We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel with great staff but rooms not special and drinks very expensive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My title sums it up really. The standard rooms were very uninspiring and small which was a shame because the rest of the hotel is lovely and the pool etc very good. The bar prices were extremely high reflecting the fact that they had a captive audience of business people who probably have expenses accounts and dont complain. The staff were excellent and nothing too much trouble. The pool, sauna and steam room area was not as clean as it could have been but the actual pool was lovely under a huge glass roof (which could do with a clean in parts) At a good price (I paid £98.00) it is acceptable value but I would not pay more and I understand many people did.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,460 - 4,466 of 5,359 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

im quite excited to write this review as this is the first time ive stayed at a hotel where it has been perfect!!!
we arrived here around 4 pm on the 9th june........ booked an executive queen and check in was swift and friendly..... concierge was quick to notice we had lots of luggage ( we were on a tour of various uk hiltons) and was very helpfull in taking it to our room ( 2011 i think).....room was spotless and big.....nice view of the lake and huge bathroom too......bed comfy, enerything to a very high standard!......we unpacked and went to the executive lounge where afternoon tea was served, we both agreed that this was the best afternoon tea that we have ever had at a hilton!, kay was the perfect host and the lounge although not busy had a nice ambience to it, a bit later i used the gym this was very good too and then we both used the sauna and pool.....again very good indeed......in the evening we went to the lounge again and discovered the most fantastic spread of canapes and cheeses, good choice of drinks too, again kay was the perfect host.
later around midnight we ordered room service we cannot remember what we ordered ( to much wine in the lounge billy!).... but we do remember it was great!......we both slept really well and found bed very comfy, went to breakfast in the lounge and yet again it excelled!, hot food and good choice too, we also went for a wander around the lake after and this was rather pleasant as its a nice area......asked for a late check out and got one without any fuss....checked out and they even waved the parking charge as of my hilton honours status.
ive got to say this is now my favourite hilton and had the perfect stay, we toured 4 other hiltons that week and this was by far the best....will return!!!!..

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wizla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I attended a convention at this hotel & while I was expecting it to be more expensive than the norm I was astounded at just how pricey it was. £5 for a Costa coffee, over £7 for a sandwich (not even a fancy sandwich) & parking was extortionate especially as other hotels in the area offer free parking. Would maybe expect these prices in London but not Birmingham. The reception staff were at best unhelpfull, at worst rude, the bar staff were o.k. The toilets were a bit grim, no toilet paper / dirty. Will avoid this hotel like the plague in future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I found the venue excellent ,the staff were very efficient and helpful, the rooms were clean and spacious, all in all we had a pleasant weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertbanjohall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights on business and had an enjoyable stay. Room was large and well equiped including iron/ironing board and the breakfast was one of my enjoyable ones in a hotel. Speedy check-in and check-out

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prelude5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I attended an overnight conference here and whilst I can't comment on the value for money, overall I was pleasantly suprised by the hotel.
The hotel was a good location: 10 minute walk from the station with nice lake / woodland surrounding it (I'd expected a giant carpark).
The conference rooms and facilities were good, with everything working as expected. The food and refreshments were extensive and tasty (the cheesecake at lunch and lamb steak in the evening deserve a particular mention), with a very good breakfast selection. The room was well furnished, roomy and well equipped (with a nice hot shower). I didn't have much contact with the staff but they seemed friendly enough.
The only downsides were the size of the place - it was very large and difficult to find your way around and the price of the drinks (we supposedly had a discount but it was still eye watering for a hotel in Birmingham)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed here for just one night (Iwish it had been longer) with a group of 37 from the USA.As a registered Blue Badge Guide and Tour Manager I have the privelege of staying in a variety of accommodations all over the UK.This hotel ticks all the boxes in every way.
From the warm welcome the moment we came through the revolving doors. Yolande at reception dealt with our check in so efficiently we felt really at home. The concierges dealt promptly with luggage to our very very comfortable rooms. The bed was the comfiest I have ever had in a hotel. We had dinner in the Primavera Room and the staff wre very attentive in dealing with a large group.The food was delicious with a good variety from soups, salads to hot dishes and realy tastey desserts. Breakfast was a lovely treat too, with freshly squuezed orange juice on arrival and a huge selection of cooked and continental breakfast choices. Happy morning staff were in attendance.I wish I could have stayed longer to use the pool and other leisure facilities as they looked so inviting.This hotel is an excellent choice for the business or leisure traveller, perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackfaceewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased that you had such an enjoyable visit and I am delighted that we meet your expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards


Ross Mounsey
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.2 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
1,782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £84 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing