We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food/Poor Facilities”

Bodega Bar & Cantina
Ranked #61 of 2,199 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Bar, South American, Colombian, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Birmingham's only independent South American restaurant. Bodega is located in the centre of Birmingham and prides itself on great tasting fresh food, excellent customer service and a superb drinks menu. Our food covers Mexican as well as Argentinian, Peruvian, Chilean and Brazilian dishes. Our drinks menu is one of the most comprehensive in the city with a great range of fresh cocktails, South American bottled beers and wines.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Food/Poor Facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

A mixed review...

The food and service were fantastic!
We went for a birthday meal although the venue is quite cramped they accommodated our party of eight exceptionally well. I was even more impressed when my mother who is coeliac, had a vast choice of meals to chose from (which isn't normally the case). The waiter (Neil maybe...) was patient with her and went through all of her options.
When the food came we were not disappointed either, really tasty, filling and authentic meals - Best nachos ever!!! The atmosphere in there was great with buzzing music and fantastic cocktails.

Then I went to use the toilets...The ladies were pretty awful! Over flowing sanitary bins, no paper, with little flies buzzing around in there, to be honest it was just grubby. I think for the number of people they have in the venue at one time, one cubicle just isn't enough!

The state of the toilets was such a let down as for everything else I couldn't rate this restaurant highly enough.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Hey Hannah E,
Can we say both Thank You! and Sorry!
We are so glad you enjoyed the food, we do try our best to accommodate all diets.
We are sorry if the ladies wasn't up to scratch on your visit. We do check the toilets regularly but yes at busy times there is a lot of traffic through them. We are at the moment trying to come up with a solution to our toilet situation but it is difficult due to space restrictions.

We hope to have it rectified soon. Thank you for taking the time out to right a great review about everything else :) Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    376
    111
    63
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Spicy !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

First time visiting this restaurant and it was buzzing ! Lovely music playing , great atmosphere. You must book well in advance and you only have your table for 2 hours, but that's plenty of time. Large selection of authentic Mexican food. I had Burritos filled with Chilli with dark Choc , medium spiced , served with salad and lovely sweet potato fries , so delicious.
My daughters enjoyed the non-alcoholic cocktails chill Choc brownies and churros !
If you get a chance go and enjoy the food and atmosphere.
Prices for main courses are around £9.75 through to £12.00 . Great value for money !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taloolaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hello taloolaa,
Thank you for the fantastic review! Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Totally amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

To start with out whole visit was made for us by the service of Neil (Scottish dude) whose advice I food and cocktails made our evening.
We started off going in for 'a quick drink' but stayed all night at home in the chilled atmosphere enjoying the great food and drink. We will Defo be going back soon!

Helpful?
Thank R_I_G_G_A_L_L_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hey R_I_G_G_A_L_L...,
What a great review thank you so much, have passed your kind words over to Neil.
Hope to see you again very soon. Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, even better cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

A great experience with friends- friendly atmosphere, delicious food and attentive staff- can't wait to go back!

Nachos were amazing!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank G J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hey G J,
Thank you for the fab review. Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great value food, great taste and great service -”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

visited Bodega bar recently as a member of a hen party - we were served promptly and advised on menu options by very helpful staff.
Portions of food were rather large but of very good quality - loved the sweet potatoes chips -
would recommend for parties and for couples - cheerful and lively and in a great location

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank hillbilly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Hi hillbilly125,
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review! Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Bar & Cantina also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Bodega Bar & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing