We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Basic but chic”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised. The room was compact,very clean,fabulous shower ,but lacked any extras...like hair dryer (you could go down to reception for one, ) or a kettle.
I stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet.Bed was comfortable but for me the pillows were too bouncy and synthetic,so if I stayed again I would take my own.
Reception staff very nice and helpful.
Excellent value for money for being in the heart of Brum.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rileyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Great review thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    361
    133
    39
    36
See reviews for
39
430
101
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean, modern and compact, comfy bed, however lacked the basic... No room service, no phone in the bedroom... It stated on the website that it's a 10 minute walk from the Birmingham New St Station when in fact it's more like 20 minutes. Toilet and shower and sink all together .

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DanaMarie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that it took you 20 minutes to walk from New Street Station. I only wish we could have given you walking instructions to the hotel so we could let you know the shortcuts to take. Here at BLOC we concentrate on giving you the best in hotel design, a good nights sleep, a great shower and very competitive prices. I hope you made use of the 'Around the Bloc Guide' so you received the discounts in the restaurants/bars around the Jewellery Quarter. Reception also keep a selection of takeaway menus for guests to use should they want to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a bit of shopping and us time. Room spacious, modern-basic, very clean, comfy super king bed ideal for our stay. Positioned next to St. Paul's square surrounded by lovely pubs and restaurants, great for couples. If I had 1 thing to add a kettle tea/coffee making facility would perfect this room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clairabelle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Great review! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here one night as it was close to where we wanted to be.
It was a great price, a quiet city centre location with free internet and smart modern rooms with a large bed. Had we been travelling on our own it would have been ideal, unfortunately as a couple there were some disadvantages, namely the bed was built into the wall so one of us had to climb over the other to get to the loo, the shower was built into the toilet so it was soakling wet for the other person, there was no tea making facility and the bed next to the window made for a chilliy side, and the air conditioning was a bit overpowering. On the plus side, the built in TV was excellent. Maybe we were just a bit 'too old' for the place!

Room Tip: The door to the hotel is on the extreme left of the front of the building. It's not obvious! O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
BLOC was designed to bring to the market a new, vibrant and well designed hotel providing an excellent nights sleep, fantastic shower and quality fittings for all ages to enjoy. The disadvantages that you have mentioned have been taken onboard. Should you stay next time your in Birmingham you may want to book an accessible room as with this room you can access the bed from both sides and the room is slightly larger. Once again, thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed on friday 29/11 and i was really surprised with this hotel. I overpaid due to the German market being in town, but all in all it was a decent stay. Others have pointed out the noise and we only heard noise when the cleaners started in the morning. The rooms are very compact, but the fixtures and fittings are luxurious.

The rain shower in the bathroom was excellent also. We had a room with a window, and i think despite it not opening i'd have felt very enclosed without it.

If you want a room for a quick stop over that's close to a few nice bars and restaurants then i'd recommend it. If you are staying longer, then it could become claustrophobic.

Also worth noting that the receptionist was nice and very helpful with information on the surrounding area

Room Tip: First floor 121 was in good shape
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
BLOC Birmingham are very impressed with your review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed yesterday which was a Sunday so the rate of the room was considerably reduced - £41! And I found that this was more than reasonable both me and my partner found that the room was really futuristic but comfortable at the same time. We both expected the room to feel claustrophobic as they are designed like cabins but the layout and use of space made them feel like any normal room. The bed was EXTREMELY comfortable and the room was SPOTLESS. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. The only drawbacks that we found was the following; you have to get a full remote from the reception to be able to use the TV properly, the hairdryers are also in the reception, no kettle in the room and it was quite noisy at night and sound proofing was ineffective as you could here people in the room next door when in the corridor. Other than this we found the hotel to be perfect for us and we are hoping to stay again as it is in a lovely location - the jewelry quarter and is extremely affordable!

Room Tip: Invest in paying extra for a room with a window. The rooms are small so without a window it will fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiahunt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendliness of the employees at BLOC Birmingham, I will pass these on to them. I have taken your comments regarding the 'drawbacks' mentioned and taken them onboard. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Birmingham in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed here a few times now, it's about a 10 minute walk from the city centre. Lovely modern rooms. Does get quite noisy at night, especially if you are staying at weekends. Great value for money and reduced parking at the NCP. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for review. Hopefully you will be back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,086 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,410 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing