We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good port of call in lovely area of Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Booked two rooms for a catch up with a friend. It really is two rooms for the price of one - around £100 for two pod like rooms...
Room small but functional with excellent wet room, tv and mood lighting.
Not sure I'd want to share with a friend mind as you can look over into the bathroom ... You'd want to be on intimate terms me thinks...
That aside, excellent place and location and will stay again when next in Brum.
Hope bloc expands to other destinations around the UK

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deansw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

You will pleased to know that bloc hotels are expanding! Bloc Hotel Gatwick will be a 244 bedroom hotel opening in Summer 2013 and Bloc Hotel Birmingham will be adding 24 long-stay apartments scheduled also to open at the end of the Summer 2013. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (977)
There are newer reviews for Bloc Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

774 - 780 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2012

Use this place on every stay in Birmingham, would not choose any other. Rooms are small, but comfortable, very well designed. Staff service is as always first rate, always a pleasure to deal with them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VoiceOnRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

It's always nice to hear that the hotel continues to meet peoples expectations a year and a half after opening. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Three of us who used to work together decided to meet up in Birmingham. In addition to a lot of time spent "catching up" we would visit the Jewellery Quarter and also do some early Christmas shopping in the city centre stores.On consulting Trip Advisor we chose to stay at the Bloc Hotel - convenient location, reasonable rates and very good reviews.
I have just returned home after two nights at the hotel and it exceeded my expectations in all respects - spotlessly clean, a convenient wet room with its amazing waterfall shower and user friendly controls, luxurious bed and bedding, high speed free internet access, top of the range TV and a choice of quality eating places within easy walking distance of the hotel.
The staff were all so helpful and friendly and committed to ensure we had a very positive experience.
We could have paid so much more for a lot less.

Room Tip: Speak to Reception and let them help you make the right choice
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rainb0w44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Many thanks for your review. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

As I strolled into the building I felt as if I had loaded up a game of Mass Effect; the colors and decoration were appealing and vibrant. The receptionist was very helpful gave us our cards. The room was quite comfortable with excellent climate control, although my companion was very weary of 'dry mouth' caused by continuous and prolonged air conditioning. For sight seeing and casual visitors to Birmingham this room offers everything you need, however for storage space you may as well leave your clothes and items in your travel bags and slide it under the bed (hanger area is very, very minimal.) The shower is practical, although I am not a big fan of showers which saturate the majority of the washroom. There were a few vending machines, and a good convenience store just up the road. Our bed was comfortable and the tv had a very generous selection of channels. It must be said that the picture was also crisp and the audio was of a high level of fidelity. Very clean and of a pleasant odor. I will return again one day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Futuristic Hub............Great description of the hotel, thank you! We look forward to you returning in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is the perfect hotel for young people or those on a tight budget. The room my boyfriend and I had was called a compact double and it was very small, like a pod actually. The bed was clean, changed each day and spare pillows available under the bed, this was a bonus. Don't expect the normal facilities of a hotel, there is no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms because they are too small to for it and don't expect a wardrobe or ironing board, again the rooms are way to small to provide these. So, the hotel really is only ideal if you need a central location to the city and a place to sleep and wash, it's more of a stylish hostel than a 'hotel'. The lighting is unique and we enjoyed laying in bed under a purple light... Very atmospheric. However, the lights could be brighter in the rooms on day dimmer, it was dark outside and in our room.

There are vending machines in the building which sell dry snacks and water. And downstairs in reception there is a coffee machine costing £1.50 per small cup!

£160 for three nights- bargain. You get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Travel lightly- don't bring anything that may need ironing or hanging up. There is no place to h...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fitzy_Witzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Just so you know for next time you stay that the hotel has an ironing room located on the ground floor which is open 24hrs should you need to iron anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have stayed at the Bloc on several occasions during the last few months! The rooms are outstanding and set the perfect cosy atmosphere with superb walk-in shower facilities! The hotel itself is spotless and the staff are fantastic. The receptionist was so helpful with any help we required and the location of the Bloc is perfect and it is easy to access all areas in the centre of Birmingham. The hotel definitely represents value for money and would recommend it without reservation. I have stayed in many city centre hotels but this was by far the best and I look forward to the next time I have the opportunity to stay there!

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon! Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I decided on a few days away and we chose a city break in Birmingham. We did quite a bit of internet research looking for a hotel. We checked out all the usual suspects, but happened on Bloc hotel. We got what we thought was a good price (cheaper than all the other 'name' hotels) at £160 for three nights.
What do you get for your money? Well, the rooms look very modern and trendy with moody purple light and immaculately clean, much better than many hotels I've been in. Its a small room, but no worse than many hotel rooms. Ok, there is no tea and coffee facilities in the room, and only a very small bedside table and stool. There is no 'bright light' that you would be able to work by, but I could quite easily read my magazine by the light that was in the room. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was the best I've used in any hotel I've been in.
I think we were lucky with our room, we had an inside room so when you turned the light out it was pitch black (better than most city centre hotels) we weren't on a main corridor and had few adjoining rooms, so it was very quiet. Having said that my wife and I always take earplugs - you never know if you will get the neighbours from hell ;)
The hotel is well situated, it's a 15min walk into the city centre but there is a great cafe round the corner if you need a good breakfast and many pubs and restaurants just around St Peters square across the road. We managed to get free parking on the road for a day the other couple of days we parked on the ncp around the corner and got a discount card from the hotel that meant a cost of £7 for two days! This alone will bring the cost of your stay down if you are driving, compared to the other city centre hotels.
We chose this hotel based on the reviews on here, I'm so glad we we chose this hotel. Bloc are upfront about the size of rooms etc and I thought the rooms were better than they say!
I've stayed in many hotels around the world both on business and pleasure and I would say that this room is amongst the best I've stayed in. Staff were always friendly and greeted us with a smile.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank str4tc4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Wow! Glad you liked the hotel. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#67 of 118 in Birmingham
1,102 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
307 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
3,921 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing