We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shower is amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel! Cabin sized room (never been in a cabin so taking a guess) but that is the beauty of the hotel. It doesn't try to sell itself as something that it's not. Absolutely great price for a funky comfortable room with an amazing shower. If you're going to spend all your time out and about then it has all you need. Not for the claustraphobic but I would call it cosy

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mango10_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your great review, hopefully potential guests will find this useful and have a better idea of the great BLOC concept. We hope to see you again soon. Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
There are newer reviews for Bloc Hotel Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it provided everything we expected - and did it very well too! The rooms are compact but if you've read the blurb you will know that, so no surprises there. The room is well-appointed, the bed comfy, and the whole feeling is one of quality. We paid extra for a window, and it was well worth it - we would have felt a bit hemmed in without it.
The location is great in the Jewellery Quarter, a nice part of town and just far enough from the hustle and bustle. Yes it is 15 minutes' walk from the city centre, but there are some fabulous restaurants and bars close by, and at some you will get a discount as a Bloc guest.
The only minus is having to go down to reception for a cup of tea in the morning, but we did know that before booking.
In summary, a great place to stay for a couple of nights - we will be back.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a window - definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Birmingham is having a fancy new coffee machine early 2014, to continue to improve our hotel. Glad you enjoyed our exclusive discounts at the array of bars and restaurants right on our doorstep! We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for one night after a night out in Birmingham. The hotel is modern and spotlessly clean, but I'm convinced there are prisoners with bigger sleeping quarters. Yes, it's modern and just somewhere to get your head down, but at £85 for one night, a little pricey. Friends who have stayed there have paid about £45 which is a fair price and I would happily have paid that much, but at just shy of £100, I felt a little robbed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weasel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of hotel. I will pass these onto the housekeeping department. I'm sorry that you felt 'robbed' by paying £85. The hotel price you pay is affected by the hotel occupancy levels and is competitive for that time against other hotels within Birmingham City Centre. Our rates start from as little as £36 and can go up to £95.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just got from a 1 night stay at the Bloc hotel in Birmingham. Room was very compact (but that's what we expected) clean and modern (plus we went for one with a window!) Hotel is a little out of town about 15 minutes walk or so but there are plenty of pubs and things near by, and you were far enough away out of the bustle for it to be peaceful. Staff on reception were very nice and helpful and overall would deffo go back there again! x

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harrybo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear that the hotel was better than you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed for one night and was pleasantly surprised. The room was compact,very clean,fabulous shower ,but lacked any extras...like hair dryer (you could go down to reception for one, ) or a kettle.
I stayed on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet.Bed was comfortable but for me the pillows were too bouncy and synthetic,so if I stayed again I would take my own.
Reception staff very nice and helpful.
Excellent value for money for being in the heart of Brum.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rileyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Great review thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Very clean, modern and compact, comfy bed, however lacked the basic... No room service, no phone in the bedroom... It stated on the website that it's a 10 minute walk from the Birmingham New St Station when in fact it's more like 20 minutes. Toilet and shower and sink all together .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank DanaMarie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that it took you 20 minutes to walk from New Street Station. I only wish we could have given you walking instructions to the hotel so we could let you know the shortcuts to take. Here at BLOC we concentrate on giving you the best in hotel design, a good nights sleep, a great shower and very competitive prices. I hope you made use of the 'Around the Bloc Guide' so you received the discounts in the restaurants/bars around the Jewellery Quarter. Reception also keep a selection of takeaway menus for guests to use should they want to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight for a bit of shopping and us time. Room spacious, modern-basic, very clean, comfy super king bed ideal for our stay. Positioned next to St. Paul's square surrounded by lovely pubs and restaurants, great for couples. If I had 1 thing to add a kettle tea/coffee making facility would perfect this room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clairabelle1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Great review! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 118 in Birmingham
1,104 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
316 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#19 of 118 in Birmingham
3,930 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £38 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing