We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Nearby Hotels
US$125
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$75
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$44
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
US$127
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$109
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
424
388
153
47
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
424
388
153
47
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomjewellery quarterno windowrooms are smallcity centrevending machinewindowless roomst paul's squaremonsoon showernearby ncpjam housestorage spacecomfy bedair conshort staygreat showerbedside table
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
670 - 675 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

BLOC is a great find. The rooms are well designed, Its like a capsule hotel in some ways - no frills or breakfast, but very well designed and comfortable. The bed takes up most of the room, but there is a good screen, great free Wifi and you can ask for hair drier etc if you need one. The Shower room has a lovely monsoon shower. Its good value and in the really lovely jewellery quarter. Serioulsy good cafe for breakfast nearby in St Paul's Square - I think is is called Saints.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbicanLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel is easy to find and about a 15/20 minutes walk from new st station. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. We were allowed to check in early which was really sweet, our room was very clean and very modern. The bed was so comfortable, we had a lovely nights sleep. Extras such as towels, hair dryers etc can be collected from reception. The wifi is free and very fast which was great for us! The rooms are small but perfect for a few nights to stay. The shower was very powerful and easy to use however everything in the bathroom became soaking wet when we used it... Including the toilet roll... And the water didn't drain very well so everything stayed wet but the entire bathroom is a wet room. There is no telephone is the room either which is annoying if you keep needing things, also there are no tea and coffee facilities in your room... Again only downstairs... I didn't really fancy going downstairs in the morning and sitting in the lobby getting a cup of tea. But overall a good place to stay, those were just points of mine that may not be a problem for others who stay :)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebuddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

A great review for others to read. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Enjoy my 3 night stay, very much liked the modern design concept - I just missed a thing to wipe floor after showering - great kind and helpfull reception. Great neighborhood, just round the corner I found the most amazing Indian high cusine restaurant.

Room Tip: I do prefer a room with window
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZMB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I will pass on your kind comments on to BLOC Birmingham. Lasans Indian Restaurant is amazing! There are so many lovely restaurants to try within the area. It's an excuse for you to come back and try them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Was in Birmingham for Flatpack Film Festival. We loved staying in Bloc - small and perfectly formed.

The bed was comfy, the wi-fi was quick and we loved the powerful shower.

Is a great place to explore the Jewellery Quarter too. Would definitely stay there again. In fact, every city should have a Bloc!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank thisisjukebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Great review, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It is good to try it,, i loved my cabin,, the receptionist (girl) is very friendly,, the internet is fast ,, but i dont know why there is not phone in room!! But i really enjoyed and hope back one day

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhiyab_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
The reason as to why BLOC does not have any phones in the room is because in this modern day we assume most people to have mobile phones. Should an internal call be needed to contact the hotel reception then there are internal phones by the lift on each floor where reception can be contacted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews