We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, contemporary and perfect for a child-free weekend away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Stamford
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Quirky, contemporary and perfect for a child-free weekend away.”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

A 15 minute stroll from the city centre, Bloc is a 'budget boutique' hotel based in the St Paul's area of the massively regenerated Jewellery Quarter. Previously rather run down, the area now boasts bars and popular clubs as well as excellent restaurants and vibrant cafe culture.
Bloc is very different to anything we have stayed in before but must be the future for great low value accommodation. Rooms are small but modern and are the width of a very long extremely comfortable king size bed. Linen and towels are luxurious and the storage space minimal. Inner rooms don't have windows but the innovative infinitely adjustable lighting more than makes up for this. The bathroom is a wet room with a toilet and sink with a magnificent square rain shower head in the ceiling. Sounds a bit weird I know but these are best showers either of have ever had and ample room for two!
Other than that your room has 3 hooks for hanging clothes, bed side table, under-bed storage, oh, and a 32 inch LCD TV built into the wall at the bottom of the bed with more channels than you can shake a stick at! 24hr reception (darked haired girl with long earrings) were fantastically helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants and Bloc have done a deal with the very nearby NCP that reduces their charges from £14.50 pr day to just £3.50 for guests.
I'm a rubbish sleeper but great effort has been made to soundproof these rooms and, apart from the occasional room door, this was as quiet a room as I have stayed in.
We paid £115 for 2 nights over a weekend which we thought was terrific value for something quirky and different to your formulaic Lodge accommodation.
Bear in mind that rooms have one huge bed so Max 2 occupancy and there's no kids running round the corridors! The glass en-suite and proximity will mean that you'll need to be very comfortable around your room-mate but we enjoyed every minute of Bloc.
In reality on a weekend away you don't spend a great deal of time in your room but Bloc is well designed and built with quality materials.
Great value and a fab place for a weekend away. Can't wait to find an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments and detailed review. Your review gives a very good guest perception of the hotel for people looking to stay at Bloc Hotel Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    358
    133
    39
    35
See reviews for
39
425
101
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

After reading some reviews on Tripadvisor, decided to check out Bloc, we were not disappointed. Great design throughout. The room was small but perfectly suited to our needs. The rainfall shower in the wet room was worth the money alone! Extremely clean room unlike many other hotels I have stayed in. Nice location and close enough to walk to the city centre in 10 mins. Will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mausoleum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stay in hotels in Birmingham every couple of months and having experienced the Travelodge on Broad Street for a similar price was very impressed.

Clean, tidy, and friendly helpful staff. Plenty of room for what I needed. The only downside was the TV Screen kept pixalating and called me slighly dim (no pun intended) but could not work out the lighting system.

Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Hi and thanks for the review. I'm glad you were impressed with our product. I will however like to look into why the TV screen kept pixelating. If you could let us know which room this happened in then I can investigate it. Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2011

As a regular hotel visitor I was intrigued by the concept and was not disappointed. The clean, well designed rooms have everything you need for a city stop off.
As for ironing rooms, at least bloc are transparent in their ironing room policy unlike some branded budgets which will remain namless.
Please let's see more blocs up and down the UK!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmakoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bloc Hotel Birmingham in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
172 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Visiting Birmingham for a third time we decided to stay in the Bloc Hotel, a new boutique hotel that is just a bed, shower and TV. It's brilliant and does exactly as it says on the can! Small compact rooms with a very clever wet room and an excellent TV. You need no more in a room. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samboii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Bloc Hotel Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I had my stay with this hotel through groupon and was really expecting something medioka. However this wasnt the case, I was pleasently suprised with the room and although small the bed stretched across the whole width of the room, was extremely comfortable and the television was built into the head board.

The window in the room was very large and even though it had a black out blind, if you were gettin changed it felt over looked and was on a fairly busy street. We couldnt put the blind down because not untill the day we left we worked out how to use the touch sensitive lights.

The wet room was amazing.. i absolutely loved it something completely different from the rest and could have stayed in their all evening. Not expecting the water to come out of the ceiling.. it was great.

However, when i came out to get ready for our night out with my boyfriend there was no dressing table, no hairdryer and the light to do makeup was dim. I tried to do my makeup in the bathroom mirror but everything was soaked, there was no room for all my stuff and as the room was full of condensation i opened the wet room door which opened on the inside blocking the mirror! I had such a difficulty getting ready and didnt feel that nice when i went out.

The room advertises sound proof walls? This isnt the case but the comfyness of the bed made up for it.

Apart from that, the staff were extremely friendly, I had a really decent nights sleep and if they literally had a space to get ready and proper lighting for us girls to get ready properly i would have been a very very happy lady!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher level floor Do not get the room above the sliding entrance doors, Get a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiMa269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for your review. I am glad the hotel exceeded your expectations. Since the the offer was made through Groupon in August, you will be pleased to know that there has been improvements made to help the sound proofing. More sound proofing pads have been inserted on all floors in the corridors. Once again, thank you for your review and hopefully should you find yourself needing to stay in Birmingham, you will choose Bloc Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We LOVED our stay at this hotel.
Minimalistic, but extremely high specification. This is exactly what we always wanted, but we never knew it!!
The staff were excellent, it was good value for money and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomarto03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlocHotels, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel that suited your needs. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 117 in Birmingham
1,177 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing