We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spot on!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Ranked #28 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

What a pleasure it was to stay in this hotel.
The rooms are fabulous and spotlessly clean. As for the beds, I've never slept in one as big or as comfortable. The shower rooms are amazing. Fantastic tv with no shortage of channels including Sky etc. All this, plus free wi-fi throughout
The buffet breakfast is free and more than adequate, offering something for everyone.
The restaurant and bar served great food and drink at very reasonable prices.
The staff were all very helpful and extremely courtious.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates genuinely good hospitality at down to earth prices.
A definite winner which is "spot on".

Room Tip: Before booking one of the 5 star rated hotels within a 5 mile radius, do youself a favour and consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for the 5* review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel and the service we provide and you received from our team i will be sure to pass on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    181
    52
    11
    9
See reviews for
95
109
14
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed 1st of feb 2014 good location for many attractions,could not fault this hotel friendly staff and spotlesly clean every thing shone,car park adjoining hotel (costs £5 per night join the rewards club then costs £3 ) If you forget something tooth brush etc they supply them free of charge from reception,Breakfast included in the price it states continental but there is a choice of three hot dishes available( scrambled egg,bangers,beans) on the day we stayed,plus pastries cereal,toast,fruit,juice,tea and coffee,there is a balti two doors away and you can bring a takeaway back and either eat it in the restaraunt or take it to your room they will supply cuterlery and plates will definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 103 which faced onto the A45 main Coventry road but did not get disturbed by traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nelly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, We aim to please all our guests and its great to see you enjoyed your stay. Our free breakfast is hit with our guests and as an Express we do allow takeaways in our hotel which is also popular choice for guests. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

1. It was clean
2. There is a great Balti house next door
3. A great nights sleep was had
4 the staff were really good, in so many of these hotels the staff look as if they are prisoners.....here they were really positive and friendly

....oh and did I say, it was clean

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank awoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, DeputyManager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for a positive review i will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team and i am glad our customer friendly training is shining throughout the Hotel. We hope you return to our hotel next time you visit Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingskettle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Had a meeting at Edgbaston and needed somewhere close and found this. This place is quite nice actually! Modern, clean and pleasant staff.
Car park is a bit tight but otherwise a nice place
Would use again if needed

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Quarky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputymanager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feed back and hopefully next time you have to visit Birmingham through work you will choose us for your stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in January as we were going to the Autosport Performance Show at the NEC the next day, and we're from near Liverpool. The hotel was stunning - gorgeous sized room, large television, really comfortable bed with a choice of pillows. The bathroom was the highlight of the stay - that shower was INCREDIBLE, could have stayed in there for hours. Still looks brand new. The staff were lovely and in fact quite funny to be around! Nice quiet night, no noise interruptions from outside or other hotel stayers. Would seriously recommend this to anyone :)

Breakfast the next morning free and included? Was the cherry on top, lovely selection of hot and cold foods, as well as plenty of fruit.

Hoping to return to Autosport next January - will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputymanager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, all comments good or bad go a long away in maintaining the quality of service and improving it. I am glad you enjoyed our showers they seem to be a big hit with a lot of our guests. I am especially pleased to read you will be choosing us to stay next time you visit Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my adult son for just one night on a visit to the Autosport International Exhibition at NEC
This is truly a gem of an hotel...Very friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to be helpful and seem genuinely proud of the hotel...High quality, spotlessly clean well decorated room with a huge shower in the good sized bathroom.
Excellent nights sleep in a very comfortable bed and a good Express Breakfast with plenty of choice on the menu
Car parking in the secure camera monitored car park is a modest but well worth extra cost
This is certainly a gem amongst Holiday Inn Express hotels and one to which I hope to return on my next visit to Birmingham

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputymanager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, its always a pleasure to receive great feedback from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive one. We look forward to seeing you in the future when you next visit Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights this weekend and once again it was absolutely perfect. The location is great! Still looks brand new. The rooms are spotless and have nice modern decor and facilites. The showers are amazing! Absolute bargain of a price considering you get a gorgeous room, free breakfast (which has a large selection of hot and cold food, free wifi (speed is excellent), flatscreen TV and free tea/coffee, free soap/shower gel and the rooms also have a hairdryer & plenty of towels unlike some hotels. Check in & out was just as smooth as last time. The thing that made our stay the most enjoyable though, was the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff - especially Sam, the deputy manager! A MASSIVE thank you Sam, if you read this - she's a credit to the company & deserves a pay rise ;) She really went out of her way to welcome & interact with us and our children (who LOVED her lol). Our oldest was asking "Can we go down and see Sam now" first thing this morning. We will certainly be returning and encourage everyone else to give this place a try if you're looking to stay in the area. THANKS AGAIN!! :D

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputymanager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review its always nice to see returning guests come back to stay with us.and it was such a pleasure entertaining girls they were adorable. We look forward to seeing you in the future when you next visit Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#30 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#34 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Property: Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing