We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel good same about the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45
Ranked #63 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2014

we booked at reception on the afternoon of our stay for one night my father was in heartlands hospital. a delay in him going to theatre meant he would be kept in over night, the hotel room was fabulous and spotlessly clean. we intended to have a relaxing breakfast. but several staff stood behind us discussing among other things poor working conditions regards breaks . when they could see we were not impressed they moved by reception area , when the receptionist joined in the conversation, there conversation was loud. At 9.30am we became aware of why they all congregate in reception it was because they are allowed to eat from the breakfast buffet. I asked receptionist if she thought it appropriate for staff stand talking , she seemed surprised and asked if we meant her we did remind her part of the conversation that she joined in about insoles in shoes during long working hours. she did then say sorry, and said all she could do was apologise. on this occasion the staff let the hotel down badly

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank children123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and opportunities to improve. Whilst i am pleased with the good comments, i truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving. i am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service , we maintain the standard of keepingguest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests needs and expectations are met in the future.
Thank you again for your review and i hope you will choose our Hotel next time you visit Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed for weekend with 4 member of the family in two family rooms , checking on arrival wasn't smooth at all, I was tired, arrived late and have to be out again immediately, but the receptionist told me I need to pay daily rate as i have just arrived even though i booked it few days before for a lot less price. He was polite and nice but had no way of finding out what price i booked for even though i had the conformation with the right price on my iphone, that took a bit of time and still had to wait for manager to sort it out next day, that was the only problem. I want to just check in quick and go about without having to discover the booking system is not connected to whoever agency they use for their booking. about 45 mins lost there.
other than that, staff are friendly, polite, hotel was clean, sofa bed can be improved, it wasn't very comfortable.
Good continental breakfast, quite breakfast eating area. You have free newspapers to read too.
Will I stay there Yes.

Room Tip: make sure you have your booking printed with you or conform price on the phone before you get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Brixtonrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all feed back good or bad as this helps our team improve on the service we offer, However I am sorry to read your check in was not as smooth as it should of been. We hope to see you next time you visit Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

What a pleasure it was to stay in this hotel.
The rooms are fabulous and spotlessly clean. As for the beds, I've never slept in one as big or as comfortable. The shower rooms are amazing. Fantastic tv with no shortage of channels including Sky etc. All this, plus free wi-fi throughout
The buffet breakfast is free and more than adequate, offering something for everyone.
The restaurant and bar served great food and drink at very reasonable prices.
The staff were all very helpful and extremely courtious.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates genuinely good hospitality at down to earth prices.
A definite winner which is "spot on".

Room Tip: Before booking one of the 5 star rated hotels within a 5 mile radius, do youself a favour and consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for the 5* review of your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel and the service we provide and you received from our team i will be sure to pass on your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed 1st of feb 2014 good location for many attractions,could not fault this hotel friendly staff and spotlesly clean every thing shone,car park adjoining hotel (costs £5 per night join the rewards club then costs £3 ) If you forget something tooth brush etc they supply them free of charge from reception,Breakfast included in the price it states continental but there is a choice of three hot dishes available( scrambled egg,bangers,beans) on the day we stayed,plus pastries cereal,toast,fruit,juice,tea and coffee,there is a balti two doors away and you can bring a takeaway back and either eat it in the restaraunt or take it to your room they will supply cuterlery and plates will definately use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 103 which faced onto the A45 main Coventry road but did not get disturbed by traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputy Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, We aim to please all our guests and its great to see you enjoyed your stay. Our free breakfast is hit with our guests and as an Express we do allow takeaways in our hotel which is also popular choice for guests. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

1. It was clean
2. There is a great Balti house next door
3. A great nights sleep was had
4 the staff were really good, in so many of these hotels the staff look as if they are prisoners.....here they were really positive and friendly

....oh and did I say, it was clean

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank awoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, DeputyManager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for a positive review i will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team and i am glad our customer friendly training is shining throughout the Hotel. We hope you return to our hotel next time you visit Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Had a meeting at Edgbaston and needed somewhere close and found this. This place is quite nice actually! Modern, clean and pleasant staff.
Car park is a bit tight but otherwise a nice place
Would use again if needed

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Quarky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputymanager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for your positive feed back and hopefully next time you have to visit Birmingham through work you will choose us for your stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here for one night in January as we were going to the Autosport Performance Show at the NEC the next day, and we're from near Liverpool. The hotel was stunning - gorgeous sized room, large television, really comfortable bed with a choice of pillows. The bathroom was the highlight of the stay - that shower was INCREDIBLE, could have stayed in there for hours. Still looks brand new. The staff were lovely and in fact quite funny to be around! Nice quiet night, no noise interruptions from outside or other hotel stayers. Would seriously recommend this to anyone :)

Breakfast the next morning free and included? Was the cherry on top, lovely selection of hot and cold foods, as well as plenty of fruit.

Hoping to return to Autosport next January - will be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha J, Deputymanager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, all comments good or bad go a long away in maintaining the quality of service and improving it. I am glad you enjoyed our showers they seem to be a big hit with a lot of our guests. I am especially pleased to read you will be choosing us to stay next time you visit Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,015 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45

Address: 1270 Coventry Road, Birmingham B25 8BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#12 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham South A45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham-South a45 Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing