We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,775)
Filter reviews
5,775 results
Traveller rating
1,432
1,659
1,364
761
559
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,432
1,659
1,364
761
559
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungehuge hotelcourtesy busbusy hotelgenting arenaleisure facilitiesvisiting the necstayed here for one nightconventionconcertmotorway
Filter
Updating list...
5,050 - 5,055 of 5,775 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We booked this hotel for one night after visiting the NEC as the location is very convenient. We expected the hotel to be of a high standard and we were delighted that it met all our expectations and more. The check-in and out was quick and efficient. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable and with access to the 'Executive Lounge' we enjoyed the complementary drinks and canapes in the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. We will definitely re-visit this hotel in future and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Kevin

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your visit to the hotel.

I was delighted that we had met all your expectations and exceeded in other areas. Thank you for mentioning the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff - we always endeavour to show the utmost courtesy to all our guests and I am pleased this has been recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Rss Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a conference. The first room I was allocated had only a table lamp working to light it which was unacceptable. The telephone in the room didn't work either so I had to re-trace my steps all the way back to reception. I was re-allocated another room in the same part of the hotel above the conference suite. This room was a single room with simple amenities however it really was drab and basic. The room was very small and the radiator didn't work. It was very cold! Although there were two lights in this room and both worked, it was restricted to a wall light above the bed and a table lamp (the table lampshade didn't balance though!). Not ideal when you're expected to attend a gala awards dinner and would like to look half decent! The wardrop was basically two pieces of MDF nailed into a corner (it even had an unfinished edge). It was only equipped with 2 hangers which was inadequate for a person staying two nights for business. The bathroom was unbelievably small. Without an exageration, the bath wasn't long enough to lie in and you had to manouver up the side of the toilet in order to close the bathroom door. The rooms in this part of the hotel are simply not up to the brand that Hilton are advertising or known for. The reception areas in the hotel are, by contrast, modern and airy. The bar staff will take table orders for drinks/food and our group of 8 were all satisfied with our bar meal on our first night. Breakfast is a buffet and as these things go, the choice is plentiful. The food could have been a bit warmer but that is often the case with food sitting out for self-service. The conference facilities were all off a good standard and the meal served to over 600 people in the evening was to a very high standard. In general, all staff were pleasant and approachable although they resorted to giving some lame excuses when they got fed up with colleagues asking for a better room! I had booked a small meeting room for day 2 and the staff were all very helpful. Timings were accurate for refreshments and the lounge bar staff allowed us to pre-order lunch which was ready bang on time. In general, the accommodation was not up to scratch for a Hilton hotel and was really disappointing especially for a 2 night stay. It may have been ok for one night but there were too many things that were not up to standard which spoils the efforts and standards achieved by other parts of the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure your room number has 4 digits in it - these are the good rooms! If you only have 3 take a blanket with you and don't expect a soak in the bath!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aggiep75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have no compliants about this great hotel.
I am a Hilton Gold card holder and was welcomed from the outset. I arrived early on a Saturday morning and had 2 rooms booked. Both were ready at 10am, despite me not asking for an early check in and both rooms were upgraded as per my Gold card status.
The Executive Lounge was fabulous and all staff were extremely friendly.
The shuttle bus to the train station was efficient and very welcome.
I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Obviously, paying extra for executive rooms would give you access to the executve lounge which is well worth it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBLADON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Reviewer

It's always pleasing to see that a loyal Hilton brand member receives the quality of service they have come to expect from the brand - thank you for your kind comments.

I was pleased thast you had enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Birmingham Metropole in the very near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole for one night, when we were supposed to be going to see the cancelled Gearge Michael concert. We expected the hotel to be of a very good standard and were not disappointed. What we were paricularly impressed with, however, was the service. All staff members we encountered were very helpful and polite, and all made an effort to ensure our stay was the best possible. You cannot put a price on this and do not get it very often, especially in such a large hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Rosie

Thanks you for posting your review on this website.

I was of course very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us and am only sorry that you didn't get to see the George Michael concert.

Thank you for mentioning the friendliness and helpfulness of our team members - your comments will be shared with all.

We hope you will come back to the hotel for another visit very soon.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I went to the NEC on a conference and this hotel was selected because it was near. The room was clean and well decorated. The view of the car park was less than exciting but this was not a holiday break.
Reception staff were very profesional and the booking problem I had was resolved quickly.
I will be using this hotel again.
Lovely pool!
Breakfast was very generous and well cooked.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews