We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain smart budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bargain smart budget hotel”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here twice now on business. This is a more modern version of the Easyhotel. It is in the quieter Jewellery Quarter of Birmingham, but what a lovely area. St Paul's church and it's great square is 50 metres away. There are a couple of decent pubs there and a couple of restaurants nearby. However, it is only a 20 min walk into town. A bright airy entrance and easy check in. The rooms are small. Your bed touches the wall on three sides, like an easy hotel, but unlike Easy the decor is calm browns, creams and greys. You get a tv fitted in the wall at the end of the bed and you get free wifi. Unlike Travelodge or Premier Inn there is no room to work, just a bed. No wardrobe or cupboards. The small bathroom "pod" is again very smart and functional. Good shower with a choice of the usual small but well powered shower head or you can opt for the larger head placed in the ceiling. This is a nice practical cheap option for Birmingham. I paid £50 on a Thursday and then £35 Friday, the latter being an amazing price. The bed is very comfortable and the towels were huge, fluffy and of a good quality. There are ironing rooms and vending machines available for drinks, coffee and snack.
All in all a bargain smart venue if you are on a budget and don't mind the stroll into town.

Room Tip: If you opt for a window pick the top floor then you're not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJSkippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Great description of your stay and of the hotel. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    363
    134
    39
    36
See reviews for
41
436
102
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon - England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here on business trip. Very clean, rooms small but ample enough. No tea or coffee facilities in the room, but you can purchase in the reception area.
The staff were friendly and really helpful. very good value for money.

Room Tip: I would think that all rooms are at a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoddFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Short but sweet! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel.
I only booked it a couple of hours before I was due to stay at a cost of only £35. What a bargain, it had everything I needed very comfortable bed, brilliant tv and style.
I can understand the few niggles other reviewers had. Tea and coffee would have been nice and if there's 2 people staying together I would say you'd have to be pretty intimate because there's no privacy, but I thought it was brilliant and will definitely stay there again. Plus it's free parking on the street from 6pm to 8am

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bel04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A great hotel in the city centre. It was the cheapest option by far for us to stay here so risked it but it was great. you don't get much (as stated on the website etc) but what you do get it excellent and good quality. The bed is big and so comfy, flat screen tv, easy wifi connection, amazing waterfall shower, 2 big pillows each and big soft towels. there are no extras like hair dryer, tea/coffee in the room but there are coffee and vending machines (hot drinks are £1.50) if you need them. The staff are friendly efficient and helpful, let us leave our bags with no charge and reception is manned 24 hours. Its a short (10-15 min) walk into the main bullring area but the area itself in the jewellery qtr is great, good restaurants and pubs all around. We paid an extra £5 for a window and got a nice view too. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Just to let you know for next time, hairdryers can be borrowed from reception. Please ask on arrival. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As someone who used to work just round the corner, it's great to see the new developments oin the St Paul's/Jewellery Quarter area. Proximity to the latter is a great benefit of Bloc, but is only 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre in an area I'd consider as very very safe. As an ex local it was thus easy to find, a big illuminated entrance, with quick check-in, and an area of seating /TV in reception. A quick lift or short walk took me to my second floor room, with clear, modern signage making all areas of the hotel easy to find.

Room numbering is unusual, distinctly funky, but easy to follow. The room is exactly as previously descrived, a bed and a bathroom. Not somewhere you'd want to spend much time but how many people actually use yhe desks, wardrobes and ironing boards larger chains provide? Well not me! The room actually has a feeling of spaciousness - colours, lighting and design combined to give a 'feel good factor'. The bed takes up half the room, but is big, soft and comfortable. Towels provided on the bed, as big & fluffy as advertised. Set in to the wall at the end of the bed is a Samsung flat screen TV - better than anything in a comparably priced Traveldoge type hotel.

There are vending machines on 1st and 3rd floors which were not the rip off some hotel vending machines, just right for 1am munchies. Come morning, and if it were not for a text message waking me up I'd probably still be in the bed now! The lack of window is not a problem and despite my friends using it as a point of ridicule, it is very cleverly designed around with the appearance of lighting coming from behind a recessed blind. To turn on the flights I fumbled towrads the light switches - it all happened automatically to give dimmed, purple lighting rather than harsh white lights, Whether design or accident it works for me!

The shower/wet room is also excatly as advertised, good shower or roof mounted 'rain' type shower. I wonder though, if the amount of water per room is limited as the pressure dropped off and remained low when using the sink afterwards. Definitely do not leave any papers/reading material in the bathroom when using the shower!

In summary, a superb place to get your head down, and if all you want is a sleep and a shower there's probably nowhere better than the Bloc. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about paying extra for a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n37077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your review. It's so nice to hear your comments regarding the hotel. Not only that but it's a perfect description of the hotel for other people to read, who have not yet stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for two nights and I would definitely come back although there were a few disappointments. Me being me, I checked the bedsheets which had a few stains and many hairs. As the sheets were not tucked in very well, I pulled it back to fix it and discovered many hairs underneath. I was not best pleased, I am presuming they keep the same mattress protector sheet but replace the top sheet... consequently I asked for new clean sheets which me and my husband put back on ourselves and completely re-did the bed. After, we were able to relax. The cleanliness of everything else was spot on, the bathroom was sparking.

The bed is very comfortable and the staff were polite although I got the feeling that the receptionist wasn't best pleased when we asked for new sheets within an hour of being there. The shower has two options, either through the normal shower head or a power shower from the above... both were great. Although the water got everywhere after, it wasn't that much of a problem, we just used a hand towel to dry the floor and toilet.

We was also a bit disappointed with the view, we were on the first floor and faced an office, the staff could see directly into the room. A bit frustrating as you pay for a window room but do not feel comfortable having the blind up - so basically defeated the whole point of having a window as the blind was always down anyway.

Free wifi is a brilliant touch and the tv too. It definitely has a 'luxury' feel for a budget hotel. We didn't mind the distance as the walk was ok to the town centre and there are nice bars/ restaurants in the jewellery quarter too. Parking is not far and having discounted parking is definitely a must. We probably wouldn't have stayed if we had to pay £14.50 for parking for per 24 hrs...

Maybe we are just a bit fussy, I would rate THIS experience a 4/5 but no doubt if we returned and we had a better view and no problems with the sheets... it'll be 5/5.

Room Tip: I would say say a top floor room with a window - not facing an office would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your review and for bringing to our attention the issues that were mentioned. Following this, I have had a meeting with our Head Housekeeper to ensure that the maids double check all linen before placing on the beds and that standards are maintained throughout the hotel.
In regards to your room with a view, a city view room can be requested at the time of booking. The hotel has 4 floors and unfortunately not all rooms can benefit from city views.
I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I would just like to make a note about other peoples reviews, you have to expect a small room and you do have to pay an extra £5 or £10 if you want a room with a window.

The reception area is warm, welcoming and very modern. The receptionist was helpful.

The room is very clean and tidy albeit small. The bed is very large and has a nice cosy feel to it with an easily accessible TV.

The bathroom is a wet room and the shower is hot, powerful and has a very large head. The shower is perfect for couples.

I look forwards to my next visit. Thanks Bloc hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Great description and review of the hotel, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 117 in Birmingham
1,092 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 117 in Birmingham
276 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing