We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service but a little disappointing”
Review of Carters of Moseley

Carters of Moseley
Ranked #71 of 2,504 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$124 - US$172
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Moseley and Kings Heath
Description: Carters of Moseley is a Michelin Star restaurant offering a luxury multi-course tasting menu, with particular attention to the best produce, foraged flora & wild fauna indigenous to the UK. The style of cooking will use ancestral techniques like fire & fermentation blended with a modern spirit of creative culture. The wine list focuses on artisanal growers who practice modern & traditional styles of natural farming & winemaking.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We visited with friends in August. We had not been before but the couple we were with had, and said it had been excellent.

The service and atmosphere is impeccable! The staff are warm, friendly, knowledgable and relaxed. Compared to the other Michelin starred restaurants in Birmingham, this had a fantastic "feel" to it.

The wine we chose was delicious and we enjoyed all our drinks very much.

We were a little disappointed with the food. The seasoning didn't seem quite right in some dishes, and unfortunately nothing really blew us away (which we expected from such a talked-about and "starred" restaurant).

However, this would not put us off going again as the overall experience was brilliant and the staff are truly fantastic!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank MrsPlowright
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 344 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

It’s been a couple of years since we’ve visited here and they’ve been awarded their star – so, we went hoping that they wouldn’t have suffered from ‘Michelinphilia’ and become over-pretentious as we’ve seen this a number of times.
Frankly we were pleased with what we found. I think that the ‘theatre’ is a bit more pronounced, but there’s nothing silly going on.
Service was splendid: friendly well-informed waiting staff and beautifully presented dishes.
Like (almost) all tasting menus the portions were small, but since we had opted for the 8-course extravaganza (which, in reality, was 13 courses if you include the snacks) we were fine.
The food was excellent and for me the star was the cheese course which was served in a bowl with malt bread an Australian Manjimup truffle. Other course were fine though I thought that the Turbot was (in comparison with the others) a little disappointing.
Overall, this was a splendid evening.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dr_Bob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Been trying to get here for ages but managed to do so this time. Not an easy place to find and limited parking outside but everything else was great. Warm welcome and as expected all of the food, drink and service were first class and very welcoming. No pretention of being special even though they obviously are. Staff are knowledgeable about the menus and drinks. We had the 7 course supper and were very impressed. Not cheap but worth a special visit and with drinks and service charge you can expect to spend about £100 per head.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Baggie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Had the most amazing meal at Carters . The food was fantastic, the staff incredible, wine pairing spot on. A lovely restaurant with a great relaxed atmosphere. We were made to feel very welcome. Can't wait to go back. it was made extra special for us as our two teenagers were welcomed in to the kitchen to help prepare our dessert- an experience to treasure.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louiseayre
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

It was a set menu 7 course and i pass on each dish hoping for the next dish to b better but it was disgusting.

The bread and butter was nice, they had the best vodka i have ever gad and i hate vodka... not a big alcohol fan.

I had macreal that was blow tourched for 30s on each side! Basically raw mackreal, not for me.

Brov thing that was like boiled water with NO taste with cheastnut noodles and other things floating in it.

Scallaps a little underdone for me.

Blended up cauliflower rubbish looked like rice pudding, but taste so bland.

Staff were nice and setting nice. Not my kind of food, i like cooked not raw and meat over fish and flavor not bland.

They charged me for EVERYTHING i didnt eat. Waste of my money

Date of visit: October 2015
2  Thank Zara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Carters of Moseley also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Carters of Moseley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.