We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$189
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$223
US$208
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$100
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$143
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$61
US$59
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$180
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
424
388
153
47
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
388
153
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomjewellery quarterno windowrooms are smallcity centrevending machinewindowless roomst paul's squaremonsoon showernearby ncpjam housestorage spacecomfy bedair conshort staygreat showerbedside table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
914 - 919 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Bloc, is only 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre in an area I'd consider as safe. It wasn't too difficult to find from New St Station. Quick check-in. A quick lift us to our second floor room, with clear, modern signage. Bit strange walking into darkness waiting for lights to come on. All LED not very bright though, get used to it.

Room numbering is unusual, but easy to follow. The room is exactly as described, a bed and a bathroom. Not somewhere you'd want to spend much time. We were there for two nights. Wouldn't stay longer. It is meant for business people on the move looking for a good bed, nice TV and lots of warm water from a very good shower. The room did NOT have a feeling of spaciousness as others have said. Mirrors, colours, lighting and design combined to give a cramped but thinking you may have more sort of atmosphere. The bed takes up half the room, is big, soft and comfortable. Towels provided on the bed, as big & fluffy as advertised. Set in to the wall at the end of the bed is a Samsung flat screen TV - nice touch. Wetroom/toilet area very good with lashings of hot water. Ceiling drench as well as standard shower. Experiment with the taps.... no instructions!

There are vending machines on 1st and 3rd floors which were not particularly useful other than for sweets/crisps/soft drink.

In summary, a reasonable place to get your head down if you are on business and looking for a crash pad, and if all you want is a sleep and a shower there's probably nowhere better than the Bloc. I doubt we would stay again for a long weekend as it is more business type/crash pad oriented. But it is aimed at that market I think.

Room Tip: Request third floor if you opt for a window. Take a travel kettle if you want your morning cuppa in your room.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arrachogaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

May I thank you for taking the time to write your review. We realise that Bloc Hotel may not appeal to all people. Trip Advisor is a great place to read up on hotels so others know what to expect before arriving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A great hotel for a great price! Had no complaints about the cleanliness and efficiency of the hotel and staff. However we did find that having a room without a window meant that we were on the ground floor next to staff and cleaners facilities meaning it was very noisy in the morning. If returning we would request a different room. There was everything we needed in the room, with a great shower! Would have been a nicer touch if the coffee making facilities in the reception were cheaper!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that housekeeping disturbed your stay. On a weekend , housekeeping starts later at 9am, as we are aware that the majority of people like a lie in on these days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Booked last minute for a business trip, and this was very reasonable. I would have been happy with the usual chain hotel standard, but this was a modern take on that. Looked good on the website, and lived up to this in reality. Lovely location - picturesque square, almost Italian in feel, great eateries and pubs closeby. The room had everything required, stripped down to the essentials, with the essentials delivered with panache - big comfortable bed, adjustable lighting, efficient wiifi, widescreen TV, fabulous wet room. Look forward to seeing more bloc hotels around the country and will look out for them in the future.

Room Tip: I paid a little extra for a room with a window. had a nice view but, for one night, wouldn't have made much of a difference if it didn't have one.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

What a delightful review to read! Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was a fab find for circa £50 for a room on a Saturday evening. Super cool rooms with an awesome bathroom. Great place to stay near to the centre ( a little wall but not too far). Great value for money. We stayed in the hotel and selected the cheaper room without a window, we both said if we were to stay again then we would pay the extra for the window if we were spending the entire evening in the room. On the occasion we were off to see the red hot chilli peppers so we were only in the room to sleep and change, rather than to chill after shopping so it wasn't really a problem. Parking is off site - a bit of a pain but that's the only critism. Although we explained on email that we wanted to check in around 1ish we were left waiting till gone three together with a few other couples as the rooms weren't even ready for the normal check in. No refreshment facilities in the room but there are plenty of places around and about for this too. Would definitely use as a base in Birmingham again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsmissfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Checking in time is from 2pm onwards. We endeavour to make sure that the room is ready from this time. I will be speaking with housekeeping to see why this was not the case on your arrival day as this is not usual practice for the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

then Bloc would be their brand.
I stayed on successive nights last month, to attend early am and late pm events in B'ham, and could find nothing to fault; from the ultra-comfy mattress to the monsoon shower, or from the slick and efficient A/C to the free and fast wi-fi.
Several top-rated restaurants are within strolling distance, as are three CAMRA-rated pubs, and the delightful Grade 11-listed Rose Ville Tavern, refurbed as a bistro with ale and wine.The reception staff are helpful, know the area well, and listen when guests pose questions - not always the case at hotels asking several times the price.
I find it impossible to understand why anyone would choose a chain brand over the Bloc, unless they need oceans of desk space to use their lap-top long into the night, but I suspect the decision is usually made by default setting, rather than knowledge.
It's a pity the Clooney-style coffee machine in reception requires guests to have a degree in nanotechnology, but seemingly it is about to be exchanged for a simpler model.
Would be great to see the Bloc business model - off-site construction of 'pod' rooms, slick room space with a genuine feeling of luxury, and no expensive facilities pushing up the price -replicated elsewhere.
NB: As I discovered, buying direct from the Bloc site always saves you money. The generic hotel sites wanted £50 a night, for a room with window, but I paid just £37.50 - and could have saved a little more had I booked further in advance.

Room Tip: Not a room tip - but make sure you save by asking for the (heavily) discounted overnight parking rate at the nearby NCP.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank IanHalstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

If Carlsberg made hotel guests...........then Ian would be their regular! What an amazing review, thank you so much for taking the time to note your thoughts of our hotel for others to read. I can assure you that you will be seeing Bloc Hotels popping up, up and down the country very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews