We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gables Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Gables Hotel
Ranked #104 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Arrived to find a full blown wedding reception in full swing, could have been made clear over the phone when making the booking. The room was small, no real problems with that, but it was really dirty, the sheets were stained, the walls had stains all over them, the ketttle had hair inside. Basically when you start finding things, you delve a little deeper, and i found the room to be manky. Light fittings were damaged, the TV was broke. I had booked in for 2 nights. i had arrived late, so had no choice to stay the night, but i checked out in the morning, (after the manager tried to convince me i was in the wrong).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bt3599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    5
    7
    14
See reviews for
2
12
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2010

We booked online through a travel site & paid 1600 for executive room. Huge spacious room. Only concern normally is that rooms are not well maintained.... Toilet walls, room curtains are not good enough (they r bad at times)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank vinehand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We satayed at nandhini just for a night, I felt like they(hotel mgmt) have seperate rooms for those who book online through some agency. Room was clean and well maintained, for the amount I paid it was a good deal. Attached restuarant provides good food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank VIkramSPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Mids
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed for 2 nights during Moseley Folk Festival and the location was excellent. The hotel itself though is very tired and shabby. I cannot fault the staff or service, everyone was very pleasant and the full English breakfasts were cooked to order. The bedroom was small amd the decor very dated, but the bedding was clean and fresh as were the towels, although the ensuite shower room was very small and needed more than a bit of TLC

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank new_WestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I stayed on 30th July for one night. Dinghy, small room, poorly furnished, cost £44. Staff O K, breakfast good, got home to Cardiff to discover I had 21 bed bug bites on my back. No response from the manager regarding my letter of complaint.
Would not recommend under any circumstances, EVER.

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodsterCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

This has got to be the GROTTIEST, DOWNMARKET DUMP I have ever entered in my life!!! The rooms are dingy, smelly, old & the bedding had holes in!! We showed "The Manager", who did give us one room free out of the three, mainly because we told him we wouldnt be having breakfast, because we just couldnt bring ourselves to eat there. Its a Horrible place that should be £5.00 per night, rather than the extortionate £58 they have the cheeck to ask for before you have even got up the stairs to see the disgusting bedrooms.
MY ADVICE IS STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOVEL

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamarkLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

When you first walk in you do notice the smell of stale fags (like one of the reviews has stated) and the old brown carpets.

The manager was a grumpy bugger! Never smiled or greated us, just grunted.

The other staff we talked to were very helpful and friendly though, very nice people other than the manager!

Our room was horribly stuffy and constantly warm despite opening the windows and having no heating on! The shower was weak and tiny in a ugly greenish colour. We spent as little time as we could in the room because of the heat. Breakfast was free but cheap and the milk was off, the decorations in the dining room consisted of skulls and horror models.

Moseley is such a lovely little place with such friendly people and good resteraunts, its just a shame there isnt a decent hotel or bnb within a walk!

The Gables definately needs a good re decoration! And a new manager!

I wouldnt recommend unless you really really really need to stay in Moseley!

  • Liked — Nothing, just the location not the hotel
  • Disliked — The constant heat of the room and the discuting decoration
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sam19998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
The Beeches
#89 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
The Lodge Hotel
#10 of 54 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Property: The Gables Hotel
Address: 43 Oxford Road, Birmingham B13 9ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Moseley and Kings Heath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing