We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant concept, worth giving it a try!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Brilliant concept, worth giving it a try!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Visiting Birmingham for a third time we decided to stay in the Bloc Hotel, a new boutique hotel that is just a bed, shower and TV. It's brilliant and does exactly as it says on the can! Small compact rooms with a very clever wet room and an excellent TV. You need no more in a room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samboii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Bloc Hotel Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    363
    134
    39
    36
See reviews for
41
436
102
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I had my stay with this hotel through groupon and was really expecting something medioka. However this wasnt the case, I was pleasently suprised with the room and although small the bed stretched across the whole width of the room, was extremely comfortable and the television was built into the head board.

The window in the room was very large and even though it had a black out blind, if you were gettin changed it felt over looked and was on a fairly busy street. We couldnt put the blind down because not untill the day we left we worked out how to use the touch sensitive lights.

The wet room was amazing.. i absolutely loved it something completely different from the rest and could have stayed in their all evening. Not expecting the water to come out of the ceiling.. it was great.

However, when i came out to get ready for our night out with my boyfriend there was no dressing table, no hairdryer and the light to do makeup was dim. I tried to do my makeup in the bathroom mirror but everything was soaked, there was no room for all my stuff and as the room was full of condensation i opened the wet room door which opened on the inside blocking the mirror! I had such a difficulty getting ready and didnt feel that nice when i went out.

The room advertises sound proof walls? This isnt the case but the comfyness of the bed made up for it.

Apart from that, the staff were extremely friendly, I had a really decent nights sleep and if they literally had a space to get ready and proper lighting for us girls to get ready properly i would have been a very very happy lady!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher level floor Do not get the room above the sliding entrance doors, Get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiMa269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad the hotel exceeded your expectations. Since the the offer was made through Groupon in August, you will be pleased to know that there has been improvements made to help the sound proofing. More sound proofing pads have been inserted on all floors in the corridors. Once again, thank you for your review and hopefully should you find yourself needing to stay in Birmingham, you will choose Bloc Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We LOVED our stay at this hotel.
Minimalistic, but extremely high specification. This is exactly what we always wanted, but we never knew it!!
The staff were excellent, it was good value for money and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomarto03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel that suited your needs. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Really liked this hotel - good location in a nice area of the city, only 15 min walk to the bullring and other shops. Some nice bars and restaurants a couple of minutes walk away.

Really big bed, nice bathroom with big fluffy towels - nicer than some more expensive hotels I've stayed in before. Room was a bit dark even with all the lights on but not too much of a problem.

For £75 a night I think it was slightly overpriced compared to other hotels in the city, especially as the hotel has no additional facilities, I didn't think this was a budget price. Due to booking at short notice and it being a weekend I expected to pay slightly more and was unable to find another room elsewhere but was very happy with my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lh1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your review. As with most city centre hotels our rates increase due to occupancy levels and reacts to how busy the city is. Normally the further in advance you book, the cheaper the rate. Our rates start from as little as £45 and go up to £95. I hope this explains why at the time you paid £75 and you were unable to find other hotel rooms elsewhere. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I stayed here for 1 night on business. Cannot fault the hotel at all – great location, immaculately clean rooms with high-end fixtures and fittings – I can’t think of another £50/night city hotel where you would find a rain showerhead in the en suite… bed was large and super comfy as well.

Everything has been so well thought out and considered – from maximising the space and layout of the room (extra pillows stored under the bed, HD flatscreen TV in the wall at the end of the bed) to the design and finish of everything (the covered loo roll holder in the bathroom/wet room). Plus the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. What more do you need?!

Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Like everyone else says - pay an extra fiver to get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaddyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that the hotel suited you for the purpose of your stay. As the hotel only opened in April of this year we really appreciate people recommending the hotel to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was a little apprehensive about going to this hotel as all the reviews mention the size of the rooms. On arrival the lobby is chic and modern. We had a room with a window, the room was quite small but the bed was amazingly comfy and the lighting was ambient. I have never been keen on the idea of wet rooms, but the drench shower was amazing i wanted to take it home.
The hotel and room were very clean and great value for money.
Location, our sat nav would not find it, its just round the corner from a beautiful church which is surrounded by a couple of lovely bars/cafes and its within walking distance of Broad Street.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
Thank you for your review and kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Perfect for an overnight stay. Clean, modern and quirky. If you're only planning on staying the weekend and are going to be out and about, then you couldn't ask for anything more at this price. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your review. You have grasped the concept of our rooms very well. Hopefully should you be back to stay in Birmingham you will choose Bloc Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,092 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
276 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing