We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the NIA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Headed up to Birmingham on Sunday for a gig at the National Indoor Arena and was very happy with choosing to book a room at the Bloc! Very pleasant stay - all staff encountered were polite, helpful and welcoming; room was clean and comfortable; and the walk to and from the NIA was very quick and simple. Will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

I hope you enjoyed what you saw at the NIA! Thank you for kind words regarding BLOC hotel and it's employees. I will pass on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

659 - 665 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for the first time last night and will certainly use again. Very friendly staff, and a double room on a Thursday night was £65 without breakfast. Free wifi and the room (opted for with out window as slightly cheaper) was decorated very funky with new wet room all very clean. The room is small, but perfectly adequate for a place to rest a weary head, and a pleasant place to be with flat screen tv and comfy bed. Parking at the NCP just around the corner also discounted to £5.50 for 24 hrs if you ask at reception.

There is no restaurant as such, but there is a handy welcome pack in the rooms with suggestions for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jollymuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your review. Reviews like this are great for other readers to view and make their choice on hotels to stay. Hopefully you will use BLOC again if you re-visit Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here a few times now and will always book here when visiting offices in Birmingham. Perfect for the short visit and business traveler and offers excellent value for money. This hotel is my first port of call when visiting Birmingham on business. :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked quickly for an event I was working at. My room was fairly well equipped apart from no drink making facilities; which I normally like in my hotel stays. The room was cozy and despite no windows relaxing enough for the one night stay.
Lovely surroundings outside the actual hotel and really close to the city itself- a gentle stroll and your there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Bloc, and were pleased with the modern and quirky bedroom. The staff were a little prickly, but this could have been because we arrived at about 10pm, and they had probably been working for a long shift. Could have been a bit dark but lovely big window. The only big downside was the walls were not soundproof as advertised. In fact, we heard a lot more noise than we have in any other hotel. This was not a particular problem for us, but I can imagine if you had rowdy neighbours or trouble sleeping this would be a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

good points
*central location
*friendly staff
*free soap and shower gel
*nice lighting and comfy beds
*C L E A N :)

bad points
*no kettle or hot drink facilities in room (there is in reception but you have yo pay !!!)
*states 'sound proof quiet rooms' this is certainly not true!



*******************
overall did the job..would i stay again..? YES :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_c186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed there for an overnight stay last night (Sunday 2nd March) , Did get a bit lost trying too find the hotel but that was my fault. Once I got too the Jewlery Quarter It was pretty easy from there on in. After getting soaked to the skin on way there, when I got too reception to check in I was a bit fed up.. But Charlotte on reception made me feel welcome and relaxed. Got too my room and found it clean, and very nice. Loved the features in the room, even the window that wasn't a window! (I had too have a peek too see what was behind the blind) Bed was very comfy as well. As I had got soaked, I didn't really feel like going out too find somewhere to have dinner or get food from, but reception had take-away menus and so I got a take away delivered straight too my room which was much needed and rather amazing. Woke up today feeling refreshed, to be honest I didn't hear much noise overnight as others have commented on. The wet room/shower was a highlight this morning, as was the breakfast in a bag, Great idea! Reception were on the nose again this morning as I wanted too get to the NEC and so they showed me where the train went from. All in all what could have been a disaster on my part turned into a great stay in a very nice and individual hotel! I would stay there again, and will tell all my friends about it,

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

What a lovely review, thank you so much! I will pass on your comments to the BLOC Team. Hopefully you'll be back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,129 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,279 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
424 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £37 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing