We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable beds, incredible food and pretty good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #71 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, incredible food and pretty good service”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The hotel is located beside the NEC, so perfect for working or visiting an exhibition there. It is not a good place to stay if you want to visit the centre of Birmingham.

I have stayed here several times and this time found the service to be much better than in previous years. Achieving good service is a challenge in such a large hotel. I ate in the bar area and in Millers. Both meals were delicious and the waiters were attentive. The breakfast offers something for everyone, including a chef who cooks omelettes to order. The only criticism I have of breakfast arrangements, is that staff can be slow to get people seated and there was often a queue at peak times just to get into the room.

The rooms are comfortable, but the televisions are a little dated. On previous stays I had problems controlling the room temperature, but on this occasion I had it nailed.

If you are travelling by car, factor in the car parking charge of £7 per day, into your room rate.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConventionBirmingham, Executive Management at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Dear Katongo

Thank for your your review following your recent visit to the hotel.

We were pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us and had also enjoyed your dining experiences and were particularly impressed with the omelettes to order service we offer at breakfast.

Thanks again for providing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    1,475
    1,189
    675
    475
See reviews for
509
1,053
327
2,409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (962)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Why not extend your holiday for a night and stay here before a flight. Great staff, good facilities and adequate rooms. I would have said great rooms but initially we had an unavoidable problem in one room but were promptly given a courtesy upgrade. We used the gym, pool, bar and restaurant. These were all exceptional facilities if a bit expensive.... But it is a hotel and it was our first day of holiday pre flying out so why not. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibbsy3195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConventionBirmingham, Executive Management at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback, following your recent stay at the hotel.

We were delighted you were impressed with the service offered and were able to take full advantage of our leisure club facilities.

We were also pleased to be able to offer a complimentary upgrade.

Naturally, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole in the very near future.

Kind regards


Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was the worst hotel I have stayed in. I was ata a conference for one night. The car park was full and we had to park at the NEC. They wouldn't let us check into the room until 6pm!! The room was scruffy. There was no cold water in the taps unles you flushed the loo and ran the bath for a few minutes (I found ought from a maintenance man). The TV didn't work properly. The food at the dinner was awful. Couldn't charge anything to the room.The breakfast was a joke, toast machine didn't work, no cutlery , coffee cold. The prices at the bar were outrageous (£9 for a glass of cheap plonk). The staff were willing but clueless and all blaming each other. The management were absent at worst and indifferent at best. One of my colleagues had to change rookms 3 times.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chorltonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Stayed for two nights on what was a very quiet weekend at the Hotel (ie no exhibition at NEC) I have stayed here befor and though this is a huge hotel with this particular hotel one gets the impression of comfortable spaceousness. The bar is huge with low level seating and sofas which is really pleasant and the space allows free flow of conversation. The lesuire facilities though not visited on this visit i have visited befor and found them to be excellent. The rooms are of a comparable quality in fitting with the quality of the establishment. As diamond members we were given access to the exec lounge which is pleasant with some tasty evening snacks (hot salmon and spiced chicken) and met two Ladies who work their, Gill and think the other was Kay, both were really welcoming and helpful with that easy going hospitable' Midlands' way about them, it was a quiet weekend and they both had time to chat and I must say its nice to meet people who are enthusiastic about what they do and where they work, meeting 'moaners' is offputting !! We used the bar to watch football and can report that the service as you might expect on a slow weekend was prompt and the beer cold!! Overall another enjoyable experience at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConventionBirmingham, Executive Management` at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for such a positive review, following your visit to the hotel.

We were delighted you were able to take advantage of our Executive Lounge facilities and were impressed with the service you receifed during your stay.

Naturally we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards



Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kings lynn
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2011

all in all this hotel was very good, the room was small but clean and comfortible, however the beds were very hard and both myself and my friend woke with back ache (could do with a new thicker matrace cover). Tv was a bit of a letdown (very old fashond), we had a gap between appointments and thought we would watch some telly but the picture was bad and only had the basic chanels. hotel restaraunt was VERY expencive so we went out for dinner however breakfast (included with our room cost) was fabulous! the best ive had in a hotel! and the staff were perfect, nothing was too much trouble. car parking was easy unlike other reviewers i found there was lots of free spaces and although they are small even for my mini. with the NEC less than 10mins walk away you cannot get a better location for my needs.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilredmini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConventionBirmingham, Executive Management at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback following your recent visit to the hotel.

Whilst we were pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, we were sorry to see that you found the beds in your room not to your liking.

We do hope the problems you experienced with the TV did not detract from your overall enjoyment of your break. We were delighted you were impressed with the service you received from our team members and equally our breakfast offering.

We do hope we may welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I stayed here on 18th March for one night - husband was there for a conference for work and I was invited along too. Although the room was paid for by the company I was slightly concerned after reading the previous reviews that we were in for some grotty room and rubbish staff. However I was pleasantly surprised. Staff at check in were extremely pleasant and very helpful and generally all staff encountered were very nice.
The room was a twin (cant complain really as we didnt book it), reasonably small but perfectly adequate for one night. The main thing for me is that it was clean, with crisp clean bed linens and the bathroom was clean with no signs of mould etc as I had read in previous reviews. All I would say is they could make more space in the rooms by getting rid of the old tube tv's and get flatscreens!

The lounge was very nice- table service which the first time was fine but the second time extremely slow but as I wasnt in a hurry I wasnt too bothered, But we had the get the waitress' attention to order, ask for the bill and to pay and nobody asked if we wanted a second drink (but at £6.50 for a 175ml glass of wine that would have been a no anyway!).

Breakfast the next day was very nice - I enjoyed it very much and it was very tasty. Generally a very pleasant problem free stay, a nice ambience to the hotel, right next the the NEC and I wouldnt hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConventionBirmingham, Executive Management at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, following your recent stay at the hotel.

We were very pleased to see you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the friendly and helpful attitude of our team members. We would however apologise that you experienced slow table service on once occasion.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole.

Kind regards


Executive Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

This is a big hotel and you realise it as soon as you walk in by the unusually large (for the UK) size of the common areas and bar. This makes it good for setting up meetings if you are travelling with delegations or attending an exhibition at the NEC. The foyer is well presented and well kept. It is pricy for virtually everything but to be expected as most guests will be on business accounts.

Service was generally good. Most staff were quite informal but friendly enough.

Although recently refurbished, the rooms are average for the grading but views are generally limited and unappealing.

Breakfast was fine. Everything was dealt with efficiently.

There is a reasonably well-equipped gym and a decent pool. Contrary to an earlier trip Advisor report, you don't have to pay extra for the lockers- they just take a £1 deposit.

There's a free half-hourly shuttle to Birmingham International station (for NEC and airport) which was welcome as I found most of the local taxi drivers were rude and unfriendly. Trains into central Birmingham take between 10-15 minutes and run regularly.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilofEnglandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Property: Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing