We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, stylish and modern room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel, stylish and modern room”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Bloc is a stylish boutique hotel. Their room prices are reasonable. Staff very friendly and helpful. I stayed In BLOC for a night as it was close to the Indian consulate in Birmingham. I felt comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AKannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your kind comments especially the ones regarding the staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    358
    132
    39
    35
See reviews for
39
424
101
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I've been here twice now and it's well worth the visit! I was made to feel welcome from the moment I walked in through the front door!
The room is as expected for the price. There is no real storage/hanging space but as I only stayed there for 2 nights this wasn't a problem!
Now for the best bit...the shower/wet room! Absolutely amazing! I didn't want to get out!
Give this place a go as I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised! I know I can't wait to visit again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank wemi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
What a great review! Our Monsoon Drench showers are still amazing our guests & becoming the most talked about feature in our rooms (Don’t worry BLOC Gatwick’s showers will be just as good if not even better!) We can’t wait to welcome you back and thank you for taking the time to write this review it’s greatly appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

The Bloc describes itself as a boutique budget hotel, but don't let that fool you into expecting the usual 'cheap-and-cheerful' standards and decor. Everything within the Bloc's carefully designed interior speaks of quality and comfort: from the sumptuous Egyptian cotton sheeted king-sized bed nestled within its own leather-padded and sound-proofed 'sleep-zone' to the careful mood lighting and the monsoon drench shower and wet-room.

True, the rooms themselves are very compact (which might prove a problem if travelling with excessive amounts of luggage) but if you travel light, their comfort and style makes them a very pleasant alternative to the usual budget hotel alternative.

An ideal

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for your review and description of BLOC Birmingham. It's great that people can read reviews like this that give a true representation of the hotel. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel after a Christmas party and it provided everything we needed. The bed was comfortable and the shower was great. Rooms are compact but clear so ideal if you only need somewhere to sleep. Make sure you only share a room with someone you know really well - the bathroom door is pretty much just a glass screen so privacy is limited! Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back again! BLOC was designed for people in need of a short stay in the city, needing a competitive price without compromising on quality and it’s great to hear our guests really understand the concept. Thank you for taking the time to write this review it’s greatly appreciated by all at BLOC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The second time we've stayed in recent months. We will be back again :) Location is great, nice and quiet in the Jewellery Quarter but there are still restaurants and bars nearby. Park at the nearby NCP carpark and you get a discount from the hotel.
Rooms are more like a cabin in a yacht and fairly small but the layout is well thoughout. Worth every penny! I'd happily pay more!
Finish of the rooms is very nice ultra modern with a tv imbedded in the foot end of the bed/wall, aircon is handy as the windows don't open but keeps things nice and cool. The bathroom is a wet room all in one type of affair with rain shower head and standard removable shower head. the bed is comfortable and large and overall it's a great hotel for a couple of nights. Simply the best!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaronTonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
World’s Greatest Review!
Thank you for taking the time to write this review for others to see what BLOC can offer to Birmingham’s visitors. It is always great to hear that BLOC is still providing a great service and a great stay for our guests. You’ve left us with nothing more to say other than …… come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Brilliant stay (2 nights). Fantastic place to enjoy the heart of Birmingham. The rooms are compact, but have everything you need. Very stylish and big on quality. Fantastic shower and wet room, super-soft towels. comfy bed. Discount parking in the nearby NCP.

The cleaning of the rooms is superb, second to none, and the staff are really friendly and helpful.

Make sure you order a room with a window - could feel a bit Prison Break-ish otherwise,

Will definitely be my hotel of choice in Birmingham from now on.

Room Tip: Order a room with a window. Bring your own tea bags and coffee - otherwise it's a pound per cup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Couldn’t have put it better ourselves (other than prison break-ish!). Thank you for a great review and lets hope you a BLOC 2014 Patron! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel! Cabin sized room (never been in a cabin so taking a guess) but that is the beauty of the hotel. It doesn't try to sell itself as something that it's not. Absolutely great price for a funky comfortable room with an amazing shower. If you're going to spend all your time out and about then it has all you need. Not for the claustraphobic but I would call it cosy

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mango10_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for your great review, hopefully potential guests will find this useful and have a better idea of the great BLOC concept. We hope to see you again soon. Merry Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing