We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“West Side Story”

New Alexandra Theatre
Ranked #40 of 278 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The New Alexandra Theatre, commonly known as the Alex, is a theatre on Station Street in Birmingham, England.The theatre currently seats 1,371 and hosts a busy programme of touring drama, West End shows and stand-up comedy. It was the home of the D'Oyly Carte Opera Company between 1990 and 1997. In January 2006 the Alexandra Theatre changed management once again, to be managed by Live Nation, a company that specialised in concert promotion and large venue operations. It is now owned by the Ambassador Theatre Group, and after a minor refurbishment the group renamed the theatre the New Alexandra Theatre.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“West Side Story”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I have only been to this theatre once which was to see West Side Story in April. We were sat in the Upper Grand Circle in the first two seats in the front row, and the view was awful! We missed a significant section of whatever was happening stage right, where quite a lot happened actually. Also, I was very disappointed with the show which, I believe, was hyped up too much and couldn't live up to the movie. However, the customer service is excellent and the staff are very friendly and helpful!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alexl437_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    188
    102
    45
    58
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Box Office”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I went to see Rock of Ages with my girlfriend and the customer service at the box office was disgusting. We got served by some guy named Matthew who had a right attitude problem when it came to sorting our tickets out. Customer service skills of this guy certainly wasn't his forte! Won't be coming back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Rock of Ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We visited The Alex last night again to see Rock of Ages, and thought it was a great show. Very colourful, a bit raunchy and fab rock music! Thought the whole cast was fantastic with amazing powerful voices. It's lovely to see a big musical locally , and the theatre is an easy walk from New Street station, so easily accessible too. Thoroughly recommend this production, but it is only on until the end of the week here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sing along a Grease if you could hear it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Do not go to this theatre. Our Saturday night was ruined by the most terrible experience. Reportedly a good show we could hear nothing along with everyone else. Complained to the manage who failed to offer any solution or refund. Clueless !,,, very annoying given we had spent a lot of money on tickets, outfits this place should be closed. Save your money and special events and go somewhere else!,,, outrageous more of my time today trying to get money back !,,,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melish69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
547 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“The Marc Bolan story”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

this has to be one of the best shows around and the Alex did it justice
the Alex has great staff and knows how to put on a show

the bars and food are not overly priced and with good parking nearby make it a great place to see a show !

keep up the good work guys!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank phil a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Alexandra Theatre also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to New Alexandra Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing