We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxation”
Review of Clover Spa & Hotel

Clover Spa & Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clover Spa & Hotel
Ranked #12 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lovely, spotlessly clean facilities, friendly staff and delicious freshly-made food. Outdoor hot tub was a particular treat as the sun went down over the trees.
Now the spa has an alcohol licence I was able to indulge in a glass of chilled rose in front of a roaring log burner.
Didn't use the hotel, just the spa facilities, but am sure that the rooms are great, if you want to extend your stay.
Tim was attentive but not intrusive - clearly just wanting everyone to enjoy what's on offer and relax.
Hopefully I will visit many more times in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Well_travelled_99_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a great place! We booked at short notice and finally got to go and stay. Reservation was easy and on arrival the staff were all welcoming and helpful. We were shown around and taken to our room. Our immediate impression was how well furnished it all was and how spotlessly clean too. After our 1.5hr drive, we quickly unpacked, showered and had some tea - out of bone china cups! We then put on our robes and headed to the spa area.

All the facilities are modern and operating perfectly and we tried the lot: hot stone, sauna, steam room, plunge pool and hot tub. Other guests were friendly as were the day members. We were delighted to realise that Clover Spa was licensed so we relaxed and had a couple of drinks and chatted to others using our robes as covers for the reclining chairs. We had pre-booked a massage which attracts a discount and we both thoroughly enjoyed an hour or so or pampering.

Afterwards we decided to stay in to eat (why dress and go outside?) and were treated to good, wholesome food and a bottle of wine, both very reasonably priced. We then decided to finish the day with some more time in the hot tub and more wine! Going outside was invigorating with a typical November night, but the tub was a great temperature. Although it was busy, space was made for us and we were again chatting to other guests.

Later we returned inside to finish our wine and the warmth of being indoors was a delight after the chill of being outside. Talking to others it was interesting to hear just how many had returned to Clover Spa and in many ways that said it all. Sleep came easy that night in a large and comfortable bed.

The next morning, we were treated to a cook to order breakfast and delicious it was too. Rather than leave immediately afterwards, we decided to again relax in the spa area before hitting the road home. One thing is for sure, we will return and next time try and coincide our stay with one of the parties. Simply, if you want to de stress and relax in a naturist environment, go stay at this place.

Swimming pool rating = plunge tank
Room tip below

Room Tip: We had a large room and although at the front of the hotel, there was no traffic noise that we notic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CandC74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Ive said it before and I'll say it again this place is a little gem in the heart of Birmingham.

Eve tho it is autumn and weather well, autumnal the outdoor hot tub is a welcomed treat after a long journey.
The staff seemed even more welcoming this visit, and are relaxed and friendly. We had room 1 which is a spacious bedroom with a huge bed and ensuite shower room.
It was cool when we arrived but heated up within 5 minutes.

We had lovely dinner there and enjoyed a fun Halloween quiz where we became joint winners (there were only three teams so it wasnt difficult).

Breakfast the following morning was lovely. Freshly cooked scrambles eggs for the man in my life, and fresh fruit salad and yoghurt for me.Oh and a bit of a french petite dejuner of croissant and hot chocolate. Delish.

As the man in my life had to leave I spent a comfortable morning in the sitting area reading and watching TV before dipping in the hot tub and leaving.

Lovely little mid week break.

Room Tip: Altho number 1 is roadside it is the largest and doesnt seem to be affected by traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank visitorsview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Loved the relaxed laid back feel, would have loved it even more had we been brave enough to arrive in the afternoon and enjoy the sunshine. This was our first time at a naturist spa so we were a bit unsure what to expect. Once you've got past the fact that everyone is in their birthday suits and little else, its just like any small spa hotel. Delightful !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BerryKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the hotel several times and it is not often things get better each time but they do.
Under the excellent guidance of owner Tim, staff here are truly professional and a lot of English hospitality could learn from them.
In our travels of 78 countries and 791 cities this establishment rates right up there amongst the best for presentation and service.
We are looking forward to Halloween there tomorrow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaza51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timspa, Owner at Clover Spa & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

To be so highly regarded by such a well traveled couple is a huge compliment and the whole Clover Spa team thank you. We enjoy having you to stay and hope to see you again before set off for another continent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Never been to this particular venue my girlfriend being a regular prompted me to go with her.
I am not new to Naturalism and have visited many camping's and such as well I am in the lucky circumstances to have my own large private garden with pool so I think I can judge a relaxing safe place for Naturalism in it's true form, and this is one of them.
Very friendly staff, 5 star for sure for that.
It's not large by any standards but more then adequate for a few relaxing hours. Wonderful bubble bath outside (and it rained a little so that made it even more relaxing). A pity not all controls were working but there were plenty bubbles to relax.
The steam room, ouch, really steamy and hot as well as the sauna.
A plunge 'pool' to cool down quickly. Showers to clean yourself as well. And, hot stone beds which looked pretty nice to relax on (did not get a chance, time flew by). Sitting are inside and outside with inside a bar where the owners serve some simple meals and have a license for alcohol nowadays.
I gave it 4 stars as the jacuzzi was not fully functional, the plunge pool had a touch too much chlorine and the food was a touch too simple I thought (but you can't blame them for it, the kitchen is not really a kitchen so over all it was value for money). I also gave it 4 stars since I am a bit spoiled in The Netherlands with Elysium which I would rate 5 stars for the sheer number of things you can do and experience in it, so all it in relation to each other.
Drink prices are very reasonable too.
Want to relax a few hours or more, it's definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timspa, Owner at Clover Spa & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

So pleased to meet you and glad you enjoyed our facilities, service, food and drink. I really appreciate your 4 star comparison with the incredible facilities in The Netherlands and I take it as a huge compliment to even be compared with them, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We took three late-autumn days out to relax and enjoy ourselves and each other, and could not have stayed anywhere better equipped to provide that: the physical facilities (the spa itself and the bedroom), the warm and unobtrusive attentions of the staff - all of them - and the geniality of the other guests and day-visitors we met there made this a truly refreshing and restorative experience.
We were able to spend some time in Birmingham itself - via the BR station 10 minutes walk away - and then return to the retreat of the hotel! Although there is a number of restaurants only a few minutes walk away, we were more than happy both nights to eat the simple but really tasty (and incredibly reasonably-priced) home-cooked hotel menu. We look forward to returning as soon as possible, and certainly to next summer when we'll be able to go straight from spa to garden...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graham z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timspa, Owner at Clover Spa & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted you enjoyed our facilities and Birmingham City too. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,206 reviews
Clayton Hotel Birmingham
#8 of 118 in Birmingham
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,848 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
419 reviews
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Spa & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Spa & Hotel

Address: 759 Chester Road | Erdington, Birmingham B24 0BY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#6 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £73 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clover Spa & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clover Spa and Hotel has a European style Spa facility where swimwear is not necessary. Guests will experience the unique feeling of liberation that naturism offers, wonderfully relaxing, invigorating and confidence enhancing. The Spa has a beautiful Aspen Sauna, foot spa, cold plunge pool, heated stone loungers, fully tiled steam room and a magnificent Hot tub on the patio. When weather permits sun loungers in the garden where you can sunbathe naked are a wonderful bonus. Two treatment rooms for beauty therapies and body massages compliment the Spa facilities along with the relaxation lounge where food and drinks are served all day and included in the tariff. Please note Clover Spa and Hotel is a most respectful place, all guests must be comfortable seeing mixed gender nudity even if they don't participate, inappropriate behaviour by any guest will result in eviction from the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Clover Spa & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clover Naturist Hotel Birmingham
Clover Naturist Spa And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing