We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good risotto al funghi”

Carluccio's - Birmingham
Ranked #92 of 2,207 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: Carluccio’s welcomes shoppers and diners alike in search of genuine, affordable Italian cuisine and ingredients.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
352 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good risotto al funghi”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I don't rate Carluccio's very high but a business colleague brought me here and the risotto was good as was the service.

But I'd expect it to be good .. isn't that what we pay for?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CustomerConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    327
    181
    72
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing pasta”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The pasta is great and I don't normally like pasta, try the trio of pasta specials!! I had the tempura vegetables and the mushroom pasta amazing. Also had the spinach ravioli lovely!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desihotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Restaurant was busy, but they should be prepared for that as it is situated in a prime place in Brindley Place. The waiting time for drinks and all of the meal really, was far too long, when we were served the waiter seemed disinterested and again had to wait to pay!
The food was better than average but they really need to look at getting more waiting staff, especially ones that actually want to be there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dinner and breakfast”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We came here for a meal before a concert at the Town Hall. The restaurant was surprisingly full at 5.30pm. The staff were attentive and friendly and we enjoyed the food. The only negative was that my husband had ordered a side order of spinach which didn't turn up with the main course, and he spent the next few minutes trying to get someone's attention (they were all busy).

The following morning we returned for breakfast as we were staying in the Travelodgel on Broad Street which only offered a "breakfast box" rather than proper food. The breakfast was very enjoyable and civilized. We both had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, coffee and fruit juice. It was an excellent way to start the day, and the place was practically empty so service was good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank papaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not roasted chicken”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Ordered pollo alla cacciatora which was described as roast chicken breast with a herb & tomato sauce. What I got was chunks of thigh meat which seemed to have been lightly sauteed and then stewed in the sauce. What it wasn't, was 'roasted chicken breast'. The Manager dealt with my complaint well by refunding the cost of the dish but she didn't attempt to refute my assessment of the dish. We were eating early, before going to the theatre, so to find the plum tart was not available at 6.15pm was disappointing. We have eaten in other Carluccio restaurants and invariably enjoyed the experience: this dinner was not up to the standard we would expect. We would not return to this outlet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marj142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carluccio's - Birmingham also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Carluccio's - Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing