We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hope to be back!”
Review of Elmdon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elmdon Lodge
Ranked #1 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hope to be back!”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

If only every hotel was as good as this one, then I would not be so upset about working away from home. Been using this hotel for over 4 years, how do they maintain such high standards? If I wasn't such an idiot, putting these comments onto an email and not this review site, then the world would know how good this place is. The friendliness, the food, the whole atmosphere of the place is just so right. I would love to be more objective and write a balance view of this establishment but I seriously can not think of a negative thing to say about this place. Oh, wait a minute, I think it rained on the second day of my stay. there you are a balanced view.

Room Tip: Go for room 18 for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUSS88_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
28
39
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This is the way all B&Bs should be run. We only stayed one night but the owners really made us feel at home, The en-suite room was very clean and well equipped and the breakfast was excellent. There was lots of space for parking around the back for added security. Elmdon Road was very quiet and we had a good night's sleep. All in all we couldn't have asked for better and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Elmdon Lodge if you're visiting Birmingham. Why pay a fortune to stay in an anonymous chain hotel when you can feel at home in a place like this?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheReluctantTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I had a lovely time. Room was quiet and well equipped. Gorgeous house! Very Clean. Gated garage for security. Delicious breakfast! Best value! Katherine, Terry, and their little dog are the nicest ever. Will definitely go back! Best BNB in England I have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHHampshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I stayed at the Elmdon Lodge with my daughter and granddaughter for 2 nights. We were staying in Birmingham from Reading for my fathers funeral. Katherine made us feel so welcome and even though it was such a sad time, her hospitality was second to none. We all felt we were staying with family. My granddaughter is only 2 and Linda couldn't do enough for her at breakfast time....nothing was too much trouble. Katherine you will always have a place in my heart...I cannot thank you enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tersi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Plata, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I felt fantastic since the reception, the attention in very warm and the place is very comfortable, the breakfast is amazing and very rich.
I was entered as a visitor, I lefted as a friend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielardito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My six day stay at Elmdon was one of the highlights of my ten week holiday. Katherine and company provided me with the kindness and comfort one usually only finds at home and instructed their very well mannered cat to guard my door! Clean and comfortable surroundings and good food gave me a real sense of security and wellbeing.

Room Tip: My guess is that they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whymeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2011

"Wow!"..From our arrival at Elmdon Lodge,a beautiful Edwardian house we felt completeley at home.It was a pleasure to be in the company of the welcoming owners K atherine and Terry,who made our stay especially memorable.Our family of four stayed at Elmdon Lodge on Easter Sunday,in a warm,spacious,clean and comfortable room,with a lovely view of the huge and tranquil back garden.There were even two chocolate Easter Bunnies waiting in the bedroom for our daughters arrival!.What a lovely suprise for them and so very thoughtful.Terrys English Breakfast was "F.A.N.T.A.S.T.I.C!",everything freshly prepared and hot!.Once again our daughters had a treat Hot Chocolate and squirty cream served with their breakfast!We really didnt want to leave Elmdon Lodge,which really is a "hidden gem" and will definitely be returning to stay again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrietta06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 117 in Birmingham
861 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
910 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,514 reviews
Best Western Westley Hotel
#69 of 117 in Birmingham
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmdon Lodge

Property: Elmdon Lodge
Address: 20-24 Elmdon Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmdon Lodge is a sixteen bedroomed , family run guest house. We are located in Acocks Green - a suburb of great character and charm to the south east of Birmingham city centre. The guest house is to be found in an attractive and leafy cul de sac, tucked well away from noise and traffic, but within a 5 minute walk of the railway station with excellent links to Birmingham city centre and Solihull. Convenient for NEC and NIA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Elmdon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing