We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Agree wholeheartedly with a previous reviewer who gave 1 star. Came away with my husband for a relaxing break, not much relaxing you can do in a cold box with no windows, thin duvet and pillows, no carpet, no kettle and not enough room in the room to even be able to get out of the bed from both sides. We clearly misunderstood the description on the website, boutique to me, denotes some element of luxury and service. A more accurate description of this hotel would be modern budget hotel rather than boutique budget hotel. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caty274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel and that it didn't meet your expectations. We realise that our product may not appeal to everyone that stays however the positive responses have been overwhelming so far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

stayed at the bloc recently for a weekend away with our friends. extremely clean, very comfortable bed and a fantastic shower. we enjoyed the pods and all we needed. receptionists very helpful and really friendly. will definitely stop here again, great value for money. definitely luxury on a budget!! 15minute walk to city centre and £5 for a taxi onto broad street

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nurseyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Thank you for you review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My girlfriend booked me this Bloc Hotel for my birthday. We stayed at the Bloc Hotel on a two night on 30th Jan until the 1st of Feb 2012.

At £45 it was a bargain! The service from the lady on reception was extremely good, she was very friendly and helpful.

The fixtures were definitely well thought out, and certainly had a "luxury" feel. The bed was rather large and extremely comfortable and the shower was amazing. The bathroom 'module' is a wet room so you need to think what order to do things in and make sure the shower is pointing at the WC but quite frankly it adds to the funkiness of the hotel. The towels were big and soft and the mattress wonderfully comfortable. No frills but you can get decent coffee and snacks from vending machines if needed.

This is a modern pod style hotel. £50 for one of the most comfortable night but that was the best offer but it's normally £90 per night. we've had in a hotel. Its a new hotel and clean and spotless. Would highly recommend for a cheap yet smart quiet stay just out of the city centre but in good walking distance (about 10mins).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbtang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

What a great description of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Hopefully you'll be back in Birmingham to stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We booked the hotel for a weekend in Birmingham, we went into town to the Christmas market, the hotel is a ten minute walk from the centre of town. It is in a lovely area near St Paul's church and the Jam House bar. We like this style of hotel and usually stay at the Nite Nite but Bloc rooms are bigger and it just feels nicer as its not right at the noisy heart of the city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoneleighBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Bloc on a Saturday night, just needed a place to get our head down for a few hours after a night out.

At £45 it was a bargain! The service from the lady on reception was extremely good, she was very friendly and helpful.

The room/pod was larger than I had expected and than other pod hotels I have stayed in previously. The fixtures were definitely well thought out, and certainly had a "luxury" feel. The bed was rather large and extremely comfortable and the shower was amazing.

When we were about to go out, we asked reception to book us a taxi. It was the fastest taxi I have ever caught, as the mini cab base is round the corner so he was already outside!

The only slight downside to this hotel is that it is not in the city centre, it is slightly removed towards the jewellery quarter. This is a lovely section of Birmingham with some nice bars and restaurants, however we were going out on Hurst Street which is about a 20 minute walk away, so this is something to bare in mind when booking. Given the price however, we managed to get a mini cab there for £5 and a black cab back for £8 at 5am, which still worked out cheaper than getting a more central hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xtommox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2012

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to reception regarding the friendly service you received on check-in. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Stayed at the Bloc and had a very pleasant time, the pod was very clean and comfortable would definitly reccomend this place to stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor gives you better views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olly1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Should you want a view of the city, the 3rd floor tends to be your best bet. This can always be requested at the time when the reservation is made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This is a modern pod style hotel. £45 for one of the most comfortable nights we've had in a hotel. Its a new hotel and clean and spotless. The towels were big and soft and the mattress wonderfully comfortable. No frills but you can get decent coffee and snacks from vending machines if needed. Well positioned just outside city centre between St Pauls Sq and the jewelery quarter and with secure parking nearby. And with a pass from the Bloc the 24hr charge miraculously drops from nearly £15 to just £3.50. Ideal if like us you want to do the shops the day after a night out. The bathroom 'module' is a wet room so you need to think what order to do things in and make sure the shower is pointing at the WC but quite frankly it adds to the funkiness of the hotel. Would highly recommend for a cheap yet smart quiet stay just out of the city centre but in good walking distance (about 10mins).

Room Tip: not all rooms have a window (dummy windows). We found this a bonus as its quieter and dark but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thediscerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
1,235 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
349 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing