We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good enough”
Review of Elmdon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elmdon Lodge
Ranked #1 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2014

got back home after 9nights at the Elmdon Lodge Hotel, and to be honest its not good enough, at the Elmdon Lodge I slept like a baby in crisp white cotton duvet,marshmallow pillows, the most comfortable bed ever. I get home the wife snores and wakes me up -already i'm missing this beautiful hotel !!. My wife burnt my breakfast, Terry i'm missing you already !! freshly cooked irish breakfast served by jolly and most beautiful Polish waitresses Rosie and Julia. I'm missing the home made Irish stew - Sainsbury's ready meal isn't the same !! What am I going to do ?.

Where else can you talk to Italian & German guests in their own language, not that they want you to -they're trying to learn English !!, listen to another guest playing a guitar, sit by a log fire watch TV, glass of wine, and chill out.

I stay there on business twice a year, sometimes tempted( only a little bit) by the deals in plastic Premier Inns and Travelodges, but you cannot pay enough money to stay at the Elmdon Lodge Hotel, it is the most special place that I have ever stayed at, the care,the love, the warmth -it's a miracle in itself.
You may read other reviews but what Katherine and Terry give to their guests is priceless, which is- whenever I leave I feel don't want to !!!!!

Room Tip: they're all good !!!!, no extractor fans, noisy pipesor traffic,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

What a fantastic place!
Wonderful welcome from Terry and Katherine who couldn't do enough for me, even carried my bag whilst I parked the car in the large car park. The establishment is spotlessly clean,with very comfortable, quiet bedrooms. The residents lounge is homely and very comfortable with a wonderful open fire. The location is perfect. On a very quiet road but only a couple of minutes from Acocks Green centre, fifteen minutes from the NEC and Birmingham International airport. Very easy access to Birmingham city centre for shopping and entertainment.
I stay in many different places but the breakfast here beats all others hands down.
Would I stay again? I would travel a hundred miles out of my way if it meant that I could.
Please don't change anything.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrgrahambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Very warm welcome when we arrived, even later in the evening. Lovely friendly service (the owners always remembered our names) in a very cosy and comfortable atmosphere. Breakfast was great, the beds were very comfy and there was loads of free parking. Highly recommend, we will be back when we're back in Birmingham!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

What others said - so friendly & welcoming. We went to German market, & also explored the Jewellery Quarter & Canal basin. On our 2nd night got a takeaway & ate in the comfortable sitting room with an open fire, so homely. Nothing to add - just want to vote to keep it number one!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachTheH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If you are looking for a cosy spotless clean bed & breakfast this is the place for you
The owners Katherine & Terry are the two most loveliest people you can ever meet
My friend & I were down for a concert for the weekend & the hosts can't do enough for you
You have your own key to come & go as you please free Wifi & en suite very comfortable beds tea & coffee facilities
& a beautiful breakfast you can have anything you want nothing is any bother to them
We both had the best time ever we met lot's of lovely people here & we will both definitely be back
Keep up the good work xxx

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenLetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose to come here on the strength of existing online reviews and we were not disappointed! This is a leafy suburban area and hard to believe it's in the city. Welcoming and friendly hosts who made us a pot of tea as soon as we arrived. Nice bedroom at the top of the lovely Victorian house, overlooking the garden - amazingly quiet and we had a good night's sleep. Relaxed breakfast, spent chatting with Katherine and the other guests. Breakfast set us up for the rest of the day - we didn't need to eat again until tea-time, which was a good thing as the M6 was snarled up solid for hours on the way home! Driving to other parts of Birmingham from here can take a while (especially if your SatNav has a mind of its own, as ours had on this trip!) but it's well worth it for the sense of 'coming home' at the end of the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

A BIG thank you to Katherine, Terry and team, for all they do. I stayed here with a colleague whilst exhibiting at the recent dental showcase at the NEC. Elmdon Lodge was accessible, affordable, spotlessly clean, the welcome second to none, the rooms are lovely, breakfast all you could want..and to top it all off, 3 darling little fluffy doggies (although I only got to meet 2)...adoreable! Thanks for a great nights stay, secure off the road parking, internet...everything an exhausted traveller could possibly need.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1, it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Rose and Crown Hotel
#4 of 54 in Birmingham
267 reviews
Edgbaston
The Blue Piano Guesthouse
The Blue Piano Guesthouse
#6 of 54 in Birmingham
119 reviews
The Old Crown
#9 of 54 in Birmingham
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmdon Lodge

Address: 20-24 Elmdon Road | Acocks Green, Birmingham B27 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elmdon Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elmdon Lodge is a sixteen bedroomed , family run guest house. We are located in Acocks Green - a suburb of great character and charm to the south east of Birmingham city centre. The guest house is to be found in an attractive and leafy cul de sac, tucked well away from noise and traffic, but within a 5 minute walk of the railway station with excellent links to Birmingham city centre and Solihull. Convenient for NEC and NIA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elmdon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing