We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tatty but friendly”
Review of The Gables Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tatty but friendly”
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We spent one night at the Gables. The room was very tatty and not particularly clean - this hotel definitely needs a makeover! However, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    5
    7
    14
See reviews for
2
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We are from Wisconsin. My daughter is going to University in Birmingham and lives just down the street from the Gables. The staff were friendly and accomodating. Yes, its older. Yes, its not in perfect shape. The beds were clean and comfortable and changed every day as were the towels. The room was cleaned well. It was reasonably priced and perfectly located for us. The breakfast was great. If you engage the staff in conversation and don't treat them like twits they will be very nice to you! They have a good sense of humor (you need to understand British humor...which it seems some of the previous reviewers did not). We couldn't have asked for nicer treatment. They were happy to answer questions and schedule a cab to the airport for us the day before our trip ended. They do lock up around 11:30 and had no complaints when we stayed late at my daughters and had to ring (and wake the staff up) to be let in. Its not the Hilton...its small and run by a small team. I will book again on my next trip there.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Age of property...but it is England...everything is old!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fonegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2007

We decided to book a hotel for a nite out in bham., Starting off in the mosely area, we thought it would only make sense to get one in this area, so we booked The Gables Hotel. We are young people and aint too fussed bout hotels, BUT this hotel really had a BAD thing going on. The rooms were falling apart. The walls had hole in them which had been boarded up with cheap wood.

When we arrived for breakfast we were standing for a long time waited to be seated. The waiters could see we were waiting but didnt bother to say anything like " Ill be with you in a second" . We had to apporach them to be seated. Finally we sat down Now then watch out for the old man whos going bald! The one my mate named "the happy chap" . Eveyrthing you asked this man seemed like it was too much hassel. He came over and served us orange juice. Then once we had finsihed it we asked for some more and as he poured it into my glass he said " youve already had one havnt you" and walked off,. - which i thought was a weird comment to make but left it., Later on our friend joined us and so we called over the man again and asked him if we could have some more orange. He then proceeded to say to my friend " how many glasses have you had?" My mate looked at him shocked, and i said " his had 1" , he then turned to me and said, no youve had 2" I said im talking about me im talking about my friend, and he walked off. This man was VERy rude. I have never known a Hotel or BNB limit people to 1 glass of orange juice, and moan if you ask for some more,. . .

This man needs to take a break i think as he has really bad people skills, and seems incapable of smiling or actually doing his job right..

As i said before we are young and aint picky, but with this hotel...id stay away! Never doing this hotel again

oh and funny enough there werent any "comments" sheets anywhere - i wonder why!

  • Liked — NOTHING
  • Disliked — Have you got a spare 50 million years for me to tell you?
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JayjayCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

swansea
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2007

The hospitality found at this hotel is second to none the staff & management are always pleased to help and the food is wonderfull no one could ask for better
As a couple we have stayed at the gables on several times and it only gets better

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
Thank rodway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights in May and were more than happy with the service we received.
The first impression was that of a warm, friendly environment with staff who were extremely efficient and professional. The food was excellent, we ate in the restaurant both evenings despite visiting friends living in the area. We found the rooms to be more than adequate and were surprised by the obvious cleanliness of both the bedrooms and the communal areas.

It is difficult to understand why anyone would not consider this great value accomodation.

In all, the stay was a very positive experience and one which we will repeat.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank abc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2006

We stayed at the hotel in July for a family wedding and were more than happy with the quality and service we received. The breakfast was well cooked and the staff were friendly and efficient. I am surprised at the other reviews I have found about the hotel on this site but it seems a shame if people only review hotels when they are disgruntled so as a happy visitor I would recommend it as a sensibly priced friendly hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly Staff
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mutley05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 January 2006

One word here - awful.

  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 117 in Birmingham
75 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
447 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Westley Hotel
#73 of 117 in Birmingham
313 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 43 Oxford Road, Birmingham B13 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Moseley and Kings Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing