We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down”
Review of The Gables Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A let down”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I wasn't expecting much for the price but I found the 18th birthday party on a friday night a bit too much when I'd been working and was up early for another busy day...wasn't even warned!! Room was quite nice, simple so make sure you take shampoo, hair dryer etc. The people were lovely,one member of staff specifically who seemed to be doing everything! Breakfast was great, although I didn't get the chance to taste the cooked breakfast. Had a meal one night in restaurant, which was delicious! although the dirty plates were still there when i went down for breakfast. Overall- I wouldn't stay again! sorry.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    5
    7
    14
See reviews for
2
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We arrived on a Sunday eve before an early flight next day. We are OAPs and had had a long journey. We were greeted with grunts and indifference, our money removed from us before seeing the room. Room 1 was approached past several bags of dirty laundry in the corridor. It had a kettle but no cups, tea etc. a flat screen TV was on in the room when we arrived and we turned it off with difficulty. The room seemed to be a dumping ground for random old furniture. The "en suite!" was minute, not very clean, a broken tap on the sink, no shelving, minimal towels and mouldy grouting everywhere. Wires hanging out of walls, only one feeble working cental light, bed like a board with springs poking through, pillows like biscuits. Filthy radiator planted in middle of floor and whole place stank of smoke.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madmax33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I stayed there some time ago, as its convenient to mosely centre. The room was filthy, visible dust on the bedside table, dirty bed linen, flithy.
The most shocking thing was that presumably the previous occupant had left diarorreah in the toilet....and it was still there! Disgusting.
I was glad to leave the next morning. The breakfast was meagre, I'm vegetarian and was given the smallest amount of beans on toast I've ever seen and nothing more.
I've stayed in some great places in my time, hostels, B&B's, hotels, campsites etc....but dont go to this place...it was like a scene out of Rising Damp!

Room Tip: Avoid unless desparate or drunk or both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank public-citizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Arrived to find a full blown wedding reception in full swing, could have been made clear over the phone when making the booking. The room was small, no real problems with that, but it was really dirty, the sheets were stained, the walls had stains all over them, the ketttle had hair inside. Basically when you start finding things, you delve a little deeper, and i found the room to be manky. Light fittings were damaged, the TV was broke. I had booked in for 2 nights. i had arrived late, so had no choice to stay the night, but i checked out in the morning, (after the manager tried to convince me i was in the wrong).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bt3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We booked online through a travel site & paid 1600 for executive room. Huge spacious room. Only concern normally is that rooms are not well maintained.... Toilet walls, room curtains are not good enough (they r bad at times)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank vinehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We satayed at nandhini just for a night, I felt like they(hotel mgmt) have seperate rooms for those who book online through some agency. Room was clean and well maintained, for the amount I paid it was a good deal. Attached restuarant provides good food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank VIkramSPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed for 2 nights during Moseley Folk Festival and the location was excellent. The hotel itself though is very tired and shabby. I cannot fault the staff or service, everyone was very pleasant and the full English breakfasts were cooked to order. The bedroom was small amd the decor very dated, but the bedding was clean and fresh as were the towels, although the ensuite shower room was very small and needed more than a bit of TLC

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new_WestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
The Beeches
#84 of 117 in Birmingham
174 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#9 of 117 in Birmingham
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Westley Hotel
#72 of 117 in Birmingham
314 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
The Lodge Hotel
#11 of 52 in Birmingham
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 43 Oxford Road, Birmingham B13 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Moseley and Kings Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing