We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting new format for short stay for single occupancy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed four nights during a Conference. So I had quite a lot of luggage. No wardrobe or drawers and hardly room to swing a cat. For two people, you have to be VERY good friends! Excellent mattress, TV and shower. Hopeless mirror for makeup/shaving. Great for a night or two. Pleasant backwater within walking distance of central Brum. A welcome new format. Good staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulbraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

921 - 927 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

While staying at the Bloc Hotel I happened to overhear A woman who was attending the Liberal Democrat Conference complaining about the best hotel for cost, comfort, room entertainment and staff in Birmingham.
The Bloc website explains exactly what to expect at the hotel, kingside beds with memory foam matteress, 32" LED TV, monsoon shower and hand shower in a wet room, air conditioning, free wifi and staff who will assist you with any problems.
Some rooms have windows and some do not but that is the same if you were on a ship.

I recommend this hotel for people who want comfort and an excellent selection of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and review. You are obviously an avid supporter of Bloc Hotels and one whom the concept of our brand suits. Your support is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I picked this for a last minute booking because it had great reviews. They were all accurate: this is the cleanest hotel ever and the staff were good. It is however a bit odd, more like being in a small ship's cabin: you cant get out of both sides of the bed, for instance and there was only a single hanger for clothes.
However, for the price they charge I think it is a cheek to charge £1.50 for a wee paper cup of tea or coffee. You cant make tea or coffee in the room and they also charge £7.50 for a box breakfast.
I didnt think the package was great value on the whole and probably wouldnt go back purely on those grounds.

Room Tip: may not suit families as the tv has loads of adult channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2011

Thank you for your review. I will pass your comments on regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and pass your compliments on to the employees.
Your comments have been noted with regards to the price of our tea, coffee and boxed breakfast. We are reviewing our selling price on a monthly basis and will amend them should the need arise. Once again thank you very much for your valued comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Maybe I should have paid more attention to the reviews and what the hotel *doesn't* say about its service - no proper hanging space, no kettle, iron or hairdryer, the toilet and sink are essentially inside the shower cubicle "its a wet room concept" the manager sniffily informed me, no windows (you have to pay extra for natural daylight). So if you want an expensively-lit cupboard and get all your bathrooms things wet every time you have a shower, and pay for vending machine refreshments this is the place for you! I'm sorry I booked here - drawn in by the flashy photos- wish I'd gone for more frill and fuss for the same price, and got the usual hotel comforts.

Room Tip: if you must, pay the extra for a window, as the ground floor rooms are soul destroying
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crossmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We appreciate that Bloc Hotel may not cater for everybody’s needs, however from past reviews people have understood the concept and generally liked the product. Sometimes booking through third party websites can be a little difficult as you may not necessarily find all the information you need about the hotel. We do not make it any secret that some rooms have windows and some don’t. This is stated online at the time of booking in the room descriptions. You can also see from the rates advertised that there is a five pound supplement to have a room with a window. The onus is then put on the booker to choose the best room to suit their own preference. On request and subject to availability an upgrade to a room with a window can easily be organized should one be available.

With regard to hanging space our rooms are fitted with 3 coat hooks and 1 coat hanger. Should a guest require more coat hangers, these can be requested from reception. This has been sufficient for our clientele so far.
On entering the room and turning the TV on there is a display screen that informs the guest that there is an ironing room located on the ground floor, hairdryers are available from reception and that there are vending machines located on the 1st and 3rd floor and that although there may not be any tea/coffee facilities in the room, that there is a coffee vending machine located in the lobby area. Our dedicated team is always more than happy to help with any questions our guests may have. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, just a short walk away you have a choice of restaurants to choose from located in St Pauls Square, less than 3 minutes away.
We take all comments seriously and will always take them into consideration to continuously improve our offering across the brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting the city. All in all great place to stay, really quiet and very comfortable beds. We had a room with no window, but this was fine, actually meant we slept really well as no light came in. The bathroom was great, lovely hot shower. My only criticism is the cost, £70 a night seems a little much for what you actually get.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Great review, thank you. The hotel rates start from £45 and go up to £95. It is based on occupancy levels. If the hotel is quiet then the cheaper the rooms are, if the hotel is busy and the city is generally busy, the rate will increase. You will find that this is the case with most of our competitor hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

perfect setting for couples wanting to spend personal time together. Very clean surroundings and room. Loved the shower!!. The decor was lovely, bedding clean and comfortable to sleep in. Room lighting was fun to play with to get that perfect setting. Nice T.V Screen.

All staff were helpful, pleasant and friendly. Looking forward to our next stay. Great Place.

Room Tip: room with a view. though one without is just as nice if your just spending personal time as a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Marcia, thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Sometimes people think our rooms are only suitable for solo travellers. Hopefully with your review this will encourage more couples to stay at Bloc Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

First trip to Birmingham since the 70s, loved the Bloc Hotel & St Paul's area. Sorry we only had one night but plan to visit again for a longer weekend and will definitely stay at Bloc Hotel again. Friendly staff, smart, clean, comfortable rooms - a great base for a city break. We enjoyed the walk back from the city centre in the evening, which took less than than 10 minutes but could take much longer if you stopped for a drink or two on the way...

Room Tip: Book a room with a window if you're going to spend any daylight hours in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHNCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for your review. I like the way you describe your stay as 'Short but sweet'. Bloc Hotel look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
1,236 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
350 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing