We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just got back from Bloc Hotel and really enjoy our time there, well priced hotel and quirky enough to be a little exciting. Bed and shower where perfect, in fact I was having showers just to enjoy the shower and not because I needed one. Bit of a shame there isn't any tea making facilities but only a small problem really. Have already booked next stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reema5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. The showers and beds are great aren't they? Many people tend to comment on there not being tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Believe it or not when we carried out research on what people wanted out of a hotel and the bedrooms, tea and coffee was the least mentioned. That's why we provide a top of the range Nestle machine for hot drinks in the lobby instead of an offering in the bedrooms. We don't consider ourselves to be experts regarding the tea and coffee offering. There are some great coffee shops just a 2 minute walk from the hotel where BLOC guests can also receive a discount. In saying this, hopefully we have got the hotel bedrooms right so guests receive a great nights sleep and a fantastic shower in the morning.
We look forward to your return stay and thank you for your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    358
    132
    39
    35
See reviews for
39
424
101
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was in Birmigham for a night out with friends and wanted something relatively cheap and cheerful near the Jewellery Quarter. Having read some reviews about the hotel decided to give it a try. Very impressed. The staff are very welcoming and reception very clean. The rooms are very compact but fine for a single person for a couple of nights. The bathrooms are clean and well equipped. If you are looking large and luxurious this is not for you. But if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head after a good night out then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. I hope you enjoyed your evening out. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and housekeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was in town for a wrestling show at the NIA so I decided to make a big weekend of it. Very welcoming staff and helpful because I couldn't access my email account to print off my confirmation, found my booking no problem. The room was a very good size for a single person. Though luggage space can be a factor. Came complete with a shower and towels supplied! 24 hour reception so I was able to get in after the show, which was fantastic! (Only a 10 minute walk away to the NIA as well, so very helpful if you're coming down for a show) Great night's sleep as well. Nice big TV at the foot of the bed too! Recommend very highly!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I trust you enjoyed the wrestling show at the NIA as you did the hotel.
BLOC Birmingham is the ideal location if people are attending a show at the NIA. As you very rightly mentioned, it is only a 10 minute walk away from the hotel or should you get a taxi, approximately £5.
Once again thank you for your review. Its is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The evening began with a lovely host Mischa greeting us.. She was very pleasant and helpful.
Nice environment and the service was just great
Enjoyed the stay the rooms were clean parking was well accommodating and all in it was very good value for money

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wi5per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your kind comments to Mischa and compliments of the hotel to the BLOC team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Yes the rooms are smaller than most hotel rooms....but as the name suggests this is the beauty of this hotel. Not an inch of wasted space, it's the perfect size for a solo traveller. Anyone with a lot of luggage and/or couples will struggle for space (although there is room under the bed). The bathroom rain shower is amazing and a definite highlight, I could have stayed there for hours. Be mindful it is a wet room bathroom so anything in the bathroom will get wet. Not a great space if you like your privacy, so if travelling with a friend get two rooms!

Beds are uber comfortable, extra pillows under the bed and the lighting creates the mood.

I've stayed in both the superior with window and the normal. Spend the extra, the finishes are definitely better in the superior room.

A well designed, quality hotel for the budget conscious. City centre is walking distance. Try Urban Coffee and Saint Cafe for good coffee. And check out Jam House for good quality tunes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Great review, thank you. It's nice that you have experienced both the room with a window and a room without the window. What a lovely review for others to read when making up their mind where to stay in Birmingham. We look forward to welcoming you back to BLOC Birmingham in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What an absolutely gorgeous hotel! We had a perfect stay! We were a little dubious because of no windows, size etc but got there and were pleasantly surprised! The bed was huge...perfect for the Mr who is very tall and was unbelievably comfortable. The bathroom is extremely smart best hotel bathroom I have seen by far!
Really happy with this hotel, we will be coming again soon.
Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Perfect review, thank you! Such a lovely read to help others make up their mind on the choice of hotel to stay in. We welcome your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The rooms in this hotel are really small! It was ok for a place to sleep and shower, and was certainly clean and tidy, but it did feel a bit cramped for 2 of us. If you wanted to go to the loo in the night, you had to climb over your partner! It does say on the blurb that the rooms are designed to use the minimum of space, but we were a bit surprised by how small that actually was! We felt the room rate was a bit expensive really, since you had to pay for tea and coffee, and there was no in room facilities for making drinks. We would stay again if we were just stopping over, because it was clean and safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBTWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you felt the room was a little small for you both. We do not try to hide the fact that the rooms are 10sqm in size and that the rooms were designed using minimal space. When the hotel was in the 'idea' stage of creating it was asked to people what they wanted when staying away in a hotel. The answers given were, a good nights sleep, a comfy bed, a great shower in the morning and a good free WIFI connection. Tea and coffee was not mentioned. This is what we concentrated on and its proving to be a great success.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and hopefully you will be back, now knowing what to expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#64 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing