We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are looking for a big room, with plenty of hanging space and a window then the Bloc is not for you. The rooms are small but adequate for a one night stop over, Staff are excellent and very helpful.

This is a very good BUDGET hotel in an excellent position.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I will pass on your kind comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    358
    132
    39
    35
See reviews for
39
424
101
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ludgershall
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent stay in the Bloc, good location, well priced and value car parking. Booked three rooms for birthday weekend and highlight for one of the guests was being able to watch the world cup while taking a shower!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. By the sounds of it you enjoyed your Birthday weekend. We do try and make peoples stay one to remember and by the sounds of it your friend will definitely be able to remember BLOC Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Block Hotel for two days. The rooms may be small but they have all that one needs and they are very comfortable! The staff is really friendly and helpfull, and the location is great! I would recommend this hotel to everyone! Do not go to this hotel if you want a big room or closet space it is another travel style :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your kind review. What a lovely review for others to read. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the employees at BLOC Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here in March with my boyfriend after a concert, found the hotel to be very close to the NIA (walking distance although we did end up getting a taxi because it was cold!).
Staff were very friendly upon arrival especially the blonde lady behind reception (forgot her name sorry!)
Rooms were amazing - loved the different coloured lighting! Perfect sized; small but spacious! Ended up oversleeping due to not realising it was morning as there was no window but it was kind of nice not having light.
Read reviews that the beds were tiny however they were kingsize and very spacious, loved the huge telly on the wall opposite too!

Best part of the room was definitely the shower! Huge showerhead on the ceiling, always wanted to try one of these and now I want one at home, so nice and warm to stand under as it was freezing outside!
Only downside was there was no natural lighting anywhere so made it slightly difficult to do makeup but that wasn't too much of a problem.

Overall loved this hotel, cute little design and will definitely be staying again if on a night out in Birmingham!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I hope you enjoyed your concert at the NIA. BLOC Birmingham as you say is very near to the NIA as you can walk there or like you did take a short taxi ride. BLOC is a design led hotel so it's nice to hear that you thought the design was amazing.
I will pass on your comments to Kate who was the receptionist you encountered during your stay. Once again thank you for your review and hopefully you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just got back from Bloc Hotel and really enjoy our time there, well priced hotel and quirky enough to be a little exciting. Bed and shower where perfect, in fact I was having showers just to enjoy the shower and not because I needed one. Bit of a shame there isn't any tea making facilities but only a small problem really. Have already booked next stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reema5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Operations Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. The showers and beds are great aren't they? Many people tend to comment on there not being tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Believe it or not when we carried out research on what people wanted out of a hotel and the bedrooms, tea and coffee was the least mentioned. That's why we provide a top of the range Nestle machine for hot drinks in the lobby instead of an offering in the bedrooms. We don't consider ourselves to be experts regarding the tea and coffee offering. There are some great coffee shops just a 2 minute walk from the hotel where BLOC guests can also receive a discount. In saying this, hopefully we have got the hotel bedrooms right so guests receive a great nights sleep and a fantastic shower in the morning.
We look forward to your return stay and thank you for your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was in Birmigham for a night out with friends and wanted something relatively cheap and cheerful near the Jewellery Quarter. Having read some reviews about the hotel decided to give it a try. Very impressed. The staff are very welcoming and reception very clean. The rooms are very compact but fine for a single person for a couple of nights. The bathrooms are clean and well equipped. If you are looking large and luxurious this is not for you. But if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head after a good night out then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. I hope you enjoyed your evening out. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff and housekeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was in town for a wrestling show at the NIA so I decided to make a big weekend of it. Very welcoming staff and helpful because I couldn't access my email account to print off my confirmation, found my booking no problem. The room was a very good size for a single person. Though luggage space can be a factor. Came complete with a shower and towels supplied! 24 hour reception so I was able to get in after the show, which was fantastic! (Only a 10 minute walk away to the NIA as well, so very helpful if you're coming down for a show) Great night's sleep as well. Nice big TV at the foot of the bed too! Recommend very highly!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S, Ops Development Manager at Bloc Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I trust you enjoyed the wrestling show at the NIA as you did the hotel.
BLOC Birmingham is the ideal location if people are attending a show at the NIA. As you very rightly mentioned, it is only a 10 minute walk away from the hotel or should you get a taxi, approximately £5.
Once again thank you for your review. Its is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#65 of 117 in Birmingham
1,069 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloc Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc Hotel Birmingham

Property: Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Address: 77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloc Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloc hotel is located in Birminghams Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 32inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bloc Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing