We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed just for one night on a visit to see Mickey Flanagan at the NIA. Very comfy room with the most fantastic rainfall shower in the compact wet room. Very friendly, helpful staff. A 15 min walk to the arena or a fiver in a taxi. Parked in the nearby NCP car park for which the hotel gave a substantial discount! Would definitely recommend for a short city visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank beanie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Great review, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

we stayed sat 9th nov .2 couples in 2 rooms.
receptionist was not very welcoming,quite abrupt and very miserable.
she obvously didnt want to be there.
there had been a mix up and 4 rooms had been reserved .we were 2 couples so only booked 2 rooms.
the receptionist was makng such a big deal about it,my husband had started to make calls to find another hotel.
it seemed a huge problem for her to sort out.
we decided to stay as we were already there and didnt wish to spend our leisure time finding alternative accomodation
not a good first impression for visitors to birmingham,good job we know and love birmingham.
rooms very small and compact ,very clean,comfy bed,nice fluffy towels beautiful bed linen.
rooms very noisy,211 and 210.end of corridor.heard lots of doors banging and a couple having a row.did hear the night receptionist come up and sort it out.
this guy was very plesant and had had a chat with us when we returned from our night out and had coffee.
not hotels fault couple rowing in corridor.but rooms have thin walls .
not sure if we would stay here again after such a poor welcome on arrival.shame really as we stay often.
hotel a little bit out but only short taxi ride into centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fluffy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at BLOC Hotel Birmingham. First of all please rest assured that the receptionist in question has been spoken to regarding her customer service and is currently being retrained. Secondly the receptionist should have explained to you a little more about the time it took to sort your booking. Firstly she would have had to of looked into how you made the booking as if this hadn't have been picked up that you had booked more rooms than you needed at the time of booking, you would not want to be charged for them. Also the details and confirmation would have had to of been checked. I'm sure if this had been explained to you on arrival you may of been a little more understanding however I do appreciate that the customer service you received from the beginning was far from satisfactory which probably did not help the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

POSITIVES

Rooms are modern (very modern I liked that)

Over head 'rain style' shower very nice

All the staff I met were helpful

Ironing room was handy

24 hr access via door control card

Comfortable bed


NEGATIVES

Location - it is quite unfortunate the hotel is situated 'on the fringes of town' (I read a past review and someone mentioned you wouldn't feel particularly safe walking back there after a night out on Broad Street for instance. I'd be inclined to agree with that. A lot of dimmly lit streets with alley ways attached to them. Though tbf there is a private hire taxi office a couple of doors down, store their number in your phone and Bob's your auntie's lodger. Or failing that Birmingham didn't seem to have a short supply of black cabs out at night. But certainly factor all this into the overall cost of your stay)

Price - The hotel is really nice. I don't want to sound like it's not. Because credit where credit's due. I stayed on a Saturday night and paid £53 (booked via internet over 1 month in advance) personally I believe a more acurate price should have been £40. I stay in hotels all over the country about once a month and my suggestion is based on that.

Rooms Advertised as 'Soundproofed' - Personally I doubt that very much. Luckily I didn't have any noisey people staying around me the time I was there. But you could hear every conversation as people passed and hear every door slam shut : / I felt quite self conscious returning to my room early hours of Sunday morning through fear of disturbing others.


OVERALL...

Drive through mid week business stop? = Great

Weekend Party 'destination' Brum? = Meh... Probably stay in one of the countless hotels I walked past on Broad Street on my way home

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It will definitely be a very useful read for those people who are looking to stay in Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The second time we've stayed in recent months. Location is great, nice and quiet in the Jewellery Quarter but there are still restaurants and bars nearby. Park at the nearby NCP carpark and you get a discount from the hotel.
Rooms are more like a cabin in a yacht and fairly small but the layout is well thoughout. Plump for a room with a window for a few quid more.
Finish of the rooms is very nice ultra modern with a tv imbedded in the foot end of the bed/wall, aircon is handy as the windows don't open but keeps things nice and cool. The bathroom is a wet room all in one type of affair with rain shower head and standard removable shower head. the bed is comfortable and large and overall it's a great hotel for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Brilliant review, thank you. Hopefully you will be back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Although the room is clean and has everything you need except for the fact that it has no window, no kettle, no desk, I will not recommend anyone to go considering the price, 60 pounds per night. By the way, location is not great either. You need to walk pass a footbridge to cross the motor way, and then a garden to get there. Definitely don't feel safe at night for girls.

Room Tip: Pay more and you can probably get better facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ninglin0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you would not be returning back to the hotel mainly basing your decision on price and location. The room you chose when staying at BLOC was a room without a window. We also have rooms with windows. You are correct in saying there is no kettle in the room however tea and coffee can be bought from reception if needed. No desk? All of our rooms have a small work desk located at the side of the bed with a BLOC seat that can be used to sit on. It was mentioned that you didn't feel safe at night being a single female traveller. I can honestly say with myself being from Birmingham there are times that I would walk to and from destinations and other times mainly being at night i would choose to take a taxi. If I stayed in unfamiliar surroundings I would chose to travel by taxi at night especially travelling on my own.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

There is no doubt that the Bloc Hotel is good value. It is clean and the bed comfy. The room is small but we knew that - as is the bathroom. The location is great - we ate at a good local Chinese and an Indian and had one evening at the fun Jam House. It is close enough to the centre to walk. The receptionist was welcoming and helpful.
A couple of slight moans - toilet paper is cheap, there was only one shower gel for 2 people and a puddle persisted in the bathroom over night.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GoodisonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Glad you liked the hotel overall and enjoyed your stay. Apologies for there not being enough shower gel in the room. Reception would have kindly given some more on request. If you had a puddle appear in the bathroom overnight this may have been from the monsoon rain shower after it had been used. Water may have collected in the rubber water outlets thus resulting in it dripping onto the floor creating a puddle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

The room is compact and comfortable, bed is comfy and the tv is really cool. The whole place is exceptionally clean!

The shower is really nice, but it does make the whole shower room toilet combo very wet, the walls of the bathroom are entirely see through so you don't get much privacy when going to the toilet etc.

The downside of this hotel is the rooms are so noisy, you can hear everyone around you! Doors banging, people up and down the corridors, and even the people above you and to the side of you... I'm a very light sleeper and after being woken up several times I am unable to get back to sleep, hence writing this review at 3.45 in the morning!

The only other negative is that the vending machines are rather overpriced... Everything in there is £1, and the tea tastes awful, the machine only gave half a cup instead of a whole one, after reporting to staff no refund was offered just said they would look into it!

All in all I would only stay here is your a very heavy sleeper, which is a real shame because the rooms are quite nice!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tazed24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I take observations good or bad, seriously relating to BLOC Hotel and wish to thank you for your comments and taking the time to write your review. I would like to know which room you stayed in as all of the wet rooms have etched glass so if you were to look, you can only see either the head or the feet of the person using the wet room.
During the evening the night team carry out walk rounds of the hotel and monitor the CCTV to try and eliminate any guests who may create any noise whilst walking to their rooms. I apologise for the disturbance you encountered during your stay. You mention that you are a light sleeper, if we were aware we could have allocated you a room at the end of the corridor.
I would also like to know the date of your stay so we can identify the member of staff you spoke to as normally we receive quite good comments about our employees. There are two reasons you may have received half a cup of tea. The first is the water button may have needed to be pressed twice and the second is the machine may have needed to be refilled. Once again, I would like to thank you for your review and constructive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing