We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stag do”

Bodega Bar & Cantina
Ranked #141 of 2,447 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: Welcome to Birmingham's only independent South American restaurant. Bodega is located in the centre of Birmingham and prides itself on great tasting fresh food, excellent customer service and a superb drinks menu. Our food covers Mexican as well as Argentinian, Peruvian, Chilean and Brazilian dishes. Our drinks menu is one of the most comprehensive in the city with a great range of fresh cocktails, South American bottled beers and wines.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

The cocktail class was a great activity enjoyed by all and enhanced my the good humoured staff that accommodated us. Pre-ordered food followed this and sobered us up enough to continue the day. Great food as always.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Vacation249708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi A TripAdvisor Member,
Thanks for checking us out and for the great comments. Awesome to read you had a good stag doo with us.
Hope to catch you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

914 - 918 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

Booking online is worth the minimal effort. Pleasant greeting and another good meal. Simply food well delivered in a great atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi Christopher P,
Thanks for stopping by and for the great feedback- nice to hear you rate us so highly!
Hope to catch you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016

I have eaten here twice with my partner. It is usually quite difficult to get a table. The chairs are uncomfortable, and because it is such a small and busy restaurant you are crammed so close to the next table that you feel that you are involved in their conversation. The food is nice and the portions are large but they need a bigger premises.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank britishbobby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi britishbobby23,
Thanks for checking us out and for the helpful feedback.
Great to read that you enjoy our food but sorry to hear that our atmosphere isn’t quite there for you. It appears good news travels fast so we’re often very busy. If you’ve got something special coming up feel free to book with us and we’ll find you somewhere a little quieter.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

I went as part of a team lunch from work, seven of us, but the lunch didn't meet our expectations.

As we knew we were going to be short on time we emailed our food order ahead the day before. When we arrived at Bodega we were taken to a table set for six (even though we booked for seven people), so one of us was squeezed onto the edge of the table. Not a great start!

We were then told that our order hadn't been received, we showed the email we sent (showing correct email address etc), but there was no record of our email being received. We knew we were in for a rushed lunch hour after that!

We were offered a 20% discount off our bill, and the food was nice - had better, but had worse, but the service was a bit bumpy throughout.

After rushing our meals and coming to pay, we were then told that the card machine wasn't working - surely we should have been told this when we arrived as we could have popped out to get cash whilst waiting for food, but this was only a further inconvenience and example of the bumpy service received.

The food was reasonably priced, but we won't be rushing back.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank trevorw559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016


Hi Trevor W,
Thank you for giving us a try and for the helpful feedback.
We’re sorry to hear that there appear to have been some hiccups during your visit.
Good to know that this was reflected in the bill but this isn’t the kind of experience we want our customers to go away with. Rest assured your comments have been taken on board and we do hope it won’t put you off visiting us in future.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Came to Bodega again for my friends engagement celebration as a large group. We preordered the food which was fantastic, I've never had a bad meal at Bodega and I've eaten there a lot :) White chocolate and passionfruit mojito is the best mojito I've ever had. Love it!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank LizzyIles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VickyBirminghamUK, Manager at Bodega Bar & Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Hi LizzyIles,
Thanks for checking us out and for the great feedback.
Lovely to hear that you always enjoy a good meal with us!
Hope to catch you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Bar & Cantina also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Bodega Bar & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.