We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pub”
Review of The Shakespeare

The Shakespeare
Ranked #235 of 2,275 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$9 - US$16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Description: You will find The Shakespeare in Lower Temple Street Birmingham within a short stroll of New Street Railway Station, Alexandra Theatre and Bull ring Shopping Centre - however you won't find another like it.Step in to discover a traditional pub of unique character, revered for its eclectic range of real ales and its quality pub food, which are served, as they should be, with a generous measure of famous British hospitality.The Shakespeare is one of many rare gems in the Nicholson's collection of great British pubs, reputed for their distinctive buildings, intriguing history and vibrant atmosphere.
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Called in for a pint and food. Nice place but food portions could have been bigger. Lovely pint of Stella Black which I have never tried or seen before. Would call again.

Thank Gows918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Please do! We unfortunately don't stock Stella Black anymore but we do have lots of lovely local beers in now :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for The Shakespeare
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

If I ever have time to kill between trains at Birmingham New Street, I head for this friendly, comfortable pub just a few steps away from the station entrance. It's also very handy for the main shopping area, and a great place to meet people. In the last year I've met friends here for morning coffee or lunch, had a business lunch meeting with a colleague, and a pre-theatre meal with friends. On every occasion the service has been swift and professional, and it has usually been friendly. I particularly like to sit by the window, an excellent spot for people-watching. The food is good and there is plenty of choice with changing menus and seasonal ingredients. It's a lovely old traditional pub where I feel perfectly comfortable whether alone or with a female friend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for this lovely review! We love hearing (or in this case seeing) those great buzz words of friendly, comfortable, swift and professional :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Its a nice city centre pub that a lot of people would walk past but well worth a visit. We went in twice, once just for a drink and once for food. No complaints, be prepared though that they might not have a dish you want, they had to check a list of about 5 things to see if they had what we wanted.

Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Hi James, we're sorry you found some of the food items you wanted were out of stock. We do have a new kitchen manager since then and we are much better with this now if you would like to re-visit us. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I have been coming here for years and though it's been up n down its always been at the least a good place to drink and at most a fantastic place to drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks, Joshua. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

recommended to us by friends so thought we would give it a try. we booked in advance and the food and service was excellent. Tasty food at fair prices in a lovely atmosphere will definitely return.

Thank Izi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Shakespeare, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thanks for the review, Izi. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shakespeare also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to The Shakespeare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing