We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Let”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #72 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 31 May 2012

After being told we had a flight delay of 8 hours we decided to come and stay at the Hilton from a day let.
Very nice room, spacious comfortable and very nice room service, the food quality was excellrnt if a little pricey but you expect that at Hilton.
Very busy hotel and very corporate being close to NEC but nice.
Staff very busy and not too interactive, especially in the business centre and were quite rude but it did not ruin my stress free flight delay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imps1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,698 - 4,704 of 5,558 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole on business as I had an early flight. Reception area was very, very busy with queues for check-in, concierge etc. Stayed in a suite and had a good area to work in. Bathroom was clean and had separate shower cubicle and bath. Very comfortable nights sleep and quiet considering the amount of people. Excellent choice for breakfast both hot and cold. Also has on-site parking for car (whilst travelling away on business) and this includes a free shuttle to Birmingham International, where you can then catch the monorail to the airport. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This is a very good convention hotel, adjacent to the National Exibition Centre ... a good place to stay if you're going to a trade show at the NEC.

As a Hilton Diamond member, I was upgraded to the Executive Floor, and my room was comfortable, if not large, with a nice view. (Why don't European hotels have washcloths ... "flannels"?).

The breakfast in the lobby restaurant was a huge English buffet ... very good, with a great selection.

The only real negative issue I had was that when my collegue and I arrived past midnight, after a long drive from Heathrow, the road from the motorway to the hotel was closed. So, we called the hotel to ask for directions and the gentleman who answered the phone couldn't help (he said he didn't drive ...!) and couldn't find anyone who could give us directions! So we were on our own ... we eventually found it, but it was a bit frustrating at 12:30 am!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MassCouple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I recently stayed here as a delegate for a conference. As such, I didn't have very high expectations, but was pleasantly surprised with the levels of service, comfort and culinary delights!

As a vegetarian, eating as part of a conference is usually a hit and miss affair, but the team at the Hilton provided an excellent starter and main course, which was very similar to each other, but nevertheless was tasty and enjoyable...no veggie lasagne here!

As a Hilton, I did have fairly high expectations on the levels of comfort in the rooms and I was not disappointed. Large, comfortable beds, with several pillows made for a comfortable night, although the constant noise from the air con/heater was a little intrusive.

The conference room was airy and spacious, with a constant supply of tea, coffee and delicious cakes/biscuits and other home made delights.

Negatives
The beer in the conference room was appalling, but if you took a short walk to the main bar, it was very nice. The pricing is also set-up for people that are on expenses, so expect to pay £4.50+ for a beer or spirit and mixer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Gavin

Thank you for your review.

I was extremely pleased to see that we had surpassed your expectations and that you had enjoyed your visit to the hotel.

We do of course cater for many different dietary requirements and I am glad that you were impressed with your dining experiences.

We very muchlook forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel during a convention at the NEC in February 2012. It's a large hotel, built for the demands of the NEC. We had upgraded to an executive room, which to our surprise included access to the executive lounge with complimentary tea, coffee and cakes are served in the afternoon and complimentary canapes and alcoholic beverages are served in the lounge as a pre-dinner treat. Rooms are excellent as you would expect from the Hilton brand. Staff were excellent, efficient, courteous and friendly.

My wife and I ate in the main buffet restaurant and we both thought that it was the best food served at any Hilton we had been to. Another grill restaurant is also available on site which is American themed. Breakfast was extremely busy due to the convention, but staff coped very well and we were seated straight away.

The swimming pool is huge complete with sauna and steam room and gym.

Ideally situated for the NEC.

I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to an Executive Room using Hilton Reward Points or paying a little extra. The execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank distantshores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Distant Shores

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, together with your recommendation.

Although we are a large hotel, we do pride ourselves on giving all of our customers the best levels of service at all times.

I was glad to see that you had enjoyed the benefits of our Executive upgrade - well worth the extra.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome when you return./

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Direjctor of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Rooms are stuffy and small. The staff works hard to make up for things. Everyone was so nice, but beds are like sleeping on boards. Breakfast is adequate. They do have a free shuttle to train station that is helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Japine

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, following your recent visit.

Whilst I was sad to see that you were disappointed with the size of your room, I was pleased to see that you were impressed with the service you received from our staff.

Naturally the hotel has a variety of different size and type of room available, perhaps when you next visit we coulkd recommend one of our larger rooms which I am sure you will not be disappointed with.

We hope we may welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel over a weekend attending a convention. Along with over 1400 other attendees it could easliy have descended into total madness, but I have to say the hotel staff worked endlessly to make sure everything ran smoothly. The check in was swift and easy and the staff were polite and professional. Our room was an executive twin room and had everything we needed, although i have to agree with some other reviewers that the sound proofing from adjoining rooms is not that great, but is it anywhere??

As the hotel was so busy over the weekend, at times there was no seating available in the bar area, especially over lunchtimes, which was a shame as more people wanted to grab something to eat but couldnt, it would have been brilliant if the breakfast service room was open with a buffet lunch as im sure there would have been takers!

I just really have to applaud the waitresses and bar staff. They put up with working long hours (one lady and gentleman working the bar on the sunday seemed to be there from before lunch till after midnight) and were polite and chatty. It really is the staff that makes the hotel, and nothing was too much trouble.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend and will be back for another fab weekend!!! Thank you to everyone at the Hilton!

Ps Ice machines in the corridors would be a great idea!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybunnybenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossMounsey, Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review, following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted that you found the levels of service you received from our staff to be brilliant! We always endeavour to show the utmost courtesy and friendliness at all times and I am glad that this has been acknowledged.

I do hope the fact that we were extremely busy at the Lounge Bar didn't detract from your oveall enjoyment of your visit.

Your comment regarding ice machines has been noted - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards

Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.1 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#35 of 118 in Birmingham
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £66 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing