We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget plus hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Ranked #47 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great budget plus hotel”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed for a Saturday night after football visit to city centre, and en-route to NEC/Airport. What a fantastic hotel. Spotless clean, great comfort - beds, showers, and facilities, really stylish design, a perfect value for money rate, great staff and overall ace. The place to stay in Birmingham if you want the Airport/city centre or NEC.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 396IanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. We cannot overstate how nice it is for our staff to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and that they will be staying with us again in the future. The fact that our hotel is conveniently located between the NEC/Birmingham Airport and the City Centre on the main A45 is very handy for a lot of our guests, including yourself. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you should you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    185
    55
    13
    12
See reviews for
103
116
14
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

The room and hotel facilities are exactly as expected from the chain.
Slight niggle on supply of towels on day 2 but this was quickly remedied.
The food needs some looking at - breakfast was poor - find the baked bean in the sauce!! - and a pretty average buffet selection.
On the first night having just arrived the decision to eat from the bar menu was a mistake, the second night we popped a few doors down to the Balti King for an excellent good value curry.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel. Our complimentary breakfast offering is a continental breakfast with selected hot items, of which we currently have three. I would like to offer my apologies that our offering did not meet your expectations as your comments are valuable to help us improve the guest experience . I hope that if you visit the area in the future we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I managed to get a late booking here and am happy to have stayed here.

The room was neutral and everything was well placed.

A big plus point was that there was very little dust aroud the skirts and the sides.

shame they didnt have sky sports.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Reception Manger at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Thank you for leaving us positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Our housekeepers always strive to clean the rooms to a very high standard and we're glad that you noticed it. Whilst we are unable to offer Sky Sports in the rooms, we do have Sky Sports HD available downstairs in The Great Room.. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Holiday inn is always great night sleep, but this one was best i would say overall in Birmingham, good price, best clean newly build, friendly staff, great security, good restaurant just on walking distance. their breakfast was fresh. quit rooms, no disturbance

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your positive review! I'm glad to hear that you're a fan of our brand and that we were able to live up to your expectations. It's also nice to hear that you were not disturbed by road noise during your stay. Our Express Start breakfast is complimentary for all guests and includes three hot items as well as a continental selection and I'm happy to here that you - along with many other guests - found this a great addition to your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I stayed in the hotel, we opted for this hotel as it was a good deal and was close to were we wanted to be the following morning.

Hotel was easy to find, car park built into the hotel (wont get wet if its raining).
The hotel has been open for over a year and still smells like new, the room was excellent with more than enough supplies.

All staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel; we greatly appreciated your positive comments! Our housekeeping department will be glad to hear that they've been doing a great job of maintaing our "new factor". We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on Saturday. Check in was very easy and receptionists were very polite. Rooms were spotless and well presented. The downside for us was the road noise, after a while you did get used to it but it was always there. I did know it was a roadside hotel when booking so cannot complain. The breakfast was included in the deal and was very good. 3 choices of hot food and warm rolls and cheese and jams, toast and cereals and muffins. Lots of teas and fruit juices. Would stay again if visiting the NEC area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScubamommaDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Reception Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you for leaving such a postive review of our hotel. I'm glad to hear that my team checked you in efficiently, enabling you to get to your room to relax! Unfortunately, road noise can be a problem at times, but our thick curtains and double-glazing usually do their best to keep this to a minimum! We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast! We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit the NEC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed @ holiday Inn Express Saturday 27 October 2012 for just one night -- we were there to meet with distant family from Australia who my brother in law had found on the 'family tree ' sites -- The price was right as we had booked a couple of months ago -- £70-00 per night for the 2 of us with breakfast ( On the night - one room left @ £129-00-) Until reading these reviews i wasn't aware that it was a recently new build -- Everything that we saw was still as new - the rooms were done out really well . the check in was A1 and the staff were cheerful and helpful -- We had already eaten, and expected to go out later for a snack - However we stayed all evening (until the early hours) in the bar, after re-arranginging their furniture and tables . The only drawback , if U didn't expect it was the bar prices-- very much over the top, Some people had their own drinks and even took in tAKEAWAY's and no objections raised by staff at all -- Special mention to the staff on duty that evening - Matt , Dean & Hannah ( Hannah was still on reception when we checked out ) at one time Matt managed to be a bartender , receptionist and after a quick change did a quick security check on the car park ( MATT definitely deserves a pay rise )-- a tip on the car park -The upper storey isn't that high up and the spaces are much roomier - all car parkng appears safe .-- Breakfast was all that could be asked for a 'Continental Breakfast' and a small selection of warm food - Beans, mashed egg + sausages ( Toaster a bit slow but they are everywhere ? ) Overall a very nice place to stay.- if u get it at the right price.

Room Tip: we were above the A/C system and had a growling all night - brother stayed 2 doors away and heard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william_smith214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel Y, Reception Meeting at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thank you so much for completing a review on tripadvisor , I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our guest care and it is great to receive such excellent feedback. Hannah,Dean and Matthew will be very proud to be recognised by yourself as fantastic employees,completely dedicated to their roles and ensuring that all guests have a fabulous stay and we are glad that we added fabulous memories for the right reason during your family reunion weekend .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing