We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night to visit the Christmas market.

We were able to choose the best time for us to check in; the room was small but had everything we needed. The bed was comfy and huge!

Walking distance in to town and a short walk to Brindley Place. Great location.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Emmyloudubz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We have a lot of people stay at BLOC Birmingham when the Frankfurt Christmas Market is on. Like you have mentioned in your review BLOC Birmingham is in a great location when visiting Birmingham. It doesn't take long to walk to anywhere! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Bloc hotel for a 2 night city break 14th - 16th Feb and i must say, I will be staying here again!
Great smart room! Great location! Friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere :-)
Although the only thing we were slightly disappointed about was that there were no Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonlou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Brilliant review, thank you. If you think our rooms are smart at Birmingham you should see the rooms at BLOC Gatwick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Me and my partner stayed Friday and Saturday over the valentines weekend, it was such a fantastic stay.. The hotel was spotless and our room was very cosey! I didn't want to get out of bed!! I can't fault this hotel at all, the lady on reception was very helpful. The only downside is that they don't have a restaurant so we had to leave the hotel for breakfast - They only do a continential breakfast Mon-Fri also there wasn't a kettle in the rooms there was only tea and coffee making facilities in the reception which was £1. But this didn't effect our stay!! We still had a lovely time in a modern, welcoming and cosey!! We are planning to visit again - Hopefully Bloc will be opening in other cities so we can visit more places! This hotel is a must stay and I advise people to stay especially couples. Some rooms have windows others don't, you have to pay more for a room with a window - My room didn't have one but this wasn't a problem, also rooms aren't big there very compact!!
If you're looking for a big room in a hotel with loads of facilites do not stay..
I RATE THIS HOTEL 9.5/10. THANK YOU BLOC BIRMINGHAM XXXX

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank victoria f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for your review. Keep your eyes peeled as you will see BLOC opening up in more cities soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here back in December..... Snug, cozy, compact and minimal.
Only negative was the distance from the city centre more like a 20 minute walk rafter than the 10 minute it stated on its website....
And the toilet and shower in one.... Other than that it's a lovey contemporary hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DanaMarie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that it took you longer to walk from the city centre to the hotel than stated. Next time please speak to us and we would only be happy to give you directions so it takes less time to walk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our stay was brilliant from start to finish. Great location, use of NCP car park just 2 mins walk away £5 for 24 hours with hotel discount. The girl on reception literally couldn't do enough for us. The rooms so so clean, stylish, comfy and an amazing shower! Can not recommend enough.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andypro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Amazing review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel is brilliant, stayed here for one night on a saturday in Feb it cost 67 pounds and for the location it's brilliant! The room was spotless, and also nice and cosy with a brilliant rain style shower! Had a really good night sleep as the beds are massive, no street noise as it's on a quiet road! Staff are friendly and polite, 100% would stay here over any bigger hotel firm, for the price and the location (map included in the room which is easy to understand) this hotel is perfect, 10/10 on all angles.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kasper2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Perfect review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I visited the hotel for 2 evenings over a weekend. I was able to check in late as I was a fairly late arrival and the staff member on reception will still polite and smiling regardless of the hour. Any request of information I made she answered with full knowledge of the area and parking facilities. I needed help on one of the evenings to print a sheet of work for my course and the same girl printed it out for me, nothing was too much trouble. I needed a taxi and they booked one for me and got it to arrive within 2 minutes which I thought was fab! Clearly they have a contract with the firm and it's definitely a good match in service. The rooms were fine for what I needed them for, the bed was very squishy, large and very comfortable. The shower/wet room was amazing! Normally you go to a hotel and the shower can be hit or miss but not this one. The TV was positioned nicely at the bed and there were a range of channels to choose from. Only down sides were no tea facilities in the room and noisy neighbours. You can hear those in the next room and it didn't help people were using the rooms for a fun night out, so cue being woke up at daft o'clock but I didn't think this was enough to warrant marking the hotel down based on other guests behaviour. The service received massively outweighed this. The location was also perfect and tucked away nicely from the hustle & bustle of the city centre but still within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LGoodall17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review and your kind compliments on the service you received during your stay. Your comments will be passed on to the staff at the hotel.
I can only apologise on behalf of your noisey neighbours that you encounted as not everyone behaves as they should when they stay in a hotel and unfortunately it can have a negative impact on a guests stay. However what we do try and encourage is that should anyone receive any disturbances during there stay, if they make reception aware, these noisey neighbours can be spoken to.
Once again thank you for your kind comments and hopefully one day in the future you may return to Birmingham and indeed choose BLOC Hotel as your chosen accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
1,146 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#42 of 118 in Birmingham
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing