We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for quick weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for quick weekend break”
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed here last night for a weekend break. We had seen the Hotel on the internet and thought it looked ideal. It didn't disappoint. Our room was excellent with a fantastic wet room. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel, despite being full, was exceptionally quiet. This led to a fantastic nights sleep after a slap up meal in one of the many nearby restaurants.

In addition to this the staff were helpful and friendly. I rang up the day before to enquire about local restaurants and the receptionist was knowledgable and more than happy to advise.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with a window. I would recommend this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbyJ1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for your review and kind comments on the hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel fulfilled your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    363
    134
    39
    36
See reviews for
41
438
102
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Great exsperience, well laid out, top notch shower, very comfortable bed and spotless.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Well................the hotels never been described as that before! 'Rolls Royce of prison cells, fit for a King!' I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review and kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

If your looking to stay in the Jewellery quarter in Birmingham this is a no brainer.
Rooms are small with walk in shower... Hi Tech with minimal design.
But like staying in Cabin on a boat.
I liked the place.. good value and great area.
No breakfast facilities or coffee.. a kind of hi tech crash pad.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a window if you fancy upgrading... Next time l stay l think i'll have one witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TomTrundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Great review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Very nice interior design with a lot of interesting solutions. Cosy and very comfortable bed with a nice view over the jewellery quarter. Our room was very clean and the staff very friendly.
The main shopping area is within walking distance (15 minutes).
We warmely recommend this hotel, especially for couples who stay only for a few days.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, in order to have a nice view from the window and at the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cira-cira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
It's so nice to read reviews written by couples that stayed in the hotel. A lot of people comment that the rooms are only suitable for sole occupancy but this is not case as you clearly recommend the room for couples wishing to stay a few days. Thank you for your review and kind comments. Hopefully, should you come back to stay in Birmingham in the near future, you will choose Bloc Hotel Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed in the hotel this weekend as part of a couple, our first impressions were very good – Nice looking hotel, modern, clean etc… and we were equally pleased with the room. We were aware that it was a minimalist design so we weren’t bothered about the lack of wardrobe or draws. Plus we were only staying one night so didn’t have much baggage.

The bed was extremely comfortable and large enough for the both of us not to be confined. We had a good relax watching the TV in bed. One downside though, was that I managed to flood our room, as my girlfriend was having a nap I had a shower. The water reached the door and started pool….I made sure the door was firmly shut before having the shower so wasn’t bothered by this, thinking it must be part of the wet room design. Apparently not, shouts from the bedroom alerted me to the fact that we were in need of the coast guard!

The water had flooded everything and made its way out of the door and into the hallway. It soaked most of our clothes, luckily nothing we needed for that night or anything valuable.

All in all we had a great experience at the hotel, and assuming the great flood was an accident /one off problem we wouldn’t have any complaints. Highly recommended and will probably go there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for your review and your kind comments. Flooding of the bedroom and corridor from usage of the wet room should definitely not happen as the water should flow into the drain located in the wet room. I would like to know what room this happened in so that I can get this investigated or indeed if this was mentioned to reception I'm sure this has been rectified by the time I am responding to this review. Once again, many thanks for recommending the hotel and hopefully you'll be back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northampton
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We went to see a show at the nia so this hotel was prefect for us.We parked on the street a couple of mins away from the hotel for free.The bed was very very nice and sofa, i also enjoyed the shower :)but there is two downsides to this hotel
1. the aircon is very loud and found it hard to sleep with it on
2. Our room was near a store room as a number of times in the night i heard keys going and the hotel using cards to get in rooms, apart from that we both slept like a baby!!!

We will use the hotel again and tell others to use it

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frosty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you will recommend the hotel to others. I would be delighted to hear from you to know which room that you stayed in so the two downsides to your stay in the hotel can be looked into.
Thank you for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Bloc hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed for several days on a business trip. Let me start by saying that this is not really a hotel geared for business travelers.

PROS:
Good location in the Jewelery Quarter and about 15 minutes' walk to the city center.
Nice design and optimal use of space.
Spotlessly clean rooms.
Comfortable beds.
Friendly helpful staff.

CONS:
The windows don't open, not even a tiny vent.
The a/c is hard to fine-tune so it can get much too cold or hot in the room.
Three short hooks for clothes and one hanger is not sufficient for anyone but the most spartan of short-trip travelers (I was able to get more hangers by asking)
There is no chair and no desk so the only place to work is in the bed
The WiFi is very slow and unreliable, albeit free.
No hair-dryer.
No electronic safe.

The hallmark of this hotel is its small cool design rooms. Alas, form has out-ranked function. The hotel could easily install a shelf above the hooks and there is also room for some shelves/shallow storage on the wall between the hooks and the bed. Again, there is empty unused wall space above the "night-stand" where shelves/containers/shallow storage could be installed. Any shelves/storage would be a HUGE improvement over having nothing at all - which is the current situation.

There is obviously not room for a desk and chair in the room, but if the hotel wants to cater to business travelers it will need to accommodate them in some way by providing desks with proper working chairs in a shared space somewhere on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqtrav17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for your review and constructive feedback on the hotel. All comments are taken seriously and reported back to the board for consideration. The hotel is open for any type of traveller to stay whether it be for business or leisure and of course is totally dependant on the travellers choice of hotel.
Bloc hotel is a design led hotel albeit one that takes into consideration that travellers require a good nights sleep, a good shower in the morning and a good strong coffee to set them up for the day ahead.
Hairdryers can be requested from reception. This is stated on the welcome screen on the TV when one enters the bedroom. The WIFI is accessed by a username and password that is given on check-in. One is required for each device that is used. Should the hotel be made aware that there are problems with a particular room receiving an intermittent WIFI signal and the WIFI being slow then this would get investigated straight away so as to avoid disappointment to a guests stay.
In the room there is a small desk and cube like stool. Again, should a guest not find this practical for their use, reception will do their upmost to provide a chair for the guest so as they can work from the desk.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,094 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
280 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,846 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing