We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag, but overall more good than bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A mixed bag, but overall more good than bad”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed for several days on a business trip. Let me start by saying that this is not really a hotel geared for business travelers.

PROS:
Good location in the Jewelery Quarter and about 15 minutes' walk to the city center.
Nice design and optimal use of space.
Spotlessly clean rooms.
Comfortable beds.
Friendly helpful staff.

CONS:
The windows don't open, not even a tiny vent.
The a/c is hard to fine-tune so it can get much too cold or hot in the room.
Three short hooks for clothes and one hanger is not sufficient for anyone but the most spartan of short-trip travelers (I was able to get more hangers by asking)
There is no chair and no desk so the only place to work is in the bed
The WiFi is very slow and unreliable, albeit free.
No hair-dryer.
No electronic safe.

The hallmark of this hotel is its small cool design rooms. Alas, form has out-ranked function. The hotel could easily install a shelf above the hooks and there is also room for some shelves/shallow storage on the wall between the hooks and the bed. Again, there is empty unused wall space above the "night-stand" where shelves/containers/shallow storage could be installed. Any shelves/storage would be a HUGE improvement over having nothing at all - which is the current situation.

There is obviously not room for a desk and chair in the room, but if the hotel wants to cater to business travelers it will need to accommodate them in some way by providing desks with proper working chairs in a shared space somewhere on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback on the hotel. All comments are taken seriously and reported back to the board for consideration. The hotel is open for any type of traveller to stay whether it be for business or leisure and of course is totally dependant on the travellers choice of hotel.
Bloc hotel is a design led hotel albeit one that takes into consideration that travellers require a good nights sleep, a good shower in the morning and a good strong coffee to set them up for the day ahead.
Hairdryers can be requested from reception. This is stated on the welcome screen on the TV when one enters the bedroom. The WIFI is accessed by a username and password that is given on check-in. One is required for each device that is used. Should the hotel be made aware that there are problems with a particular room receiving an intermittent WIFI signal and the WIFI being slow then this would get investigated straight away so as to avoid disappointment to a guests stay.
In the room there is a small desk and cube like stool. Again, should a guest not find this practical for their use, reception will do their upmost to provide a chair for the guest so as they can work from the desk.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    361
    133
    39
    36
See reviews for
39
430
101
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We had a bedroom with a window. It was extremely basic. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room was a negative. No cupboards too. Just a visually nice looking room with a bed, tv, bedside table with stool, free password-based wi-fi which could only be used on one device, and en-suite wetroom shower. Ironing room was a mess when I went in-wet and burnt ironing board. NCP car-park 5 minute walk away and hotel give you a discounted card so costs £3.50. Good hotel, enjoyed stay, but as a couple wouldn't book again to avoid walking over each other.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamyounus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for your review. We do not provide tea or coffee within the bedrooms although will be taking peoples comments onboard regarding this. We do provide a Nespresso Coffee Vending machine that is located in the lobby area and tea can be purchased from Reception.
The ironing room is left unattended and is open 24hrs for guests to use at their own leisure. It had been reported by Reception that the ironing boards had been burnt and as I write this I have been informed that new ones are on order and the hotel is awaiting delivery of them. The ironing rooms are also checked frequently by the Receptionist on duty throughout their shift.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Loved the Bloc. One of the newest "boutique" hotels in Birmingham, it's designed as a Block of Capsule rooms. Very interesting concept and fabulously hip.
The most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.
Once you figure out the shower, it is so clever. The whole bathroom is a shower room/wet room so the water comes out from atop the ceiling.
Great LED tv and block out blinds. No closet though but rather space underneath the bed and pegs for hanging clothes.
Free Wifi is a plus. Coffee machine in the lobby at a nominal cost.
The whole St. James area seems like it's in the process of modernization and there are adorable pubs/restaurants within walking distance. But you will need a cab to get to the station and the center of town.
Amazing staff. Everyone was so accomodating and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCAlarmGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the concept of the hotel. We try very hard to exceed customers expectations in terms of offering a quality product and service that hopefully people will like so that they return to stay at Bloc Hotel. Thank you for your kind comments and review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I stayed four nights during a Conference. So I had quite a lot of luggage. No wardrobe or drawers and hardly room to swing a cat. For two people, you have to be VERY good friends! Excellent mattress, TV and shower. Hopeless mirror for makeup/shaving. Great for a night or two. Pleasant backwater within walking distance of central Brum. A welcome new format. Good staff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulbraithwaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

While staying at the Bloc Hotel I happened to overhear A woman who was attending the Liberal Democrat Conference complaining about the best hotel for cost, comfort, room entertainment and staff in Birmingham.
The Bloc website explains exactly what to expect at the hotel, kingside beds with memory foam matteress, 32" LED TV, monsoon shower and hand shower in a wet room, air conditioning, free wifi and staff who will assist you with any problems.
Some rooms have windows and some do not but that is the same if you were on a ship.

I recommend this hotel for people who want comfort and an excellent selection of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and review. You are obviously an avid supporter of Bloc Hotels and one whom the concept of our brand suits. Your support is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I picked this for a last minute booking because it had great reviews. They were all accurate: this is the cleanest hotel ever and the staff were good. It is however a bit odd, more like being in a small ship's cabin: you cant get out of both sides of the bed, for instance and there was only a single hanger for clothes.
However, for the price they charge I think it is a cheek to charge £1.50 for a wee paper cup of tea or coffee. You cant make tea or coffee in the room and they also charge £7.50 for a box breakfast.
I didnt think the package was great value on the whole and probably wouldnt go back purely on those grounds.

Room Tip: may not suit families as the tv has loads of adult channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for your review. I will pass your comments on regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and pass your compliments on to the employees.
Your comments have been noted with regards to the price of our tea, coffee and boxed breakfast. We are reviewing our selling price on a monthly basis and will amend them should the need arise. Once again thank you very much for your valued comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Maybe I should have paid more attention to the reviews and what the hotel *doesn't* say about its service - no proper hanging space, no kettle, iron or hairdryer, the toilet and sink are essentially inside the shower cubicle "its a wet room concept" the manager sniffily informed me, no windows (you have to pay extra for natural daylight). So if you want an expensively-lit cupboard and get all your bathrooms things wet every time you have a shower, and pay for vending machine refreshments this is the place for you! I'm sorry I booked here - drawn in by the flashy photos- wish I'd gone for more frill and fuss for the same price, and got the usual hotel comforts.

Room Tip: if you must, pay the extra for a window, as the ground floor rooms are soul destroying
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that Bloc Hotel may not cater for everybody’s needs, however from past reviews people have understood the concept and generally liked the product. Sometimes booking through third party websites can be a little difficult as you may not necessarily find all the information you need about the hotel. We do not make it any secret that some rooms have windows and some don’t. This is stated online at the time of booking in the room descriptions. You can also see from the rates advertised that there is a five pound supplement to have a room with a window. The onus is then put on the booker to choose the best room to suit their own preference. On request and subject to availability an upgrade to a room with a window can easily be organized should one be available.

With regard to hanging space our rooms are fitted with 3 coat hooks and 1 coat hanger. Should a guest require more coat hangers, these can be requested from reception. This has been sufficient for our clientele so far.
On entering the room and turning the TV on there is a display screen that informs the guest that there is an ironing room located on the ground floor, hairdryers are available from reception and that there are vending machines located on the 1st and 3rd floor and that although there may not be any tea/coffee facilities in the room, that there is a coffee vending machine located in the lobby area. Our dedicated team is always more than happy to help with any questions our guests may have. Although the hotel does not have a restaurant, just a short walk away you have a choice of restaurants to choose from located in St Pauls Square, less than 3 minutes away.
We take all comments seriously and will always take them into consideration to continuously improve our offering across the brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,087 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#37 of 117 in Birmingham
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
251 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing