We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be UK's No1”
Review of Elmdon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elmdon Lodge
Ranked #1 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch, Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must be UK's No1”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Having stayed here before I thought I knew what to exoect but Katherine & Terry seem to improve with each visit. Nothing is too much trouble, you only have to ask. Most comfortable bed I've slept in for a long time. As for the breakfasts, how do you describe perfection? Hot, fresh and plenty of it. Must be in the running for the UK's best guest house. Katherine, we will be back!!

Room Tip: Anywhere you go you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyneville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
29
40
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Katherine and her staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.Our room was comfortable and quiet and the hotel is ideally placed to travel to Birmingham or the NEC by car or public transport.The breakfast was cooked to order and excellent quality. No wonder they have people returning for many years.We hope to follow the trend!

Room Tip: In a quiet road so assume all the rooms are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Katherine and her husband Terry provide a great friendly service just home from home

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Quite simply you will find a level of service and friendliness quite unparalleled. It was a joy to stay here, nothing was too much to ask for.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterpiperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I booked a nights stay at Elmdon Lodge based on the previous excellent reviews and I could not have picked a more wonderful place to stay. I had tickets to the Good Food Show at the nearby NEC and needed to arrive early. Katherine made sure our cases were locked away and when we returned from a hard days shopping they were in our room. We were also treated to fresh coffee and warm croissants and a taxi organised for us despite Katherine and Terry organising breakfast for all the previous nights hungry guests and taking payments from guests leaving. I happened to be staying when Katherines parents who previously owned and ran the guest house were visiting and I could clearly see where the passion came from.

Our room was a triple at the top of the house and was a great size with plenty of storage and a handy suitcase rack, tea and coffee making facitilities, hair drier and a very spacious bathroom with a new power shower and nice toiletries. Breakfast in the light dinning room overlooking the garden was a very pleasant experience. It was clear that Katherine was genuinuely interested in our day/evening and we spent a very enjoyable twenty minutes or so chatting. The cooked breakfast was delicious and I saw a selection of cereals/fruits/porridge/yoghurts and bagels for those wanting a lighter option.

Elmdon Lodge really is the best of British B and B's and the fact they have so many repeat guests really shows they do welcoming and caring better than all the rest. I felt like I was staying with old friends and I very much look forward to returning very soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrCroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I stayed at Elmdon Lodge on 26th November. I was made to feel very welcome, Katherine and Terry were great, the breakfast was excellent I would definately recommend this b & b. Thank you for making me feel so welcome

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Brilliant host and hostess in Terry and Katherine, we were made to feel so welcome by them from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.
The rooms where what you would expect of a 4/5 star rated hotel, plenty of nice toiletries, tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc (no biscuits or tissues).
Good easy to use flat screen tv, comfy bed, a fire escape right outside the window (always a plus point I think!) and wonderful views over the lovely gardens.
We were advised of a good eatery just 10 mins walk away which did not disappoint!(see our review on The Westerly best western hotel/grill).
Breakfast was one of the best we have had staying at any b+b or hotel.
The quality and quantity of food was outstanding...nothing was a problem, veggie breakfast even cooked in separate cooking area
Don't think about going anywhere else if your in this area, book it now!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheVDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
930 reviews
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#14 of 117 in Birmingham
600 reviews
The Old Crown
#8 of 52 in Birmingham
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmdon Lodge

Property: Elmdon Lodge
Address: 20-24 Elmdon Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmdon Lodge is a sixteen bedroomed , family run guest house. We are located in Acocks Green - a suburb of great character and charm to the south east of Birmingham city centre. The guest house is to be found in an attractive and leafy cul de sac, tucked well away from noise and traffic, but within a 5 minute walk of the railway station with excellent links to Birmingham city centre and Solihull. Convenient for NEC and NIA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Elmdon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing