We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little hidden place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Bengal

Royal Bengal
Ranked #319 of 2,198 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: High Quality Indian Restaurant near Hippodrome,Alexandra Theatre,Grand Central.established 2007
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice little hidden place”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently came to Birmingham for work to stay a couple of nights and was keen to find a good Indian place to sample so used Trip Advisor to find this place (turned out to be right opposite my hotel as well - result!).

You have to go upstairs to find the restaurant and once inside it is quite small but we were lucky and got seated right away as it was a quiet weekday evening.

The food was delicious. I had a Garlic Chilli Chicken, naan and a tandoori chicken starter. The starter was exceptional and the naan was freshly made and tasty. The curry was delicious (not the hottest garlic chilli chicken I've ever had but it was perfectly spiced).

Waiters were friendly and quick.

All in all a good place to come if you find yourself in the area and in need of a good curry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbieMorgan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    66
    17
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Used Trip Advisor to select this place.

Lovely food and definitely recommend it.

Service was spot on and I would visit again.

Starter was well presented and the main did not disappoint.

Good price as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul_A_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mur-de-Barrez, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tripadvisor winner and quite right”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had two really excellent meals in this restaurant. Reasonably priced food and drink for a city centre. Brilliant, friendly staff but quite the oddest music I've ever heard in an Indian restaurant. Mostly disco but with a bit of Thomas Newman and maybe just a bit loud. But don't let it spoil your meal. Just savour the flavours!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by location or interior”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Food is really good and staff are really friendly! Good selection on the menu, and everything I tried tasted very nice. I'd recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LincsPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My husband,son and myself arrived quite early and the restaurant was empty.We were asked if we had booked a table by a not too friendly waiter.We hadn't but got a nice table by the window anyway.The waiter took our drinks and poppadum order and quickly brought them to the table.The poppadums were lovely and crispy and the sauces were very nice.By now the restaurant was filling up nicely so there was a good atmosphere and said waiter was being a lot friendlier and pleasant.Our starters arrived after a short wait and everything was hot and very tasty.I am a bit partial to king prawns and my king prawn purée was delightful.Wonderfully large prawns cooked to perfection.When the mains arrived after a bit of a wait everything looked delicious.And it certainly was.Wonderfully spiced and generous portions that were beautifully cooked.With a couple of pints of Cobra each we concluded that we had had a very enjoyable meal and we would definatley return and recommend Royal Bengal for good,tasty food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Bengal also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Royal Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing