We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cocktail masterclass & food”

Bodega Bar & Cantina
Ranked #141 of 2,447 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: Welcome to Birmingham's only independent South American restaurant. Bodega is located in the centre of Birmingham and prides itself on great tasting fresh food, excellent customer service and a superb drinks menu. Our food covers Mexican as well as Argentinian, Peruvian, Chilean and Brazilian dishes. Our drinks menu is one of the most comprehensive in the city with a great range of fresh cocktails, South American bottled beers and wines.
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Great value for money cocktail masterclass £20 and we each had 4 cocktails and a shot. Really fun well thought out event. Food after £20 for 2 courses was really nice too - massive portions. Friendly staff - have returned several times since the event. Would recommend for parties - function room really nice with 'day of the dead' artwork and a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: April 2015
Thank buckbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Hi buckbags,

How lovely to hear you enjoyed our masterclass. We are very proud of them and think it’s a great way to learn a new skill whilst having a great time! We must have made a good impression for you keep on coming back! We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,289 - 1,293 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015

One of my regular eats.

If you want somewhere that guarantees you good food every-time then this is the place!

The Nachos are great to share, however once you try Bodega's burritos you won't want to share them with anyone.

The decor is very authentic and adds to the experience.

Staff are always friendly and make great cocktails.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Hi Max H,
I love the comment about not wanting to share the burritos – very high praise indeed! Thank you for taking the time to write and we hope to see you very soon.
Kind regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2015

I went to Bodega last Wednesday night for a catch up with friends and had another delightful meal there. Despite being a Wednesday, the restaurant was pretty full and always has a lively, welcoming atmosphere. The service was efficient and excellent, with the food as tasty as ever. We ordered 2 of the small nacho plates for starters between 5 of us, but the sizeable portions and generous toppings meant that this was more than enough for us. The burritos are always excellent and full of flavour. For a taste of South America in Birmingham, this is the place to go and I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Always book a table though, as the restaurant itself isn't the biggest and fills up swiftly.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Hi Chris B,
Thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, booking is definitely advised, especially on weekends. We’re so glad you always enjoy your time here with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Dried out below average food, overcooked, some of it burnt and terrible service.
If you're idea of a restaurant is more of canteen style on basic tables/chairs, drinking out of metal cups and big groups of boozy customers then be my guest!
This is a bit of a snacky food place for groups of b'day goers/hen & stag groups where food is not the main event.
I'm sure it could be better and is more of lunch place and could have just had a bad evening with us being a large group in an overly-busy venue.

Date of visit: December 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Hello Mark C,

As you know I contacted you directly as I was sure this wasn't the correct venue and I'm sad to hear you confirm this review was about Bodega.

Looking at your review, I can see you came in December - I can only assume we must had had a few works parties that night being a little louder than normal, but that that time of the year it is to be expected, but I'm sorry that this had a negative impact on your evening. We do offer laid back style and I hope you would consider coming again to enjoy it.

With kind regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Been here a few times now, with friends and also clients for something different, great atmosphere even on a wet Tuesday evening. Beef nacho starters are a good size as are the burritos. Good selection of beers from all over south America. Can be hard to get a table at weekend so book early!!!

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2015

Hi Lee D,

It’s always lovely to hear from repeat customers and I’m glad you had an awesome time with us again. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Kind Regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Bar & Cantina also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Bodega Bar & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.