We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night only”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
southwest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One night only”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Spent one night at the Bloc hotel to visit the German Market and meet up with friends.
We chose the Bloc for its facilities and its position.
The hotel was in a quiet area within 10 min walking distance of the city. The bed was comfortable, the shower good and decent TV.
The vending machine which was situated not far from our room was noisy in the early hours, where people were coming back fro the clubs and using it.
Had a twix for breakfast as there didn't appear to be a cafe very close to the hotel.
The receptionists could have been a bit more friendly, they gave the appearance of being disinterested.
I probably would not stay again. It was an o k experience and that is all.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miniminxSouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you would probably not stay again at the hotel and I'm sorry to hear that others kept you awake whilst using the vending machine near to your room. Unfortunately we cannot control peoples use of the vending machine however we have tried to limit the noise from the machine by putting extra cushioning pads in the vending drawer to limit the noise from dropping items.
In your room you would have had an 'Around the Bloc' leaflet. This explains where the nearest cafes/bars/restaurants are located around the hotel. Pickwicks Cafe is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel where breakfast can be purchased. If your not familiar with the area Reception can point you in the best direction. I will also be speaking with the Reception Manager regarding your comment made about the Receptionists you encountered during your stay as normally we receive good comments about the employees and seems out of character.
May I thank you for bringing these comments to my attention and for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    352
    127
    39
    34
See reviews for
39
412
98
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Another great day stay at the bloc this trip was for the Xmas markets and Xmas shopping Swift check in room.ready at 1.30, dropped off bags and went upto custard factory in digneth fir dome vintage shops then back into centre the markets were obviously busy mainly the one at the town hall which is where we had our mulled wine decided we wernt gunna eat bratwurst as they were a rip off so decided to go for a meal tried our usual wetherspoon briar rose packed no seats and full of Xmas parties same applied with every other bar in that area so headed back yo the hotel and tried the stirlings var n bistro opposite actress n bishopp temples row can recommend the chilli was to die for very reasonable prices, at night we went actress n bishopp and another bar pop st Paul's was a really good night out

Birmingham was mad busy Xmas shoppers Xmas markets but luckily we had a Brill time

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Bloc Hotel Birmingham is situated in the perfect surroundings for anytime of year. Having the Frankfurt Christmas Market just minutes walking distance is a bonus too! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay whilst finding a nice restaurant and bar just on the hotels doorstep. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We booked a room here to stay in the city centre while visiting the German Market, due to its location, price and good reviews. We were also curious to the space saving concept and were not entirely sure what to expect.
We arrived early but our room was ready so checked in - the lady on the reception was very pleasant and helpful.
First impressions of the room were ok - still a little different to the 'norm' but everything was very clean and the fittings were all very high standard.
We had the most comfortable nights sleep we can ever remember having in a hotel - we could have stayed in that bed all day! The shower was also excellent - yes it was a wet room type set up and the rest of the bathroom did get wet but the shower itself was brilliant, with lovely thick towels too.
The lighting in the room was very calming and there was a big flatscreen TV in the wall at the end of the bed. Not much room to put luggage but we were only there for a night and the comfort of the bed and the amazing shower more than makes up for that.
We were very impressed with this hotel - we would not hesitate to come back and would recommend it for a short stay in the city centre.
Friends also booked a room here and were similarly impressed.
I had contacted the hotel via email a couple of times before our arrival and received replies very quickly - another tick for that!
The hotel is in a quieter part of the city but is only a 10-15 mins walk away from the main centre. There are several restaurants and bars in the area if you did not want to walk too far. There is on street parking around the area and also an NCP nearby that you can get a discount card for from the hotel.
We had paid a bit extra for a room with a window as we were not sure what to expect and thought it may be a bit claustrophic but this was not the case and on our next visit we will try one of the inside rooms.
Overall an extremely comfortable stay and we would definitely stay here again. Very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovemarmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much. I will pass on your kind comments to the team at Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is an excellent city centre hotel with everything you need all neatly presented in the perfect sized room. The contemporary design is comfortable and tasteful and I loved the attention to detail - great quality linen and a wide screen TV, the shower was incredible.

Can't recommend enough if you're looking for affordable comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

My train was cancelled and I needed to stay one extra night in Birmingham, thus I needed a last minute and cheap solution. I chose this hotel as it costed next to nothing and was rather close to the city centre. Guys at reception desk were very nice and helpful and location was nice (in the Jewellery quarter and close to Snow Hill railway station), but I didn't feel that safe at night going back alone to the hotel after dinner, as the neighbourhood was dark and desert. My room and bathroom were really small (Japanese style), as I suppose were the other rooms, and I had no window. Food&drink vending machines are located at 1st and 3rd floor and I could not sleep very well due that I had one right next to my room and I could hear people walking and inserting coins in the machine until late at night. A very positive aspect was the wifi connection (free), which worked properly and was very fast both in rooms and in the lobby. Unconventional hotel, avoid if you're claustrophobic.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
I'm pleased to hear that you found the hotel a good affordable option to use as your train was cancelled. With the vending machines, we have put extra cushioning inside the machines to help with the noise that some guests may experience should they be light sleepers. You mentioned you didn't feel safe walking back to the hotel after dinner. As the dark nights are closing in and being a solo female traveller myself I would tend to get a taxi back to where as I was staying if I did not know the area too well and felt unsafe. The Jewellery Quarter is such a lovely part of Birmingham and there are plenty or local restaurants just a short walk away along well lit streets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

What a find!! we were going to Lasan by St Pauls square and wanted somewhere cheep and chearful to stay overnight nearby, and thats where we found the Bloc. It cost next to nothing and was perfect, The rooms are very small compared to most hotels and almost like small pods, quite funky with mood lighting all have onsuite wet rooms. They have everything that you need for an overnight stay. The rooms were imaculate and beds are very comfortable. there isnt breakfast included but that didnt matter as we took a carton of juice and some croissants with us , there is a nespresso machine in the lobby area that anyone can use free of charge.
Would definately recommend this as a cheep and chearful place to stay overnight. The car park is a 2 minute walk and with the ticket they ive you when you leave it only cost £3.50 for 24 hours. definately stay again whenever in Birmingham.

Room Tip: If you get somewhat claustrophobic then make sure you book a room with a window!! Otherwise all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatyStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
What a lovely review, thank you! We find a lot of people who dine at Lasans make a night of it and tend to book rooms at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, as it's just around the corner. There is a small charge to use the Nespresso machine in the hotel of £1.50 for either tea or coffee, however should people bring their own tea and coffee to use within the rooms, hot water from the machine is free. We hope you enjoyed your meal and look forward to you hopefully staying again with us in the not so near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I recently stayed here for one night. First impressions were good. A nice warm welcome. It would be nice if tea and coffee facilities were in the room however these are provided in reception. It would be easy to provide these on the bed side table. The mood lighting is lovely however shows up the dust clearly on the wall which wasn't the best. However I must say all in all I was impressed and would certainly book here again if I needed a quick stay. I think one night would be enough though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeHarrisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and bringing to my attention the dust you saw on the wall whilst sampling the mood lighting out in the room. I will be speaking with the Housekeeping Team to make sure they put their feather dusters to work as this is something that should not be overlooked!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#61 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing