We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”
Review of Annexe

Annexe
Ranked #156 of 2,220 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$22 - US$103
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Oozing laidback bohemian charm, Annexe Restaurant crafts refined continental cuisine. An exciting, innovative new Mediterranean menu from a chef of Michelin pedigree brings flavours from around Europe - predominantly France, Italy and Spain. All this in a vintage atmosphere full of family style warmth and soul.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wow. What an experience. Relaxed atmosphere, fantastic service by the maître d who recommended two faultless dishes. Never felt rushed or under pressure to order or to work our way through our courses. Food was amazing. If I lived nearer to Birmingham I'd be here every week.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksg1678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    268
    90
    40
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“not like last time”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

our first visit (see previous review) was excellent so i returned today with family. on arrival the male server was pleasant and seated us straight away. the was a possible booking problem though as another group came in pointing at our table and after that we were pretty rushed - even trying to clear plates we were eating off. the other group were seated on our table within three minutes of us leaving.
the food didnt seem as good as our last visit. soup was good but the pate didnt seem homemade. the chicken main course was half a breast and dry and the mash was neither smooth nor crushed.
the main disappointment was the female server who was plain rude and soured our experience. i did wait for the male server so i could mention it but once we'd payed we never saw anyone again so left.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank greekbeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annexe_Restaurant, Manager at Annexe, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Madam,
Thanks for visiting Annexe. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience here as we would have liked.
Regarding the table, we have not had any tables booked out twice at all and, having discussed this with all staff, we are certain that there was no prior plan to re-use your table. It is possible that customers walked in and pointed at the table since they wanted it, but we did not pressure to re-use a table - this is absolutely against our principles; we do not book to turn tables. I am not sure how you are aware of the table being re-used within three minutes of you leaving, but this is normal if the table is available and we have customers wanting to sit at it.
I am sorry your plates were cleared while you were still eating - I am very surprised at this and have spoken to all staff, especially new members, regarding this - it is not acceptable.
I am also sorry you did not enjoy your food - we did not receive any complaints about the food at all yesterday, but I have spoken with the kitchen to ensure that any problems with yesterday's lunch menu will not be repeated. We do always prefer to know during the service if something is wrong so we can try to put it right for you at the time.
In particular, I am disappointed that you found your waitress rude - this is the first time we have ever received such a comment about a staff member and clearly it needs to be investigated further. If you could please email us with more details about exactly how she behaved I should be most grateful - info@annexe.co.
I look forward to hearing from you and hope that we might see you again to remind you what your first experience here was all about!
Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great show night”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Really enjoyed the Parisian show night in March.The live music was amazing. Loved the way all the guests made an effort and dressed up. Food was really good as always. Side note: PLEASE spend a bit of money on the gents toilets. The restaurant looks great but the bathroom really lets it down.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wow, you would not guess that from the outside”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

you enter from a small door into what appears to be a small bistro, then you walk through, and well, its just like the tardis, much much bigger on the inside, the room a the back is cavernous.

The food was first rate, could not fault it all, service, apart from the delay with my cheese course spot on.

Oh and if the conversation starts to flag, you can watch the old silent black and white movies that are playing.....

Will we go back, yes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and I ate here after watching Fulham beat Aston Villa! The service was very friendly if a bit haphazard from one of the charming waitresses (who was new) and the food was excellent.
Although there were a few service mistakes this did not in any way ruin the evening and the owner who was there made up for the deficiencies with 2 free drinks which was very nice.
Highly recommended and if we are in Brum again we will eat here once more.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annexe also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Annexe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing