We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Elmdon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elmdon Lodge
Ranked #1 of 56 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I booked a nights stay at Elmdon Lodge based on the previous excellent reviews and I could not have picked a more wonderful place to stay. I had tickets to the Good Food Show at the nearby NEC and needed to arrive early. Katherine made sure our cases were locked away and when we returned from a hard days shopping they were in our room. We were also treated to fresh coffee and warm croissants and a taxi organised for us despite Katherine and Terry organising breakfast for all the previous nights hungry guests and taking payments from guests leaving. I happened to be staying when Katherines parents who previously owned and ran the guest house were visiting and I could clearly see where the passion came from.

Our room was a triple at the top of the house and was a great size with plenty of storage and a handy suitcase rack, tea and coffee making facitilities, hair drier and a very spacious bathroom with a new power shower and nice toiletries. Breakfast in the light dinning room overlooking the garden was a very pleasant experience. It was clear that Katherine was genuinuely interested in our day/evening and we spent a very enjoyable twenty minutes or so chatting. The cooked breakfast was delicious and I saw a selection of cereals/fruits/porridge/yoghurts and bagels for those wanting a lighter option.

Elmdon Lodge really is the best of British B and B's and the fact they have so many repeat guests really shows they do welcoming and caring better than all the rest. I felt like I was staying with old friends and I very much look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed at Elmdon Lodge on 26th November. I was made to feel very welcome, Katherine and Terry were great, the breakfast was excellent I would definately recommend this b & b. Thank you for making me feel so welcome

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Brilliant host and hostess in Terry and Katherine, we were made to feel so welcome by them from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
The rooms where what you would expect of a 4/5 star rated hotel, plenty of nice toiletries, tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc (no biscuits or tissues).
Good easy to use flat screen tv, comfy bed, a fire escape right outside the window (always a plus point I think!) and wonderful views over the lovely gardens.
We were advised of a good eatery just 10 mins walk away which did not disappoint!(see our review on The Westerly best western hotel/grill).
Breakfast was one of the best we have had staying at any b+b or hotel.
The quality and quantity of food was outstanding...nothing was a problem, veggie breakfast even cooked in separate cooking area
Don't think about going anywhere else if your in this area, book it now!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheVDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I stayed at Elmdon Lodge on 26th September when I had to travel to Birmingham for work. This was all booked for me through work and what a treat it turned out to be.

I arrived at Acocks Green around 10am and called the BnB to see if I could drop my case off early, Katherine (the owner) was so lovely to speak to and when I arrived at the BnB how welcoming she was, after discovering I'd been on a train since 6am she offered me tea and toast. When arriving back at the BnB after my day in a meeting Katherine gave sound advice on where to eat that night and also said if I fancied a take away it could be eaten in the dining room (not very often that would be offered in another BnB).

The room was lovely, big double bed, so comfortable, lovely clean en-suite with good quality toiletries. A decent sized flat screen TV which worked properly and had all the channels.

I had a perfect nights sleep and beakfast in the morning was superb! Plenty of cereals on offer, fruit juices, fresh fruit, cooked breakfast you name it you could have it, absolutely fab.

If I ever have to return to Birmingham again I will definitely stay at Elmdon Lodge. Thank you to Katherine for a wonderful stay and making me feel so welcome :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

My friend and I have just come back from a stay here with our children. The unknown is always something you worry about when travelling with children but what a find Elmdon Lodge was!! We booked based on reviews on trip advisor and cannot fault it. The hospitality from Katherine was second to none and the rooms and breakfast (YUM!) were lovely. Duckdown feather pillows and matresses and the scrummiest cooked breakfast I've had in a long long time! Even better was the fact that there was a Best Western hotel within 2 mins drive where we had dinner but we needn't have worried as were told that if we didn't fancy it we could order a takeaway and have it at there! Kids can be fussy so was nice to know we could fall back on that option. I cannot recommend it enough - we will certainly stay at Elmdon next time. Thank you Katherine - was an absolute pleasure to have met you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The BnB is just a little off the city center, but it is near a railway station that goes directly into the city. Katherine was there to welcome us when we arrived, and made us all a cup of tea. Our room is the attic room with a toilet. The room is very spacious, beds were very comfortable. The toilet is big and very clean. It felt like a 5-star hotel.

Katherine is a lovely lady, and gave us tips on visiting the city. Our breakfast the next morning was a feast. I will definitely be back if I visit Birmingham again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zach_Loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I stayed at the Elmdon Lodge B&B on Friday 2nd September when I came to Birmingham with a friend. Katherine the owner is the sweetest lady in the world!! Such a kind and genuine person! And very welcoming to all. She tells you about who's staying so that you get a feel of the place. My room was beautifully and very tastefully decorated in my favourite (coincidentally!) colour purple. The paintwork and all furnishings including bed linen were immaculate. I had a lovely view of the pretty garden below. The ensuite was immaculate; spotlessly clean. Fab flat screen tv that worked perfectly. She even asked whether I was ok with feather pillows, which is something I'd not thought of, but I can't do feathers! So she saved me an uncomfy night! Nothing was too much trouble for her and you really do feel part of the family as she takes the time to introduce the guests to one another when you meet in the dining room. The breakfast is yummy and there's a wide choice of tasty stuff. It really is a convenient 3 minute walk to Acock's Green station and then 5 minutes on the train to Moor St Station in Birmingham! I would stay there again, recommending it whole heartedly to all and I'd even pop in to see her if I was passing as she's so lovely! I met Rosie too and had a good chat and she's lovely! I'd give it 11/10 on all counts!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucindaRandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
1,004 reviews
Ladywood
EasyHotel Birmingham
EasyHotel Birmingham
#3 of 118 in Birmingham
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Edgbaston
The Blue Piano Guesthouse
The Blue Piano Guesthouse
#5 of 56 in Birmingham
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmdon Lodge

Address: 20-24 Elmdon Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elmdon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmdon Lodge is a sixteen bedroomed , family run guest house. We are located in Acocks Green - a suburb of great character and charm to the south east of Birmingham city centre. The guest house is to be found in an attractive and leafy cul de sac, tucked well away from noise and traffic, but within a 5 minute walk of the railway station with excellent links to Birmingham city centre and Solihull. Convenient for NEC and NIA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elmdon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing