingham, the ICC, NEC and Birmingham Airport. The Best Western Westley Hotel is just a 15-minute drive from all major motorway, rail and air links. The accommodation is well-furnished, spacious and all en suite, to make your stay as comfortable as possible and includes free Internet access in all bedrooms and Free Wifi in Public areas. Our Grill Restaurant which offers the finest food sourced through local produce where possible to uphold our corporate social responsibility. The Grill Restaurant is open Monday - Saturday 6.00pm - 9.30pm. At the weekends traditional carvery dining is available Saturday evening and Sunday 12-4pm from as little as £8.95 main course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Westley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Birmingham
Birmingham Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing