We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, but great value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The shower was superb (I spent half an hour in there), and the lightening system of the room was modern and cozy. The room itself is minimal style. Walking distance from the city centre (10mins). The only bad thing is the 5 extra quid for a "superior room", just because it's got a window.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nirvana8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry to hear that you thought it was a bad thing to pay £5 for a room with a window and that was all you got for the superior room. This is the difference between the 2 room types at BLOC Birmingham. The Superior room benefits from a window and should you request, a city view too. The Standard room is a room without a window.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Small room but clean and modern and comfy bed. Shower wet room. Good value for money and perfect for a night and in a really good the location . Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrstwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I will pass these on to the staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent idea for your stay..
Clean and crisp reception and comfortable relaxing area.. Drinks machine and vending area..
The rooms are brilliantly laid out with no space wasted. Very comfortable if you are not staying in the hotel but just need a place to sleep, shower and do your catch up work..
I was on a photo shoot so only needed the room for overnight stay and after getting back from job at 02:00hrs, finishing editing by 04:30hrs, then hit the pillow..
Just what was wanted!
Will I stay again..... Most Definitely....

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ncrobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

It's lovely to hear that BLOC Birmingham was just what you needed for your overnight night stay. I hope you'll be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very pleased with my stay.Smart small room super shower,perfect for night out in brum.Staff are very good and friendly, had a great nights sleep bed comfortable. Got 10% discount at Henry's Restaurant by showing room key .Will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Great review, thank you. It's nice to hear that you made use of the discounts we have arranged in the nearby restaurants and bars. We look forward to welcoming you back to Birmingham in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As the topic says this is the future of hotel industry and Bloc is one of the pioneers. Can't believe how excellent value for money I got out of this stay. In last few years I have stayed in couple of hotels but this is probably the best night sleep I ever had! Excellent space saving modern decor with modern bathroom and mood lighting - Perfect for overnight business stay! However if you are thinking about a relaxing or romantic holiday where you are going to spend most of your time in the hotel then this may not be an ideal choice.

Had all necessary amenities with more on offer on request. I stayed in an easy jet hotel before, and nearly choked myself to death because of lack of ventilation in the room, but these rooms were well ventilated with fully functioning AC.

Highly recommend it and I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: choose a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. It helps to show us as a hotel brand that we heading in the right direction in terms of the customers needs when they are staying away from home.
If you travel on business a lot please don't forget that we have opened a new hotel at Gatwicks South Terminal. If you think the rooms are nice here, wait until you see the rooms and technology used there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Bed was so comfy, only problem was the glass doors/wall for the bathroom not at that stage in the relationship to share everything aha, otherwise fantastic room very smart and modern (loved the lighting) would definitely come again! Room was very clean and good location a 5 minute taxi away from new street train station

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank JasonPhillips92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Birmingham soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Impossible to find fault with this place in my opinion. If you want somewhere that is comfortable and clean and good value then choose this. The rooms are not huge but the beds are really comfortable, there is air conditioning and the bathrooms are clean and modern. Had an excellent sleep here. There is no restaurant so you need to find a nearby wetherspoons for breakfast. Free WIFI in rooms and it works well. Parking is plentiful and free after 4pm but before that during the week you would have to pay.

If I need a hotel in birmingham ill be back here without hesitation. It fulfills its function very well indeed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We look forward to your 3rd arrival!
Please note though the metered parking on Caroline Street is only free after 6pm until 8am in the morning and free all day Sundays. I wouldn't want you getting a parking ticket. Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#38 of 118 in Birmingham
1,236 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
349 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing