We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a vibe!!!!!! Danced my socks off!”

Bodega Cantina Birmingham
Ranked #141 of 2,681 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £6 - £12
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: Welcome to Birmingham's only independent South American restaurant. Bodega is located in the centre of Birmingham and prides itself on great tasting fresh food, excellent customer service and a superb drinks menu. Our food covers Mexican as well as Argentinian, Peruvian, Chilean and Brazilian dishes. Our drinks menu is one of the most comprehensive in the city with a great range of fresh cocktails, South American bottled beers and wines.
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Ok so firstly I should mention that I'm 45 and my friend is ....a tad older, but we are very young at heart. We wanted to find somewhere to have a boogie and we came here after looking online. We had a blast!!! Everyone was really friendly and we felt very relaxed. Please note we didn't eat here, we went straight downstairs to the basement where the tunes and cocktails are :-)
The DJ was the nicest one I think I've ever met in my entire life! I asked for some funky tunes and he delivered big time. Even kept checking that I approved of his choices lol. The bar staff were so friendly that when they couldn't make me a margarita due to ingredients missing, they knocked up another especially knowing that I would like it (I did). £6.50 generous cocktails. All the other people there were happy and having a good time, I would just love to go there again!
Well done Bodega and thank you xxxxx

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JodieGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BnTVenues, Manager at Bodega Cantina Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello JodieGriffiths,

Thank you for your kind words about our weekends down in Sugarloaf bar - sounds like you showed everyone how to have a good time regardless of age!
Your kind words have been passed onto the team and the DJ (who often gets over looked)

Hope to see you again soon for more!
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (2,278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 870 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

I have been here quite a few times, always enjoyed the food, drink and atmosphere. Now, the service has always been this restaurants weak point but this visit was the worse. We got there early evening (4.15pm) on a Saturday. It wasn't that busy when we arrived. We ordered our drink and food, which came promptly. When our food arrived at the table we ordered another round of drinks. It took 45 minutes for the drinks to arrive (at which point we had finished our meal and then was waiting twiddling our thumbs for our drinks), they had even taken our plates away before the drinks arrived! So when the waitress finally brought our drinks we ordered another round as we had waited so long. She apologized saying that they had a large group arrived. Surely, a restaurant should be able to cope with this, being that they know what has been booked. We then had to wait a while to be asked about dessert.
There was a couple on the next table who had been given a meat burrito when they order a vegetarian, which they wasn't too pleased about, which I think was an awful mistake to make.
On another point, the menu has been changed and has a lot less choice.
Don't think we will be visiting for a while now, the service has gone down hill even more. Very disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank TT12040
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BnTVenues, Manager at Bodega Cantina Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hello jea40

Thank you for dropping off your feedback, very sorry to hear the service let us down during your recent visit. We know on a busy Saturday night we can be a little stretched even with the best of intentions and planning but 45 minutes for a drink is certainly not acceptable so please do accept our apologies for this.

With regards to the new menu, we're currently working on making some amendments to the menu, based on valued customer feedback so I do hope you'll pop back soon to see these implemented.

with kind regards,
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Second visit to this chain after an enjoyable experience at Birmingham a year ago. Food was bland & the menu much less interesting. Drinks orders wrong on more than one occasion. Cold hot drinks. Probably wouldn't go again.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank 980mattj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BnTVenues, Manager at Bodega Cantina Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello Matt J,

Sounds like we had a "bad day at the office" during your visit as our food and drink is usually spot on.

Without having the full details of what you ate and drank that you weren’t happy with I can't comment much further other than to say that I hope you'll put this down as a one-off issue and visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Positives: Cola Wings Starter is a good new addition
Negatives: Change in menu is generally very poor.

My wife and loved coming to Bodega but the last experience has left us little excitement to come back. We were on a very end table which was right by the toilets and servers entrance. I get the feeling it was crammed on the end so they could get more people in, but Bodega is always a tightish squeeze so I forgive that to be fair.

The disappointment really now is the food. always order some house nachos and then various light bites as it was a great place to pick and share some food. For me though, they have got rid of the fish tacos, and chorizo in red wine sauce. Also the stuffed jalapos are no longer breaded and served warm, so basically it’s cold jalapeño with cheese in. These have all been replaced with mainly potato and rice based light bites which smells a bit like cost cutting to me. Hopefully they will change it back but for now, not so good

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank chrishickin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BnTVenues, Manager at Bodega Cantina Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello Chrishickin,

Thank you for your detailed review of the new menu changes. We are busy reviewing the feedback from the changes we made to the menu recently which we made to improve consistency and flavour for the customer. Only one dish has been added to the small plate section which is the Sticky Agave Sweet Potato dish. Great to hear you enjoyed the cola wings and we thank you for caring enough to write this review of our restaurant.

with kind regards,

Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

Loved this place when it first opened, sadly the standards have dropped.
Last time i visited the food was very average, our food came before our drinks and it was just overall disappointing.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindsayJ243
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BnTVenues, Manager at Bodega Cantina Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello Lindsay J,

Sorry to hear your recent visit was not up to the standard you're used to. You've not given us much detail to go on, so we'd appreciate it if you could let us know what you had that you were disappointed with, please drop us a line at birmingham@bodegacantina.co.uk so we can look into the matter further.

With kind regards,

Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Cantina Birmingham also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Bodega Cantina Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.