We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too Cheap?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Ranked #30 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Too Cheap?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Staff very good, friendly and helpful which is always a welcome sign.

Rooms are excellent, modern and well maintained with only one gripe. Every time you leave your room and come back the air conditioning unit kicks in at 22c which is a little warm. It's triggered by the removal and then replacing of your key card in the power slot. If they could adjust the pre set temp it kicks in on it would save the room getting too warm. I know it's easy enough to turn it down but most times it's only after the room has warmed up beyond comfortable that you realise it's happened again.

The bar is perfectly pleasant but the 'restaurant' is nothing more than a bunch of tables in the bar area. Menu looked very limited (chilli/curry/burger) and although not expensive it wasn't tempting enough to eat in.

Breakfast is free. This is not as good as it sounds. Limited hot choice of beans, scrambled egg and sausage all under lamps. Cereal and fruit with yoghurt and pastries were also available but the coffee comes out of a machine. This obviously allows for only one member of staff which keeps the cost down and therefore the free breakfast but it all feels a little bit on the cheap side. To be honest charge £10 more for a room and let me have a wider choice of hot breakfast, fresh coffee and someone to bring it to me.

Only other issue is again the free wifi. It's so slow that even some emails wouldn't download. Give me the option to pay £5 for 24 hours access to high speed and I'll pay it!

Despite the above issues this is still a 4 star rating because these are just points that would improve the hotel. Nothing about it is bad, in fact it's all very pleasant and as I say the staff are great. I'll be back again if I'm working in this area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for your comments on our helpful and friendly team. Sorry to see that our free breakfast didnt meet your expectations but as a Holiday Inn Express we can only offer the express start breakfast which consists of sausage, scramble egg, beans plus the continental option. The card slot in bedrooms only controls the electric not the air con this is on a timer but can be adjusted by reception if asked at any time.We have taken all your comments on board and when returning to Birmingham we look forward to seeing you again and if you any further points or issues please dont hestitate to ask for myself to help resolve them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    181
    53
    12
    10
See reviews for
99
111
14
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayern
Level Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

I write many ratings, stay in 2-5* Hotels. But this Hotel is worth to get a 5*-Rating. It's "only" a 3*-Hotel, but some 4/5* Hotels sometimes don't have this cleanliness esp. in the bath room and shower. Of course Hotel is new, but if you see the black shiny tiles in the shower without any spot or slobbery, difficult to clean and compliments to room service.
Room rate of 59GBP is to less for what you get: Double room incl. Breakfast+free WiFi+free Parking!
Bottom Line: can give 90% recommendation

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review with such positive comments, especially on our bathrooms which the house keeping team pride themselves in keeping to a very high standard of cleanliness. We look forward to seeing you again if returning to Birmingham in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Ideal for NEC not in Town but a few miles away, rooms clean and tidy staff 10/10 parking underneath and easy to locate after long drive.Breakfast included and very good. Bar comfy secure system to get in lift and rooms .

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RalphCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments about the hotel, location and staff and hope that this will make you choose us for your stay next time you are visiting Birmingham in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I stayed as part of a group of 10 for Horse Of the Year Show.

The room was clean, modern and the linen of good quality. Lovely spacious power shower and immaculate bathroom.

The hotel were very flexible and allowed us breakfast at 6.30am on Tuesday morning as we had a trade stand to set up in the NEC. The young man who was on reception/cleared our plates was an absolute delight and got all of us smiling before our long day.

Unfortunately, as more of our team arrived during the week bookings had been lost in-between the hotel and the booking agent; even though our colleagues had the paper work to prove the reservations!

My only problem with the room itself was on Friday morning 4.30am when the ceiling by the window started pouring with water due to the rain outside. Which resulted in us using our bath towels to stop the rain from damaging the room whilst we waited for Reception to turn up and inspect.

The breakfast was a delicious buffet service with lots of choice. My only recommendation would be to get higher quality sausages, as the ones that were provided were far too greasy, tasteless and revolting.

All the staff except one were happy, smiley and polite which makes a huge difference to compared to other hotel chains. However, Roman could learn a few tips from your other wonderful staff and crack a smile at least once!

A really positive thing about this hotel is the fact you're allowed to order food in from takeaways and eat in the lobby/dining room. This made a huge difference to us after working 15hr days. So thank you :)

Overall a pleasant stay excluding the problems we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel, our housekeeping team strive to keep the bedrooms/bathrooms to the high standard we have here. We are currently changing food suppliers so this will no doubt improve the quality of our sausages. Sorry that one of our team members did not meet the rest of the team’s usual friendly attributes, this i will address personally. In regards to the confusion of your bookings i hope this did not disrupt your stay with us too much and that you will come and visit us again when returning to Birmingham. The leak coming through your window due to the rain at 4.30am has never happened before and will also be addressed and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The area the hotel is in is somewhat rough with two strip clubs and several all night off-licences right nearby, however the car park is secure and the hotel front is well lit and welcoming so unless you plan a late night walk it's not really too much of a problem.

The Hotel i can't really fault, I've stayed there 5 times now as it's close to a client and the rooms are furnished to a high standard and the staff are both friendly and efficient which is perfect for business or pleasure. The only time I could fault anything was on my fourth stay when i found an empty condom box under the bed which the cleaner should have noticed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samrad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your positive and constructive comments, however noticing that you are a frequent visitor to our hotel we are most disappointed that you never raised your comments internally regarding the housekeeping issue as this would of been addressed immediately as our staff here pride themselves on their friendliness and efficiency. Currently the area is going through a generation plan starting with the high profile car showroom being built next door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed for one night with our granddaughter to attend A Place in the Sun exhibition at the NEC so it was only 10 minutes or so away which was convenient although not the best of locations.The hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable and the service was good. £5 parking fee for secure parking was a bonus.The security in the hotel was excellent. The beds were comfortable and bathroom facilities good with plenty of hot water and a hair drier in the room. Breakfast buffet was varied and the atmosphere very relaxed. We had an evening meal at the hotel for convenience and it was quite good but we did have to wait almost an hour from ordering for it to arrive. If we were to go to Birmingham again and needed a stopover we would most certainly use this hotel again and would recommend it for short stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollinhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positve review our housekeeping team pride themselves on keeping our bathrooms to a high standard so I will be certain to pass your comments on to the team. However I am sorry to hear you had to wait an hour for your evening meal and will look into this.Hope to see you again next time you are visiting birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Happy to stay at the hotel, has to be one of the better specs of holiday inn express hotels. better quality bathrooms than the standard holiday inn express, beer good, breakfast as normal not wonderful but plenty of it and hot. good experience unlike my recent stay at their liverpool airport hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingerdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.
I will personally pass on your positive comments to all our team, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing