We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good afternoon out”

National Sea Life Centre
Ranked #24 of 284 things to do in Birmingham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dive and be wowed by the many strange, beautiful and fascinating creatures of the deep as you journey through the amazing underwater world of The National SEA LIFE Centre Brimingham. Prepare for astonishing close views of everything from humble starfish to tropical sharks. To get any closer you'll have to get wet!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good afternoon out”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I got my ticket from the Tesco Clubcard website so didn't actually pay for it. Would have been annoyed if I had had to pay for it as didn't feel it was worth the actual entrance fee. We did the whole thing in just over an hour. My 2 year old enjoyed it a lot which is really what counts. We still had a lovely time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rakhee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    988
    630
    223
    121
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Superb family day out !”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Great place to take the kids on a wet day ! Interesting fish nicely displayed.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Roland J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We took the grandchildren - long, slow moving queue - it was during the school holidays, so more than 2 tills in use would have been logical. When we left people were having to queue outside in the rain.
The play area smelt unpleasant.
When we'd had an icecream in the cafe our shoes stuck to the dirt on the floor.
We did get a free family ticket for a return visit and things weren't much better.
Considering the cost of entry customers should get better value.

Helpful?
1 Thank ineketom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Good selection of sea creatures - great for the kids, but a tad expensive.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank VixCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Reasonable visit, no large tank like other sealife's and no cafe area”
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Thought this was reasonable, although I think it is far too expensive for what it is. Family of 2 adults and 2 kids is over £50.

The Happy feet 4D movie, which lasts 12 minutes is good, but a word of caution, some young children got pretty scared and did nt like when wat spray went into their faces (the 4th dimensions is water spray, wind, vibrating chair). So some kids left.

The part when you walk through a large tank was pretty minimal if honest.

And worst of all there is no cafe at the end, just 2 vending machines. Although here is a Costa Coffee just outside the entrance.

Overall okay, but expensive for what it is.

A TIP: use the 2 for 1 London Midland train ticket offer. You pinky need to buy the cheapest ticket (less than £2 each) to get this offer. google 2 4 1 offer for this place

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Tintin1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Sea Life Centre also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to National Sea Life Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing